We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think there are better places to stay in the Masai Mara”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sentrim Mara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentrim Mara
Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I think there are better places to stay in the Masai Mara”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had the first hut to the left as you face the main building. Our room was minimum. The bed and space were fine, but the bathroom as very rough. However, the worst part was there were many bees in the room. We came back from a game drive, and there were probably 75 dead bees in the shower. Additionally, I stepped on a half dead bee that was on some carpet (so I didn't see it) and was stung. The front desk staff were not friendly and did not "aim to please". The positive was the food and the dining room staff. All of those staff were very friendly and seemed to really want folks to have a pleasant dining experience. I especially liked the pizza cooked in the open oven. Breakfast was fine also. Omelets cooked to order and many choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoBeans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    81
    43
    16
    14
See reviews for
53
82
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

locate nearby gate of Masai Mara, it;s a little far away when go to safari in Mara river. it's a beatuiful lodge, large garden! Room is BIG! with balcony. Good food, you can have tailor-made pizza in dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in a lodge for 3 nights here as part of our safari holiday.
The lodge was clean and comfortable with fly screens on all windows to keep the bugs out but there were mozzie nets on the beds and a man that came round to spray for bugs in the evening just in case one got in!
The electric is only on for 2 hours in the morning and 4 in the evening so take a torch to read or visit the bathroom in the night.
The staff were helpful and really friendly and made us feel at home. Our guide and driver (John & Jackson) were wonderful and really made our trip special.
The truck was comfortable and, as there were only two of us, we could move around to get the best views of the animals.
Thank you for a great trip :o)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
389 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

As part of our OAT Safari we spent 3 nights and 4 days at the Sentrim. Everyone who welcomed us at the airport to the lodge were friendly and helpful. My accommodation was LAMA 10 and a steep walk up the hill to the diningroom. The food was very good. Several selections at every meal. There was a bar with good selections too! I have no complaints about my room. It was clean. The toilet area did smell like sewage, but not anything that I could not handle. Dennis was my houseman and he did a good job. You do hear animals at night most notably was the hyena. Sometimes the small tree animals scurried across the thatch roof at night. All the Maasai drivers and guides were wonderful. They certainly know their animals and the first day we were able to see the black rhino. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavonnemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in the tented accommodation for 2 nights (17th/18th Sept 2013). I was a bit dubious before we went but it turned into a great experience. The tents were clean and comfortable but my only gripe was the shower mat was past it's best. The staff were great and the food excellent. Always a good choice for all cultures and I particularly liked the fact your eggs were cooked fresh anyway you wanted.
Do remember a torch as black out is at 10pm.
Overall I thought it was excellent and would've gave 5 stars if not for the shower mat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleyp288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Sentrim Mara for couple of nights. Starting Manager & their entire staff were so welcoming and supportive. Especially when we ran into a minor situation the way the staff & Manager responded to ensure that we are safe and comfortable was simply fantastic and unforgettable. This place is a true reflection of African Hospitality. Entered Sentrim Mara with lot of apprehensions but ended up returning with full of happy memories.

Room Tip: Opt for a room Near to the reception if travelling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivaram_jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The last two days of our 8 day trip were spent at Sentrim Mara. On our way to Mara, our van collided head-on with another van. We had cuts and bruises and both my wife and me had pain in her lower ribs making it difficult to walk. We then hitched a ride with a kind family from Denmark and reached Sentrim Mara.

The staff at Mara were very kind and offered to take us to the local doctor. Since we had reached there by 5:00pm we had missed out on lunch. The Manager, Moses, a very warm and kind person, arranged some food for us. He even arranged to sent dinner to our rooms. All the other staff were also very helpful as most people had heard of the accident by now and went out of their way to make us comfortable.

This was the probably the only resort in our trip which had solar lighting and solar water heaters . We stayed in the LAMA rooms which were near the reception. The room was clean and beds were provided with mosquito/insect nets. The lights switched off at 10:00pm, so a torch is handy if you plan to stay awake which is quite unlikely after a tiring safari. The food was tasty and the barbecue which was served on our last day was simply amazing. The chefs were always at hand to tweak the food to our liking.

Overall, it was a memorable stay mainly because of the staff who were warm, courteous and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Besides the tents, there are proper rooms (called LAMA rooms) for people who are not used to living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
8.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
2.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mara Sopa Lodge
Mara Sopa Lodge
#37 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
24.4 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
3.0 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Mara

Property: Sentrim Mara
Address: Sekenani Maasai Mara | P.O. Box 43436, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentrim Mara 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim Mara Game Lodge is located in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, 3 km from Sekenani gate. The entire camp is spread out over 100 acres of tranquil surroundings and where acacia trees whistle through the night. The main guest area consists of the Reception, Lounge, Restaurant, Bar, Fire Place, Pool Bar, Jacuzzi and Swimming Pool. The lodge has a total of 64 en-suite standard, superior tents as well as family houses (Concrete). All rooms are equipped with Private hot shower, In-room safe deposit box, solar power and coffee making facilities. Maasai Mara is 260 km from Nairobi and takes 4 1/2 hours drive by road and 40 minutes by air. Transfer from the airstrip to the camp takes 20 minutes. The Masai Mara climate is mainly humid, with temperatures averaging 26°C during the day and 12°C at night. Long rains are anticipated from mid April to May and the short rains from November to early December. Recreation activities e.G. Guided nature walks, game drives, balloon safaris, Maasai culture talk, Manyatta village visits & Maasai dancers; can be organized upon request at a fee. Other services offered at the camp include; sundowner cocktails, bush breakfast / bush lunch and dinner within the lodge, massage services and can be organized upon request at a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sentrim Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sentrim Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing