We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Basic, clean, comfortable and well located.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Basic, clean, comfortable and well located.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the view, cleanliness and comfort of Manyatta Camp. It was booked by our "budget"Safari company.

The tents were spartan, but clean. The electricity (generator) was on from 6:30pm to 10:30pm, and for 1 hour in the morning till 6:30am -- very environmentally friendly. There was adequate hot-water... though if the camp is full, you may run out of luck with that.

The food was simple but a good mix of vegetables and meat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mit-Tha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The camp lies just outside the park, near the gate, which is convenient. Just in front of the camp there is a very pathetic and dirty village. There are plastic bags all over.
The tents are spacious and so is the attached bathroom. I had always water with good pressure in the shower. The hot water takes quite a long while to get hot (you better open the hot water and then brush your teeth; when you are done there will be hot water). But then the water is really hot not just warm.
Cleanliness was not perfect and i could not figure out, if the linnen of the bed was really fresh. But i saw that the Linnen from other tents was removed in the morning.
The Dining hall reminded me a Little bit of a Youth Hostel, quite big and big groups of families.
Food was plenty. Some of the vegetable was even cooked "al dente". I tried meet only once and was not convinced of the quality.
Breakfast was a Little bit poor.
They have Massai-Watchmen at night. I appreciate that the local people are employed.
And I also do not mind when the watchmen sit on the verandah under the roof of my tent while it is raining, when I went out for dinner. But I DO mind when they are not going away on my return. They just kept sitting there and chatting. They left after 10 minutes and took MY chairs with them.
I survived staying there. For someone n a tighter Budget it will be ok but i prefer something a Little bit more quiet and stylish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The camp is nice, with friendly people working there, the tents are clean and tidy, common area where you can meet different groups and share experiences and stories regarding what you have seen in the Masai Mara National Park.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a booking confirmation before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alynourst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We Spent there only one night because it was full on our day of arrival. Nice rooms and a lot of free space in the camp. Nice seating area at the reception with free coffee and tea, perfect for an afternoon chat before dinner. Close to the Park entrance and on a walking distance to the masai village.
The best thing was the food. Delicious dinner and mouth watering fruit buffet.

Beds were comfortable. Mosquito nets were uneffective though.
Warm water was available, it was a pleasing surprise.

Room Tip: Zipra Room was cool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amr_Arafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were there last week end. I have been to almost all the hotels in Masai Mara & this is the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. The food was very bad. No water in Toilet & bathroom. When I informed the receptionist, they casually told us that the pipe could have broken. Before end of the day, it will be sorted out. That was early morning at 6. We had to use mineral water for everything, through out our stay. In the night, one group of young kids were drinking & making so much noise screaming with vulgar words. The management seemed to have take it so easy. Could not sleep even for 30 minutes. I would not recommend anyone. We used Bonfire Adventures who booked this camp & their service was worse than this camp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muralikenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Manyatta Camp as part of a tour with Safe Ride tours. The rooms were a good size, bed was small and the shower was good.

I got a few small rocks in the first meal I ate, all other meals after that were fine but a bit repetitive. Dinners were at or after 8pm which is not ideal when you are getting up at 4am the next day for a hot air balloon ride.

Other guests were noisy till 3am one night which was annoying but not nessesarily the camps fault. Overall they were adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackstockNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 1 night here in October 2012, arriving after a 4 hour afternoon safari and getting up early for a sunrise safari! Travelled with Saferide who partner the camp, saw incredible amount of wildlife inside the park, minutes away. The camp was a little basic, but all tents were clean, sturdy and had very comfortable beds with the vital mosquito nets. Toilets and showers in all tentswere a welcome treat. The food served wasn't exactly gourmet, but to sit by a fire circle with a drink, chatting to Maasai people and watching the sunset on the plains of the Maasai Mara was utterly incredible.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#87 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#94 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#85 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Sopa Lodge
Mara Sopa Lodge
#40 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masai Mara Manyatta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

Property: Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Address: Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp is a new concept in the world famous Masai Mara Game reserve.Booking can either be on bed only or on full board basis. Guests on full board basis will have 3 meals per day prepared by the resident camp Chef.Guests on Bed only basis can bring their own food to be prepared by the resident chef at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Masai Mara Manyatta Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing