We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mara Bush Camp
Nearby Hotels
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,370
$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$427
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$998
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$819
$784
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Entumoto Safari Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$410
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
257
16
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunworld safarisbush campprivate wingthe rivergame driveschef josephtent stewardafrican nightlocation is excellenthis teamolare orokanimal soundsbefore dinnerwake up callpacked breakfastmasai staffrunning water
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 273 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed early in January and had the place to ourselves. Well appointed rooms, great food, and Leslie the camp manager and her staff are fantastic and very accommodating.

We left a Kindle in the camp and is was put on a plane and delivered to us in Nairobi the very next day - excellent service!

Note that Google maps has the location marked on the wrong side of the river, and there are no signs - call ahead to get directions if you are driving.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John567890123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Manager at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear John567890123,
thank you for your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will try to contact google to adjust our location on the Map!
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Leslie, the Camp Manager, is fabulous, and her team works hard to see that everything is done to make your stay very comfortable. The food was very good, and the chef was very accommodating to special needs. Leslie even provided shukas (the Maasai blankets) for us to sleep under because we found the duvets too heavy and warm. The bush showers are very comfortable.

The location is convenient to the airstrip, but the downside of that is the noise of airplanes. The camp is situated right on a river, which makes for great hippo-viewing. There are plenty of trees that provide needed shade during the hot and dry times, but we found it reminded us of camping in California or Wisconsin, since we couldn't really see anything, including stars at night.

As with any unfenced camp, you cannot wander around, especially at night, so we felt a bit restricted.

Here's an important tip we discovered too late: You can ask your driver/guide to NOT use his radio. Had we known this, we certainly would have asked, since the constant radio noise is really annoying. We also should have insisted more vehemently that our guide NOT drive off-road. There's a reason this is against the rules, but often guides are under a lot of pressure from clients to get up close to animals. Preserving the fragile Mara landscape was more important to us, but we had trouble making that clear. And this is the bottom line: Be clear with your driver/guide about the kind of safari you're looking for. That being said, we saw absolutely every animal the Mara has to offer, including a leopard and a rhino.

Another tip about game drives: Twice a day can be very exhausting and hard on one's body. The roads in Mara are brutal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Owner at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear JoAnna R,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on your trip to Mara Bush Camp. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall very much !

I appreciate also the feedback on the radio call during your game drives. It is usually there as a safety measure but also to communicate with other guides on game sightings. It is certainly possible for the guide not to use the radio at all. Some clients appreciate the fact, that they hear about certain game sightings.

We shall sensitize the guide stationed at the camp to ensure that he does check with all guests before he uses the radio call. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. The Mara is a fragile eco-system and it is most important that it is conserved and protected for generations to come. Our guides are advised to adhere to all park rules and regulations and we discourage off-road driving. I agree that the guest also plays an important role as not to push the guide to break the rules. Most game can be seen from the roads / tracks as the Mara which the Mara has many. With our fantastic 4 wheel drive vehicles, almost all tracks can be accessed.

The roads are of course not the best but need to be kept natural – it would not be possible nor good for nature to tarmac roads in the National Parks / Reserves.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us ! Your comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Mara Bush Camp is an amazing place to stay. The luxury tents are so comfortable and the staff are so accommodating. The food is delicious. The whole camp has a magical air to it and from the time one arrives there one feels so welcome and so relaxed. Its a spectacular place and worth every penny for the kind of service that is provided to the guests. My family and I absolutely loved it. It was the best holiday that I have ever had. I would love to go there every holiday if possible.

Room Tip: Tents 11 and 12 face the river and have a really good view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Manager at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Sangita,
thank you for your lovely feedback! We are very happy you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to see you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Overall, the Mara Bush Camp is a very good place to stay if you are in the Mara. Close to an airstrip and well situated for good game drives. Staff are friendly, and food is good. The camp manager is very accomodating and attends to any requests you may have. The camp is not fenced at all, but, it is well protected by the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Manager at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Stephen L. thank you for your feedback! We are very happy that you enjoyed the place and we look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A beautiful and intimate camp for a magical safari experience. Wonderful and hospitable staff, great food, and charming tents and dining and lounging areas. This is also a great value for a spectacular part of Maasai Mara. I would definitely stay here again - it's the kind of place you really want to come back to. Our safari guide from Sunworld Safaris - the group that runs Mara Bush Camp - was wonderful - extremely knowledgable, professional, and friendly. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp_Manager2013, Manager at Mara Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Sophiaab, many thanks for your feedback! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews