We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something is missing”
Review of Sentrim Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sentrim Mara Camp
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Something is missing”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at Sentrim Mara for 1 night in early April 2011 when we were travelling with our 2 young children thru Kenya

We had fresh memory from Sentrim Amboseli and we were not dissapointed with a similar location just outside the park periphery. We had a similar reception with song and dance but something was not the same.

Soon we realised that this lodge is totally different from Amboseli

The reception starts and ends within a few feet. The restaurant is very close to the reception, but does not have a good view of anything other than swimming pool.

The rooms were not standard camp like. They were rather different and looked like being built in stilts. The rooms are supposed to have a good view of the hill range in front, But alas, that was not the case as there was a lot of trees and bushes in between. We checked multiple rooms and none of them have a good view of anything

This was the only hotel where there was no buffet as they did not have enough people staying. We were given a standard option with a couple of main course options instead. But the food was good and was not as bad as we were concerned. They also seemed to have good vegetarian options.

The rooms were decent inside. The shower and WC areas were seperate and were clean and neat. They did provide us a good amount ot compliments for use in shower. We had a small work desk.

The staff were efficient but seem to be short on connecting with people. They seem to go thru their motions while working rather than from the heart.. I may be wrong, but I felt it that way because they have the infrastructure comparable to Amboseli Sentrim but there is a lack of character in the way it is being run

something is missing!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    92
    44
    16
    15
See reviews for
59
86
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

At last we found a Lodgel with some ECO/Green credentials; powered by Solar, and Wind turbines. Unfortunately that is the only good point about this Lodge. Located just inside the Maasai Mara game reserve, and whilst that is particularly welcome, after the two hour bone shaking drive from Narok (largest Maasai town), it is not particularly useful for game drives, as you have to drive further 45 mins to an hour into the Park to find any real ‘Game’. Once found though, the Game is very impressive.

Bad management leads to absolute chaos during meal times, staff wandering around all over the dining room with no clue as to how order what drinks. Which leads onto value for money; shocking prices, and equally shocking measures, “Sentrim” appear more concerned with squeezing ever Shilling out of you, rather than treating you as welcome guests. Food is average at best, and all but the Corn flakes for breakfast are smothered in a liberal dose of Coriander.

The rooms are a rather quirky Tent with brick bathroom extension construction (all open plan). Some efforts have been made to prevent insects from getting it, but there are gaps in the joints that would allow bats to fly in. Mosquito nets were more effective at tramping mosquitoes in, than keeping them out, two sleepless nights!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1971Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2011

we are residents in Kenya. On Christmas 2010 the third time, and definitely the last one in Santrim Mara. Compared with the previous two visits 2009, 2010 this time was really disappointment. When arrived on Christmas Eva, we were told, no table for us in the restaurant, too many quests. We were put to the most distant old tents, “windows" broken and free access for mosquitoes. Management impolite and embarrassing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi (Delhi), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

A good place to stay. ROoms are decent. However the commode flush wasn't working, no electricity in room during day time, cant charge your electronics at room. Food quality is not upto the mark. And last but not the least, location wise very poor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susmita_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I have been visiting Kenya most years since 1998 this trip being our eleventh annual holiday. We arrived in Nairobi from Newcastle around 19.00 and as always were met by our very good friend Salim Senti who we have known since July 2000. Salim has been a safari guide/driver for over 25 years and it is he who arranges, organises and takes us on our safari each year. Once we have agreed our itinerary with Salim all that remains is for us to book our airfares and he does the rest. With his expertise, experience, enthusiasm and incredible knowledge of Kenya and its wildlife, he always ensures that we enjoy an amazing holiday/safari. Salim comes highly recommended and if you are looking for that unforgettable safari experience whether for 1 day or 10 days, then he is your man. His email is ‘’.
After spending a whole day in Hell’s Gate Park (separate review) while staying at the Naivasha Sopa Lodge for 3 nights (separate review), we moved on to the Masai Mara Game Reserve where we spent 10 nights at Sentrim Tented Camp also know as Ngama Tented Camp. It is not that long ago that this camp was taken over by the Sentrim Group and so it may not be as well established as some of the other camps in the Mara. Compared to other camps we have stayed at in the Mara, Keekorok and Fig Tree, maybe Sentrim was no so grand but it was very comfortable. Our tent was in the newest section of the camp and was rather special. It was very spacious with a fantastic ensuite bathroom and a good view over the hills and the bush from the veranda.
The extensive grounds were still in some need of improvement, a general tidy up and a little landscaping would make a big difference. Nevertheless, we did enjoy our exploratory walks along the pathways and through the bush. For any ‘birders’ out there, the grounds did hold a reasonable number of species, some quite interesting. The camp grounds are completely surrounded by a security fence, which did mean there were no animals to encounter and so walking around was completely safe.
As we usually stay out all day with a picnic lunch while on safari, we only used the dining room for breakfast and evening meal. All meals were self-service and over the course of 10 days I only selected one dish that did not suit my taste. Generally the food was good to very good with the soups bordering on excellent. The ‘picnic’ lunch boxes were also very good and were usually eaten with great gusto under the shade of an acacia tree out on the savannah.
Probably what impressed us most about our stay at Sentrim Camp were the management and staff. They were very enthusiastic and friendly, always willing to help and very eager to have a conversation. Some good friendships were forged during our stay.
We would not hesitate to recommend Sentrim Camp, maybe not the very best of places in the Mara but still very good and certainly worth a visit. It is very comfortable and clean with good accommodation and food, very friendly staff and of course most important, the rates are very competitive compared to many other camps and lodges in the Mara. Please do not hesitate to contact me at ‘--’ should you wish to find out more about our Kenyan holidays, safaris and experiences or to ask for more information about a safari with our trusted friend Salim.

Tom & Linda – Northumberland, England.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Goshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We spent one night at the Sentrim Mara Lodge in the Masai Mara and it was a good way to start our safari. The smiley staff welcomed us with a fresh towel and a juice and once in our accommodation (a nice big tent with a terrace overlooking the bush), we were very impressed with the set up. Everything was in good condition, the bed was comfi, the shower pressure was good. We only stayed one night but we enjoyed our stay there. The pool was also very welcoming and the common areas (restaurant, bar and swimming pool) are well set up. Breakfast and dinner are served as a buffet and there is plenty of choice. Nothing wrong to say about this lodge!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Overall it is a very average tented camp. This is the last place we stayed on our trip and it was the worst. Although the tents were large and the beds nice, the insulation from bugs was not as good as others. Our shower had gnats in it every day because the netting at the top had way too large of holes. Other than that the rooms were clean.

The grounds were again very average. The location is at the very front of the Masia Mara which we learned sometimes means a long drive into the park before you start really seeing the animals. If you stay here I highly recommend doing full day game drives.

The food is the main reason why I will not stay here again. Not a single meal we had here was good. We were typically one of the first groups to get food and somehow it as cold. The meats were tough and fatty. There wasn't a single meal that was decent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuresabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
228 reviews
2.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
110 reviews
9.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,031 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#86 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
131 reviews
22.6 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#33 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Mara Camp

Property: Sentrim Mara Camp
Address: Sekenani Maasai Mara | P.O. Box 43436, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentrim Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim Mara Camp is located in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, 3 km from Sekenani gate. The entire camp is spread out over 100 acres of tranquil surroundings. The main guest area consists of the Reception, Lounge, Restaurant, Bar, Fire Place, Pool Bar, beauty spa and Swimming Pool. The lodge has a total of 64 en-suite standard, superior tents as well as family houses (Concrete). All rooms are equipped with Private hot shower, In-room safe deposit box, solar power and coffee making facilities. Recreation activities e.G. Guided nature walks, game drives, balloon safaris, Maasai culture talk, Manyatta village visits & Maasai dancers; can be organized upon request at a fee. Other services offered at the camp include; sundowner cocktails, bush breakfast / bush lunch and dinner within the lodge, massage services and can be organized upon request at a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sentrim Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sentrim Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing