We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Place to 'stay'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olumara Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olumara Camp
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Place to 'stay'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights from 2nd August 2013. We were on a safari van and the drive was a bit nerve cracking. Not sure if our driver took the right road, because we were along on dirt and gravel road for more than 3 hours. We did not see any other safari vehicles, though there were plenty coming to Masai on main road. I know the driver did not take the first entry road ( south ) . It was a scary drive especially on a van..with children we were praying that the van do not break down. No sign boards for Olumara is a drawback. Finally driving inside game park (entered from gate 4) , hotel were good enough to keep our lunch though were late. Tents were good and spacious & clean. Food were average especially after comparing with other camps we stayed. There's no electric supply at all. Generator works but will be off at 11 and comes back at 6. Pitch darkness inside tents are bit uneasy. they will switch on power earller should we need to leave early. Hot water were availbale in morning & evening. Definetly not a bad place to stay. Good thing wihile retunring, we found a local masai guy to show an alternate road, which was much better and took 1 hour less, though at cost of 1000 shillings. But we are not complaing. I understand game drive areas take less time from this property. BTW we witnessed the migration and also the mara river crossing.Had to wait patiently for 3 hours before the herds of Zebra, wildbest and deer decided to jump into river. Saw right in front of us, aligotor catching, unfortunate zebra and a deer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BijuAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kitchener, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of our safari with WT safaris (great safari company btw). It took us a fair amount of time to actually find the lodge, but once we did it was more than worth it. This was our favourite camp from our whole safari. The tents were amazing, the grounds were beautiful and the food was great! It was a small and very quiet camp, which only made it more amazing and you sat out and could here the animals. The Masai Mara itself is awesome and we had an awesome three days here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived at Olumara on January 11, 2013 after spending a few days at the Amboseli Game reserve.

It took us nearly 8 hours to get there!!! A 4x4 vehicle is a MUST have. To get to the lodge and certain areas of the Masai Mara, you need to drive through river banks and mud..... great way to get your heart to skip a beat when your vehicle gets stuck!!! Please ensure that your guide is knowledgable with the area because the signs to the hotel are nearly non-existent!

The lodge is spectactular!! The tented camps are so spacious, well furnished and completely comfortable. The food is delicous and we really enjoyed the amazing service from each staff member.

There are animals all over the place! One of our afternoon game drives turned into a night game drive and on our way back to the lodge, literally right across from the lodge and stream... we came across two leopards in front of our 4x4...... they ran into the trees. It was so exciting! Just knowing that there were so close to us made me a bit nervous, but the staff ensured us that the cats are the ones that are nervous of us!

Would definitely recommed this lodge whether it be for couples or families!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaandTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

There are other camps and then there is Olumara ! It stands out for its elegance and out of the world location for more than one reason ! Although the approach road is not as well marked as it should be, when one finally reaches there, the warmth of the welcome, the superb accommodation and the quality of the service and cuisine is more than worth the long, tiring drive.
The location is seriously remote, electricity and hot water is twice a day, but hey...its a tented camp, ain't it ! Special compliments to the cook, the tireless Masai guards and the cordial manager ! Can't help feeling that our trip to Kenya would have felt incomplete without a visit to this 'must see' place ! Fellow travelers going there are recommended to book a balloon ride in advance, which will be the cherry on top of this awesome cake ! Five stars !!

Room Tip: Try and choose a room closer to the dining hall !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Olumara was our last stop for our safari, and even that I could not wait to see the Mara river at close, I was nostalgic of the Serengeti. But Olumara it is such a great place, few tents, few people just like I liked, the staff made sure that everything was taking care of, they keep cold beers for us . And lots of hot water for showers. Loved the butternut cream soup. And also at the gift shop I got Masai necklace that fits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This tented camp was reached after a 5 1/2 drive from Nairobi 3 hours of the ride over an unpaved road (which is how everyone who does not fly in gets to Masai Mara). If you go during the dry season you will learn the true meaning of "eat my dust" as you drive along the unpaved dirt road.

Olumara consists of 11 luxury tents set on raised concrete foundations. There are 2-3 beds in each tent. There is a fully functioning shower/toilet/sink in each tent.There is no safe and I don't think you need one. There are nice african decorations acenting the tent and a porch with chairs. Power is by generator and available in the morning and at night until 10:30 (hot water during the same time periods -ask them how they make hot water this far out). They also can solar charge small items during the day.No mosquito nets in the tents and I never saw a mosquito (this was in July) Tips are placed in a group box in the dining tent rather than tipping individuals. Meals are 3 course fixed menu for lunch and dinner (no buffet) and breakfast is cereal/bread/beans/sausage/yogurt/fruit/bread etc. Coffee was via french press.

There is a very small shop with limited items.

This venue provides quaint, homey service from a small casual but attentive staff (hot water bottle in the bed on cold nights, a lantern brought to you if the power goes out, etc). There is a Masai on the staff that uses the moniker "Harrison" that will engage you in any conversation you like about Masai, animals, nature etc. Take the time to speak with him and you will get a different view of the world.

You know you are far out in the wild when you hear lions roaring and hyenas calling at night and see elephant track near the camp when they come by for water from the adjacent river. Birds will wake you up at 6 am with their chatter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AtlantaBusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We ended an 11 day safari here. The smallest camp we stayed in and most remote. This means electricity only twice a day and hot water once a day. But we didn't mind. The staff was all very helpful. Food was good, surprisingly good for as remote as we were. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.1 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#63 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#75 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
10.7 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#91 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#15 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mara Plains Camp
Mara Plains Camp
#40 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
18.7 mi away
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
#112 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olumara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olumara Camp

Property: Olumara Camp
Address: | Olaro Orok River, Near Masai Mara Game Reserve and Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Olumara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olumara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing