We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Total comfort in the middle of the Maasai Mara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olumara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olumara Camp
Save
You added Olumara Camp to your Saves list
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total comfort in the middle of the Maasai Mara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is an incredibly luxurious and comfortable camp. Those are hotel rooms in canvas, same comfort while allowing the guests to hear the local fauna during the night: baboons, lions, hyenas, and so on.Beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveTripper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed in Sept 2013. Very impressed. Staff could not be more helpful. Big thunderstorm did not effect the tent which was very comfortable. Thoroughly recommend the Olumara camp. Food very good and wine and beer reasonably priced, considering where you are.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed with my wife for 3 nights in this Hotel and had an excellent experience. Great service and food while sleeping in a marvelous tent in the wild. "Cabilo" was a great and helpful guy. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are pretty much the same but some have a better view, ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olimacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights from 2nd August 2013. We were on a safari van and the drive was a bit nerve cracking. Not sure if our driver took the right road, because we were along on dirt and gravel road for more than 3 hours. We did not see any other safari vehicles, though there were plenty coming to Masai on main road. I know the driver did not take the first entry road ( south ) . It was a scary drive especially on a van..with children we were praying that the van do not break down. No sign boards for Olumara is a drawback. Finally driving inside game park (entered from gate 4) , hotel were good enough to keep our lunch though were late. Tents were good and spacious & clean. Food were average especially after comparing with other camps we stayed. There's no electric supply at all. Generator works but will be off at 11 and comes back at 6. Pitch darkness inside tents are bit uneasy. they will switch on power earller should we need to leave early. Hot water were availbale in morning & evening. Definetly not a bad place to stay. Good thing wihile retunring, we found a local masai guy to show an alternate road, which was much better and took 1 hour less, though at cost of 1000 shillings. But we are not complaing. I understand game drive areas take less time from this property. BTW we witnessed the migration and also the mara river crossing.Had to wait patiently for 3 hours before the herds of Zebra, wildbest and deer decided to jump into river. Saw right in front of us, aligotor catching, unfortunate zebra and a deer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BijuAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of our safari with WT safaris (great safari company btw). It took us a fair amount of time to actually find the lodge, but once we did it was more than worth it. This was our favourite camp from our whole safari. The tents were amazing, the grounds were beautiful and the food was great! It was a small and very quiet camp, which only made it more amazing and you sat out and could here the animals. The Masai Mara itself is awesome and we had an awesome three days here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived at Olumara on January 11, 2013 after spending a few days at the Amboseli Game reserve.

It took us nearly 8 hours to get there!!! A 4x4 vehicle is a MUST have. To get to the lodge and certain areas of the Masai Mara, you need to drive through river banks and mud..... great way to get your heart to skip a beat when your vehicle gets stuck!!! Please ensure that your guide is knowledgable with the area because the signs to the hotel are nearly non-existent!

The lodge is spectactular!! The tented camps are so spacious, well furnished and completely comfortable. The food is delicous and we really enjoyed the amazing service from each staff member.

There are animals all over the place! One of our afternoon game drives turned into a night game drive and on our way back to the lodge, literally right across from the lodge and stream... we came across two leopards in front of our 4x4...... they ran into the trees. It was so exciting! Just knowing that there were so close to us made me a bit nervous, but the staff ensured us that the cats are the ones that are nervous of us!

Would definitely recommed this lodge whether it be for couples or families!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaandTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

There are other camps and then there is Olumara ! It stands out for its elegance and out of the world location for more than one reason ! Although the approach road is not as well marked as it should be, when one finally reaches there, the warmth of the welcome, the superb accommodation and the quality of the service and cuisine is more than worth the long, tiring drive.
The location is seriously remote, electricity and hot water is twice a day, but hey...its a tented camp, ain't it ! Special compliments to the cook, the tireless Masai guards and the cordial manager ! Can't help feeling that our trip to Kenya would have felt incomplete without a visit to this 'must see' place ! Fellow travelers going there are recommended to book a balloon ride in advance, which will be the cherry on top of this awesome cake ! Five stars !!

Room Tip: Try and choose a room closer to the dining hall !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.1 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#69 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#79 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#46 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#92 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mara Plains Camp
Mara Plains Camp
#22 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
8.3 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#14 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olumara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olumara Camp

Property: Olumara Camp
Address: | Olaro Orok River, Near Masai Mara Game Reserve and Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Olumara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing