We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sentrim Mara Camp
Nearby Hotels
Leopard Hill(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$500
$394
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$370
$315
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$152
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$247
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$196
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
77
110
48
19
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
110
48
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshop on sitebargaining skillsnairobi citydusty ridemasai womenmosquito nettingthe cottagestwo double bedsbasic amenitieswater pressuresmall poolelectric fenceshower areastayed here for nightscamera batteriesbuffet stylemorning and evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 270 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This lodge in the Masai Mara is the ideal place to experience your dream safari.The tents are clean and quite comfortable.The electric charging points did not work but this was not a problem as the reception was only too happy to charge your batteries for you.
The resident driver Maen was an excellent guide and really knows his stuff.The food here is average but the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

we had two nights here having been swapped from the David Livingstone lodge.
the service was poor, the food barely edible, rice, pasta,mashed potato and a couple of meat dishes of unknown origin coffee cold, ran out of milk and sausages at breakfast and that was at 06.30am,
the location poor(view from tent a ladder and loads of bushes) no area to sit and relax after your evening meal unless you wanted to sit on a sunbed by the pool.
alarm went off in tent at 01.00am, it went on for at least an hour no-one came to see if we were ok and we had no way of getting help as too far to reception in the dark and the tents have no communication with the reception, found out later we were supposed to use a whistle to attract the security guard but was not provided with one.
it appears that there is a lot of work still going on and they are not equipped to cope with the amount of guests they had, but are sending people here to pay for the next phase of development.
we didn't let it spoil our safari as it was our first time in the mara, but having had such lovely lodges last year in tsavo east and west with excellent views we felt we had been down graded.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank car_stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The mara is an incredible place, there is no doubt about that. Lodges and camps are more expensive than in other parts of Kenya. But this place was definitely a step down from all of the other places we stayed on our safari. I would recommend trying somewhere else in the area, and probably getting a better deal. This is tented camp with large rooms. Our room had two double beds, a small balcony, and a bathroom two sinks, a shower, and a flush toilet. Hot water was available all day, as was electricity. The camp has a pool and some common seating areas. It is just inside the Sekenani gate, on the road that is at the Northeast boundary of the park. The common areas are below average, with no scenery, or really comfortable or pleasant places to hang out. The service was below average, with a seemingly unenthusiastic staff for the most part. The coffee pot was empty about 1/2 the time I tried to get to it. The food was below average, sort of like college dorm food from back in the day. Also, if the camp is crowded, count on them running out of some items. If you take a late breakfast, your food may be cold. The dining room feels cramped, and it looks like they are building more rooms. This place was the most expensive one of our trip, which included several parks. I suppose you pay a premium for being at the Mara, but if I return, I will not stay at the Sentrim again. I would try someplace else, it will likely be better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

No Matter what the reviews have said.. I must say that our stay at Sentrim was one of the best. Went as a group of 8 and the service was just too good. The staff were very very friendly... The lodge now has a pool and a jacuzzi and its a nice way to relax after a game drive.

There was always a good choice of food.

Would definitely visit again and i would recommend it any day!!!!

Abhi

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Just returned from a two night stay whilst visiting the Masi Mara for a safari.
We should have originally gone to another lodge, but was transferred for some particular reason.
When booking the trip some 12 months ago, we did want a tented lodge, but was unable to do this given how we wished to travel. We were therefore delighted when we realised we would be staying under canvas.
The lodge is very secure having an electric fence to keep out the animals. There are also Masi warriors who walk you to and from your tent at night, armed with a bow, arrow and a torch.
The tents are very large and had everything required I.e. bed, toilet, shower. There was a mosquito net over the bed, which was let down every night whilst we were at dinner. However, never once did we see or hear a mosquito at this particular time of year. Please be aware though that as the tents work on solar power, you are unable to use a hairdryer or charge cameras, mobile telephones, etc. You can get these charged at reception, which is not a big problem.
The food is very good for a small establishment and waiters very happy to assist.
They had just completed a new pool and whirl pool, which was very welcome after a day in the hot and dusty Masi Mara.
We also visited the local Masi village within a short distance of the lodge. This was arranged through our safari driver and well worth the visit. There was a small ‘fee’ to the locals for visiting and of course you were expected to buy something in return for them showing you around and dancing for you. They also visited the hotel one night to dance whilst having dinner.
All in all, a very comfortable place for a couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews