We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel for the Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for the Safari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012 for two nights and found the hotel bery nice and good value for the money. The food quality was good (particularly for vegetarians). The service was more than satisfactory. The power used to be put off between around 12.00 am and 5.00 pm was ok. however the fan was working during the night. They provided the torch for emergency. A very satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdehadraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This camp is VERY comfortable and on the edge of wild. You can hear the elephants walking and trumpeting nearby.

Each tent is protected beneath a thatched hut and in each tent there are 2 cots for your own comfort.

The restaurant/bar/gathering area is perfect for just that.

And the fire pit with warriors keeping watch is a great place to spend time while watching the moon rise over the silhouette of the nearby hills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

basic, but you will be out most of the time in a safari anyway (the park in just marvellous). The place is next to a Masai village if you want to get a taste of real life of this tribe.
Food was good, love the way they warm up the water for shower.Staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrebix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is cheap accommodation but represents excellent value for money. The eating area is spacious and food is plentiful. The bar is well stocked but a little rpicey. The lodges are clean and functional and the bathroom is basic but that all adds to the excitement of safari! Electricity comes on from 5pm onwards along with the hot water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stay here in September 2012 while on a Maasi Mara Safari. I was searching for basic accommodation, just a place to sleep and eat. That is exact what I found.

Rooms were tent cabins. Rooms were clean, just a double bed and a single bed, each with mosquito netting. No other furniture. Water from sink was almost non existent, but the showers were fine. Power came on at 5:30 am. We had electricity in the evening until 10 pm. No flashlights in the rooms, so bring your own.

Only about 6 guests here when I stayed.

Dining area was large and a good supply of drinks. However, it was not clean. During breakfast I noticed old food scraps on the table left over from the night before.

Food very, very basic, but edible. Only a couple of selections offered at each meal. Cabbage and potatoes served at every meal except breakfast. Beef at dinner very tough.

Staff was helpful. Breakfast was usually served at 7 AM, but since I planned an early safari, they served early at 5:45 AM

Location was great, only 5 minutes from the Maasi Mara Reserve Ololaimutia Gate. This area has much more wildlife then the area near Main Gate (Sekenani).

For a no frills stay, this place was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addicted2Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

2 of us stayed here 3 nights in August 2012 and it was a wonderful experience. The tent was clean and large enough for the 2 of us. There was electricity/ lights 6 – 7 a.m. and 7 – 10 p.m. I had hot water for each shower but my son never did. It’s not dependable, but we didn’t expect it nor did we care.

The food was good. 1 of us is a vegetarian and the other a big meat eater. We both ate well.

The Maasai men guarding the camp are very nice and interesting to talk with.

This is an excellent value and fun.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

very basic bungalows, trist location, no infrastructure, main building consist of one open area, food very basic as well (though good).
highlight: lions at night roaring directly behind our bungalow (had hunted a gnu)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinfromMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oltome Resorts
Oltome Resorts
#74 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#61 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#75 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#90 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masai Mara Manyatta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Mara Manyatta Camp

Property: Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Address: Ololamutiek Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp is a new concept in the world famous Masai Mara Game reserve.Booking can either be on bed only or on full board basis. Guests on full board basis will have 3 meals per day prepared by the resident camp Chef.Guests on Bed only basis can bring their own food to be prepared by the resident chef at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Masai Mara Manyatta Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing