We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The little paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olumara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olumara Camp
Save
You added Olumara Camp to your Saves list
| Olaro Orok River, Near Masai Mara Game Reserve and Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The little paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The drive to the camp is much better now than it was the last time i was there a few years ago. The swinging bridge was an awesome idea. One of the things I liked was being welcomed to a bush lunch, that was such a reward after the long drive. Apparently, the camp is all surrounded by bush and a river that acts as the fence. We never stopped hearing the birds chirping and the monkeys especially during the bush lunch. There is a way that they served the steak and the pork was exceptionally grilled. I was told that the chef was called David. I also liked Godfrey the camp Manager, he is always with guests. I was very envious of a couple that told us of how earlier in the day during their game drive they had seen a hippo give birth and a leopard with a fresh catch and they were calling it "the experience of life and death". We were at the camp in April and it was not time for migration but the game drives were quite good, our driver told us its because the camp is located near a swamp and its usually the last place to dry up so animals escape to the swamp area. We stayed in a family tent and i had to miss the game drive the following morning (the comfort of the bed lied to me) but i spent the morning talking to the Masai Morans I found at the lounge and they were all so willing to give me lots of Moran stories, I really liked Saning'o, the one who welcomed us. The camp is quite small and with no congestion in the common facilities like the dinning area and lounge.

I will have to plan on a longer safari at this camp.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyaga123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was adventurous trip to this "forgotten" treasure. Beautifull spot with very helpfull staff. Really nice atmosphere with good food and nice wines!
The tents (accomodation) are very spacious, beds are comfortable and the interior is decorated in a fantastic African way. The veranda gives a very nice overview of the surroundings. Uncredible birds to be viewed.
If we would have had more time to spend we would like to have stayed 2 weeks longer!! It's Paradise!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hendry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have always had agreat comment every time I sent a client to this camp, so When an I got the opportunity to visit i was very excited.
The journey to the camp was a gamedrive of its own, upon arrival we were given hot towels,
the staff was very welcoming, i loved the bridge across the river to the camp [though I have fear of heights this one was very stable].
Upon nearing the restaurant we were given a refleshing cold juice [good as it was very hot]
we were checked into our rooms and after freshening up we had a bush lunch it was buffet,
The pork was soo salivating! thumbs up to the chef. All the while Mr.Godfrey the manager was checking up on all the guest there.
That day was superb for us as we enjoyed the morans dancing over diner and the bonfire, and tales from a local maasai. geoge had great service and another waiter whom i dont recall his name, but the service was great!
Let talk about my room [rhino] it was the biggest spacious tent I have ever slept in in a while, the bathroom was cute i just had to take a photo before messing everything up.
The following day we had coffee very early and headed for morning gamedrive the maasai guide was great and new where to find what.
I enjoyed my stay in your camp guys and I am sure coming back soonest!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenyasafariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pros:
>Tent sizes are larger than most tent camps.
>Fun walking bridge to lodge

Cons:
>Stayed 3 nights. Toilet didn't flush on checking room before safari. Notified staff and not fixed on my return. Told them every day and still never fixed.
>Staff generally unfriendly and not attentive to your needs. I have never stayed in a lodge where you are not greeted by a nice "Jumbo" whenever you see someone. This place they turn their heads.
>Food quality was well below average. No buffet style and only one choice for dinner on a chalkboard. Quality was way below average.
>We had early morning safaris and the kitchen staff was often late so we got late safari starts.
>Only place we stayed that did not have the hot water bottles or mosquito nets.
I am not usually a whiny guy, but you get the picture. There are other lodges that are way better for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BetterThanIDeserve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Fondo de les Neus, Spain
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This camp should live up to expectations of the' Safari Ideal ' it fails though !
It is remote -- good , it is hard to find and not well positioned -- bad !!

The staff are kind, friendly but poorly led and a little aimless , one morning they all must have slept in because the breakfast was not ready 'till past 7 ish , guests wanted to be out long before . The refridgerator in the restaurant was broken so only cool drinks were available not the long ice cold ones you want after a hot safari.

All in all the impressin was one of willing amateurs trying to get through the day not really sure of what to do to make things work , guys like this deserve better support and the whole ideal would be back on track .

Some one please get a grip of this and get signs done that can be read , not the hand painted mini efforts currently badly placed and above all appreciate what is in place --- it only needs tuning !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leonspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The tents are nice and comfortable and compared to the rest of our stay were nicely designed. The hygiene in the kitchen however left much to be desired - from cockroaches running around to a large insect in our dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at Olumara for 1 night whilst on safari which we booked through WT Safaris.
This was our 2nd safari of the holiday, the first was to Tsavo East, Tsavo West and Amboseli, but then we decided to also go to the Masai Mara.
he Masai Mara is the best place to see the animals as you are much closer to them than the other parks.
We flew from Diani to an airstrip in the Masai Mara which was an experience in itself! We were collected from the plane by a jeep from the hotel and had a very long game drive including a packed lunch.
When we arrived at Olumara we walked over the wooden bridge to the restaurant area, and was then shown to our tent (Elephant).
It was so cosy and furnished to a high standard. We could have slept forever in the beds they had there! The bathroom was also excellent and nothing like you would expect from a tent.
The restaurant was again so cosy and homely, and the food was amazing.
We absolutely loved this place and cannot reccomend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yorkshirewhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.1 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#72 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
3.3 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#4 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#48 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#83 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#23 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
15.3 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#8 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olumara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olumara Camp

Property: Olumara Camp
Address: | Olaro Orok River, Near Masai Mara Game Reserve and Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Olumara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing