We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Loucy Place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Loucy Place...”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were there last week end. I have been to almost all the hotels in Masai Mara & this is the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. The food was very bad. No water in Toilet & bathroom. When I informed the receptionist, they casually told us that the pipe could have broken. Before end of the day, it will be sorted out. That was early morning at 6. We had to use mineral water for everything, through out our stay. In the night, one group of young kids were drinking & making so much noise screaming with vulgar words. The management seemed to have take it so easy. Could not sleep even for 30 minutes. I would not recommend anyone. We used Bonfire Adventures who booked this camp & their service was worse than this camp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muralikenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Manyatta Camp as part of a tour with Safe Ride tours. The rooms were a good size, bed was small and the shower was good.

I got a few small rocks in the first meal I ate, all other meals after that were fine but a bit repetitive. Dinners were at or after 8pm which is not ideal when you are getting up at 4am the next day for a hot air balloon ride.

Other guests were noisy till 3am one night which was annoying but not nessesarily the camps fault. Overall they were adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackstockNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 1 night here in October 2012, arriving after a 4 hour afternoon safari and getting up early for a sunrise safari! Travelled with Saferide who partner the camp, saw incredible amount of wildlife inside the park, minutes away. The camp was a little basic, but all tents were clean, sturdy and had very comfortable beds with the vital mosquito nets. Toilets and showers in all tentswere a welcome treat. The food served wasn't exactly gourmet, but to sit by a fire circle with a drink, chatting to Maasai people and watching the sunset on the plains of the Maasai Mara was utterly incredible.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

İt s not worth for the prices. Breakfast very poor. No electricity between the hours 10.30 pm and 05.30 am. Bathrooms are so dirty in a tent. There is no enough staff. Leopar very rarely seemed in that area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012 for two nights and found the hotel bery nice and good value for the money. The food quality was good (particularly for vegetarians). The service was more than satisfactory. The power used to be put off between around 12.00 am and 5.00 pm was ok. however the fan was working during the night. They provided the torch for emergency. A very satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdehadraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This camp is VERY comfortable and on the edge of wild. You can hear the elephants walking and trumpeting nearby.

Each tent is protected beneath a thatched hut and in each tent there are 2 cots for your own comfort.

The restaurant/bar/gathering area is perfect for just that.

And the fire pit with warriors keeping watch is a great place to spend time while watching the moon rise over the silhouette of the nearby hills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

basic, but you will be out most of the time in a safari anyway (the park in just marvellous). The place is next to a Masai village if you want to get a taste of real life of this tribe.
Food was good, love the way they warm up the water for shower.Staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrebix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#85 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#96 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#60 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#67 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#57 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oltome Resorts
Oltome Resorts
#76 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masai Mara Manyatta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

Property: Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Address: Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp is a new concept in the world famous Masai Mara Game reserve.Booking can either be on bed only or on full board basis. Guests on full board basis will have 3 meals per day prepared by the resident camp Chef.Guests on Bed only basis can bring their own food to be prepared by the resident chef at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Masai Mara Manyatta Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing