We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality”
Review of Sentrim Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sentrim Mara Camp
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in September. We had actually booked Keekorok Lodge, Mara, but they had sold our rooms to Chinese guests so our tour company had to find us alternative accommodation and this is why we stayed at Sentrim. I cannot speak highly enough of Sentrim Camp, the welcome they gave us was the best welcome I have ever had at a hotel - all the staff came out to greet us with a song and a dance (they had heard of our terrible experience at Keekorok) and they made us feel so special. We were shown to our rooms which were very well equipped and clean and quite spacious with an excellent shower room. We then went to dinner, which although the selection wasn't as varied as some other lodges we had stayed in, the food was delicious and hot - Moses the chef was most accommodating and making sure that we had everything that we wanted. We had a great night's sleep (they gave us complimentary wine as they felt so sorry for our ordeal at Keekorok) and had a very good breakfast - omelettes were superb - before setting off again on our Game Drive. We only saw the rest of the hotel briefly as we had arrived in the dark the night before but the sun deck and pool looked very inviting and everywhere was so clean. If I ever come back to the Mara I will certainly stay here again and thanks again to Moses and his staff for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLQEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

I can highly recommend this place to stay and to ask your safari company to include it. It is situated in a great place (we saw elephant, gazelles, wildebeest, a lion, a giraffe and more in a 3 hour drive from here and back!). The staff here is very pleasant and welcoming. We were sang to and given juice on arrival, and the porters took the luggage to the room. Meals, especially in the evening were fantastic and we were catered for without fuss as vegetarians and the staff was attentive. On one of the nights we were treated to dancing and jumping competitions by the local Masai people. We understand they do this every other night. We were in Tent 7 which was spacious and clean, with two sinks and a hot shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awholeworldoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A wonderful lodge right next to a Masai village. Genuine friendly staff, really welcoming and ready to help with anything. Great little shop on site for essentials and super food. Stick with the local beer, wine is very expensive but they will walk all over the grounds to get a signal on the visa machine!! Didn't try pool, looked lovely but too busy.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

our experience with this otel is superb. Being a veggie person i was worried about food but even veggie food is delecious. My daughter likes the homely nature of the staff members and specially chef. He always comes to you and ask about food quality. Also security is amazing .They simply care about you. It is altoghater lovey experience at Masai Mara.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swativsagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Masai Mara is like another planet... Wonderful... unbelievable...

But unfortunately Sentrim Mara on the opposite site.
This facility has many problems. Of course the first one is management.
Let me write some of them :
1. Location.
Yes it is located inside the park, but a little bit far from the best game drive routes. And unfortunately the view from the tents very poor. If I compare with another lodges I stayed, this is the worst one.
2. Overall view of the facility
No need to say much : old, untidy, dirty...there were scattered construction materials around.
Immediately should be improved !
3. Foods and dining
Very poor. Most of the meals were Indian style.

So, if you are planning to visit Masai Mara, consider carefully your accomodation options.
I heard that Masai Mara is well known with their poor accommodation facilities. I've spent 18 days in Kenya and visited 7 different wildlife parks and after that experience I believed what I heard.

Room Tip: there are two room types, so choose the expensive one. it will be better than worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mehmetbugra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, and it was definitely a great stay!

I'll start off by saying that I wasn't very impressed with the location. Sentrim Mara is located very close to the entrance to the Mara, and doesn't really have any views of meadows or anything, so it feels very cut off from the wildlife once you're back from your safaris. Considering that Masai Mara has such an abundance of wildlife, it would be more worth your while to get a lodge that is located in the heart of the Mara with good views, or you'll feel like you're missing out.

Also, due to the location, it takes about 15-20 min or so to get to the main lion/cheetah territories, so that eats into your safari time. Also, it is very very far (3-4 hrs one way) from the Mara river, so if you're hoping to go often to the river to catch the migration, this is not a very good option.

Having said that, our stay inside this lodge was lovely! The service is incredible, the food is amazing, and the tents are *very* spacious. My husband and I skipped dinner one night since we were too tired; they actually sent a waiter to our room to find out if we were okay and needed any help, and if it was okay to shut down the dinner service for the night. Whenever we came back from our safaris, all the waiters would enquire about it, what wildlife we saw etc.

On the last day, we requested an early breakfast (6 am when the actual timing is 6:30 am onwards), and were very comfortably accommodated. Not just that, they actually had a guy waiting outside our room with a torchlight at 6 am sharp, to ensure that we wouldn't have to walk alone in the dark! That, to me, is *fantastic* service.

Overall, apart from the location factor, we just loved Sentrim Mara!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdiMu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent one night in the Sentrim tented camp. Large tents, good accommodations. Not as luxurious as the Sarova, but the smaller camp scale made it more relaxing. The staff was very friendly and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The buffet did not offer a lot of choice but the food was excellent. We enjoyed the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thierry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,110 reviews
2.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mara Springs Safari Camp
Mara Springs Safari Camp
#93 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
35 reviews
22.6 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Mara Camp

Address: Sekenani Maasai Mara | P.O. Box 43436, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $169 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentrim Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim Mara Camp is located in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, 3 km from Sekenani gate. The entire camp is spread out over 100 acres of tranquil surroundings. The main guest area consists of the Reception, Lounge, Restaurant, Bar, Fire Place, Pool Bar, beauty spa and Swimming Pool. The lodge has a total of 64 en-suite standard, superior tents as well as family houses (Concrete). All rooms are equipped with Private hot shower, In-room safe deposit box, solar power and coffee making facilities. Recreation activities e.G. Guided nature walks, game drives, balloon safaris, Maasai culture talk, Manyatta village visits & Maasai dancers; can be organized upon request at a fee. Other services offered at the camp include; sundowner cocktails, bush breakfast / bush lunch and dinner within the lodge, massage services and can be organized upon request at a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sentrim Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sentrim Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing