We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice tents, Poor hygiene” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olumara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olumara Camp
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice tents, Poor hygiene”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

The tents are nice and comfortable and compared to the rest of our stay were nicely designed. The hygiene in the kitchen however left much to be desired - from cockroaches running around to a large insect in our dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at Olumara for 1 night whilst on safari which we booked through WT Safaris.
This was our 2nd safari of the holiday, the first was to Tsavo East, Tsavo West and Amboseli, but then we decided to also go to the Masai Mara.
he Masai Mara is the best place to see the animals as you are much closer to them than the other parks.
We flew from Diani to an airstrip in the Masai Mara which was an experience in itself! We were collected from the plane by a jeep from the hotel and had a very long game drive including a packed lunch.
When we arrived at Olumara we walked over the wooden bridge to the restaurant area, and was then shown to our tent (Elephant).
It was so cosy and furnished to a high standard. We could have slept forever in the beds they had there! The bathroom was also excellent and nothing like you would expect from a tent.
The restaurant was again so cosy and homely, and the food was amazing.
We absolutely loved this place and cannot reccomend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yorkshirewhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I flew by Mombasa Air Safari from Malindi to this tranquil spot last month. It was the low season but the temperature was hot by day, cool by night, perfect. It was therefore not busy either at the camp nor on safari drives. There had been rain recently so plenty of grass and wild flowers and a great deal of game, only leopard eluded us. You approach the camp over a hanging footbridge, like a James Bond set, and your every need is catered for. The staff are very attentive and my Masai safari guide, James, was excellent. He speaks excellent English, knows where the best game might be and had endless patience. On my final drive to the airstrip it was just the 2 of us for 2 hours' drive and picnic lunch and we saw a large variety of game, including hippos in a river, close up. A lone traveller, I felt perfectly safe throughout. Being the low season there were few safari vehicles about, which was a big advantage. The camp offer a programme of activities.

Room Tip: All tented rooms offer the same excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happywanderer7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

You must wake up early inorder to catch up with the wild when they are ready to hunt, 6.30 am gamedrive with breakfast in the bush with the hippos and crocs.
Also a late afternoon gamedrive will definately balance what was missed in the morning or take a full day with packed lunch on day two.

Room Tip: Family - DRONGO, Suite -HORNBILL,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotmarket01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakopane, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed in Olu Mara last week for 2 nights (during fly safarin from Mombasa), and all I can say now is that's the perfect place to be accommodated during safari in Maasai Mara. We have booked the trip in Bettyken safari (http://www.bettykensafaris.com/), we can strong reccomend you their services. We we agreed all the details by e-mails before our arrival (so we saved a lot of time during our stay in Kenya indeed), and we got all we were promised!
The Olumara camp is great, the tens are luxiorous but eco-friendly in the same time, we really loved it! And the staff - they were so helpful and cheerful, we wish you all the best guys!
Hope I will come back there one day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anusia_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed at Olumara for two nights as part of a package air safari from Mombasa. Overall it is a beautiful place with the friendliest and most attentive of resort staff. It is small and run on ecologically friendly lines with solar power for the office and kitchen and a generator running only early mornings and in the evenings to power the rest of the resort. It is built in a bend in a river so you are kept safe from wild animals. Maasai tribesmen (askaris) patrol at night time.

The "rooms" each named after an animal (we stayed in Lion and Buffalo) consist of a large tent complete with full shower room, balcony and two queen sized beds. Storage and furniture is built from wood, branches and cut planks with their natural shapes preserved. It is attractive and feels appropriate to life on safari. In addition to comfortable beds equipped with soft duvees and deep, fluffy pillows, there is a small dressing table, coffee table and two arm chairs.

The dining room is airy and pleasant for the meals provided with extremely attentive staff and good quality food. We understand the chef has had 20 years experience. The kitchen is visible from the dining room through a large glass window and looks clean and well-equipped. Cooked breakfasts are plentiful. You can order tea and coffee at no extra charge any time. For early morning starts you can order a wake up drink.

The down side is that we were not satisfied with the game drives. We were there at the same time as a couple from Holland who had booked a game drive for just the two of them. They never got that, despite complaining very strongly. It wasn't our fault, but that put a damper on our experience and that of two young sisters from England who joined us in our second day. We were picked up from the airstrip and had a long, hot game drive. Packed lunch was provided (and it was a very good lunch) but we didn't get to our accommodation until about 4pm and were very hot and tired. The next day we didn't start until about 9am and drove around all day. We were so hot and tired in the middle of the day, having picked up the sisters from the airstrip, that we insisted on a break and were able to rest and have a cool drink at the Mara Intrepids Lodge.

The next day, at our insistence, we went out on an early morning drive starting at about 6.30am and did see some good wildlife. The impression we had was that the lodge was a long way from the airstrip and we seemed to have to drive for a long time before seeing much wildlife.

The vehicle, whilst adequate, was rather old and beat up. One of the passenger doors didn't open, not all the windows could be opened, and there was no apparent radio in case of emergency or information communication. We were entirely dependent on our driver's two mobile phones. He said he had 8 year's experience, but was evasive when I asked if he had at least a bronze KATO qualification. He was friendly enough and spoke reasonable English, but unlike some of the guides from other camps that we saw, didn't wear a safari uniform and didn't seem all that professional. Although we never came to harm, we did have one or two hairy moments driving on rough terrain. We never felt in danger from any wild animals, though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HotelBoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olumara, General Manager at Olumara Camp, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
olumara has of late bought two cruisers after the dramas we had with the old ones and have also recruited new guides to add spices to our new fleet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#60 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
10.7 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#94 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
#114 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mara Plains Camp
Mara Plains Camp
#37 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#73 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olumara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olumara Camp

Property: Olumara Camp
Address: | Olaro Orok River, Near Masai Mara Game Reserve and Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Olumara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olumara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing