We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Woderful stay in Paradies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mara Bush Camp
Au, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Woderful stay in Paradies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Haven of tranquility and total relaxation in great surroundings – 2nd visit
Details about the camp have been given in various reviews, and yes, they are all 100% true.
Mara Bush Camp is a great place to relax at.
Wild-life is at your hand, in and of course also out of the camp, and that is just a couple of hundred meters. Pure wilderness in the heart of the mara

Competent staff ensure a perfect holiday, wild-life there to be enjoyed. I love it – will be there again in September 2013. Thanks the camp crew that make a holiday an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Tent No. is near the restaurant. So for handicaped people ideally located
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
65
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A very nice hotel/camp. We had a lovely stay for the few days we were there. Nice staff and good food. The owner, a German lady was very friendly and helpful. However there was one incident where one member of my family had their earrings stolen from the tent. After looking and questioning the staff it was never found... beware.

Very nice stay otherwise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvind A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia Region, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After being in the Mara several times we decided this time to try out the Mara Bush Camp. I just can say: WOW. This experience was really special. The camp itself (directly on the river) provides the real africa feeling. Hence in the middle of the bush it made extremely tasteful. Also the staff is very well trained and assists you with all your requests (how difficult they might be). One should not forget to mention the cuisine which is served there. To find such a quality in a bush camp is hard to find (I've been in many camps but never had such experience). Just can mention that we will be back there!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathyhan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just come back from Mara Bush Camp and the camp is simply out of this world, a simple yet 5 star experience you get from the camp is un matched. The camp is natural and easy, the experience is authentic and welcoming...... Mara Bush Camp is a top notch Eco friendly Lodge with all that it takes to offer the Mara Experience.

The staff are professional, personal and hospitable. Sabine and Nicholas kudos to you and the entire team.

I highly recommend Mara Bush Camp for your next visit to Mara.

Room Tip: All tents are the luxurious, comfy and private but tent 5, 6 and 12 are exclusively private......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

No way to argue: come here to enjoy animals, nature, 5 stars service but at the same time feeling at home.
Everybody is helpfull, you just need to think something and you get it!
Excellent experience, thank you Sabine thank you mbc staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fedefulvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mara Bush camp for four nights. It was our third safari style holiday. The Mara Bush camp is small tented camp with personalized service, so you feel pampered and special. Sabrine, the camp manager, is very efficient and welcoming. She takes time to see each group off in the morning and welcome everyone back from each of their game drives.

The tents are comfortable and the room stewards look after every detail- including putting hot water bottles in your bed for the cool nights. Our only comment was the solar lighting was a bit dim for reading- providing small reading lights or recommending we bring one would be welcomed.

The food was excellent; well presented and nicely served. It was a pleasure to experience an African food night as many places shy away from serving local dishes. The wine election was very reasonable and the prices were not extravagant. Only the bread selection could be improved.

The camp makes a point of using local products and produce. The locally produced toilet items and soap were excellent quality and a nice surprise. The small gift shop makes a point of stocking quality locally produced products and we were pleased to make so many purchases there as many other shops sell mass produced "African style" souvenirs. The camp also helps support a nearby school and thanks to Sabrine, we were able to visit this school and take some gifts we had collected from home.

It was a nice bonus that a number of types of Kenyan tea, local coffee and homemade cookies were available free of charge, at anytime.

Many people who go to the Masai Mara stay in overly luxurious camps/lodges with everything from jacuzzis to swimming pools.( I don't know who they have time to use them anyway as the game drives fill up a good part of your day) For us a real safari experience means staying in a tent under the stars, experiencing the sounds of the animals and getting away from our hectic lives. The Mara camp lets you experience Africa in this way without compromising on first rate service and life's little luxuries.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the river are nice- room 5 seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank istanbulhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We travelled from Canada as a family to complete a "bucket list" wish. The camp team hosted us like family. The tents were luxurious and clean. Food was prepared fresh and wholesome daily. The entire camp was well laid out and very private for the bush camp guests. The location was excellent. Saw all the big five within 2-3 hours, and many many more more just on our first game drive. Spectacular scenery and covered a lot of area to see wildlife on the game drives. Experieced the early morning drives and stopped in the plains for breakfast under a Mara tree. We saw numerous kills and the circle of life. We would highly recommend the camp. The staff were inviting and attentive to any for our requirements. Thanks for making it such a memorable experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. Tents are close but far enough to have privacy and one cannot hear the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YSenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.7 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#24 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#14 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#94 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
15.3 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#47 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#32 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Camp

Property: Mara Bush Camp
Address: Riverside Lane Off Riverside Drive Nairobi | P.O. Box 39094, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00623, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Bush Camp is a luxury tended camp and discreetly ‘tucked away’ in a riverine forest on the banks of the seasonal Olare Orok River.The Luxury walk-in tents are equipped with large comfortable beds, mosquito nets, clothes rack, carpet and writing desk. The en-suite bathrooms have a flush toilet and hand washbasin. All tents have been placed far from each other to guarantee complete privacy and have a verandah with sun chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mara Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing