We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No electricity after 10.30 pm and dirty bathrooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Save
You added Masai Mara Manyatta Camp to your Saves list
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No electricity after 10.30 pm and dirty bathrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

İt s not worth for the prices. Breakfast very poor. No electricity between the hours 10.30 pm and 05.30 am. Bathrooms are so dirty in a tent. There is no enough staff. Leopar very rarely seemed in that area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012 for two nights and found the hotel bery nice and good value for the money. The food quality was good (particularly for vegetarians). The service was more than satisfactory. The power used to be put off between around 12.00 am and 5.00 pm was ok. however the fan was working during the night. They provided the torch for emergency. A very satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdehadraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This camp is VERY comfortable and on the edge of wild. You can hear the elephants walking and trumpeting nearby.

Each tent is protected beneath a thatched hut and in each tent there are 2 cots for your own comfort.

The restaurant/bar/gathering area is perfect for just that.

And the fire pit with warriors keeping watch is a great place to spend time while watching the moon rise over the silhouette of the nearby hills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

basic, but you will be out most of the time in a safari anyway (the park in just marvellous). The place is next to a Masai village if you want to get a taste of real life of this tribe.
Food was good, love the way they warm up the water for shower.Staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrebix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is cheap accommodation but represents excellent value for money. The eating area is spacious and food is plentiful. The bar is well stocked but a little rpicey. The lodges are clean and functional and the bathroom is basic but that all adds to the excitement of safari! Electricity comes on from 5pm onwards along with the hot water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stay here in September 2012 while on a Maasi Mara Safari. I was searching for basic accommodation, just a place to sleep and eat. That is exact what I found.

Rooms were tent cabins. Rooms were clean, just a double bed and a single bed, each with mosquito netting. No other furniture. Water from sink was almost non existent, but the showers were fine. Power came on at 5:30 am. We had electricity in the evening until 10 pm. No flashlights in the rooms, so bring your own.

Only about 6 guests here when I stayed.

Dining area was large and a good supply of drinks. However, it was not clean. During breakfast I noticed old food scraps on the table left over from the night before.

Food very, very basic, but edible. Only a couple of selections offered at each meal. Cabbage and potatoes served at every meal except breakfast. Beef at dinner very tough.

Staff was helpful. Breakfast was usually served at 7 AM, but since I planned an early safari, they served early at 5:45 AM

Location was great, only 5 minutes from the Maasi Mara Reserve Ololaimutia Gate. This area has much more wildlife then the area near Main Gate (Sekenani).

For a no frills stay, this place was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addicted2Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

2 of us stayed here 3 nights in August 2012 and it was a wonderful experience. The tent was clean and large enough for the 2 of us. There was electricity/ lights 6 – 7 a.m. and 7 – 10 p.m. I had hot water for each shower but my son never did. It’s not dependable, but we didn’t expect it nor did we care.

The food was good. 1 of us is a vegetarian and the other a big meat eater. We both ate well.

The Maasai men guarding the camp are very nice and interesting to talk with.

This is an excellent value and fun.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maasai Mara National Reserve
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#86 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#109 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#93 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masai Mara Manyatta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

Property: Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Address: Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing