We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camp in Masai Mara!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great camp in Masai Mara!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked through Terminal Tours Kenya and was brought here for my stay of 2 nights while visiting the Masai Mara. I was very pleased with the service and VERY pleased with the accommodation! There are self sustaining washrooms inside the tents and hot water! There are a times at night and in the morning when you can charge your electronics. Overall my stay there was very pleasant and I would suggest this location to others in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    19
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
25
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hello,
Enchoro campsite is the best budget campsite we have in Masai mara,have been using the campsite for more than 2 years.there staffs are friendly and there rooms are very clean compared with the other budget campsite.i would recommend you to visit Enchoro campsite,ohhh and there food is very delicious.what matters a lot is your security and there service

Room Tip: Enchoro campsite have many rooms to choose.but if you booked with the tour agent,they will make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odera431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Enchoro. The owner, Albert Ouko, offered outstanding service when my passport was collected at airport and not returned and my luggage did not show up . He personally collected both and had it delivered to the Masai Mara, a full 12/13 hour return trip from Nairobi. I was fully informed about progress even being that far out of the city. At his camp, the staff was very friendly and anxious to please, food was good, and facilities were exactly what we were prepared for. The tents were large and beds comfortable. They had a concrete pad and cheery striped oil cloth flooring. Each tent had a camp style washroom and shower with hot water. Much better than what we saw in other camps! The staff made our stay pleasant and enjoyable. I plan on returning with my nephew!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredericton_NBBethH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here for the Maasai mara but there is nothing plus to talk about. I know for sure that there are better camps than this at cheaper prices. Please ask your travel safari operator about it.

The camp is very cramped and the loo is very cramped. I understand its a camp but I got photos from other camps as well which were probably better

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Enchoro Wildlife Camp is located next to Masai Mara's Ololaimutia gate. It has clean and spacious military tents. Bathroom and toilet are practically not separated from the bedroom. Power is on from 5:30 a.m to 7 a.m. and from 6:30 p.m. to 10 p.m. and then is your only chance to charge your camera's batteries or phones. I will suggest to provide their guests with at least a torch per tent cause ofter 10 p.m. is really hard to find your way to your bed. The staff was helpful and after sunset they gather at the bonfire where you can hear some interesting stories.
A disadvantage is the food which they offer. When you are in Masai Mara you expect to eat local food. Unfortunately they serve mainly European and American food like pasta, french fries, burgers, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comoros islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

nice, clean tented camp stay. good ambiance and friendly staff. the toilet and the bath is only demarcated within the tent at shoulder height, but would be better if the toilet is fully enclosed. bath towels need to be replaced; looks worn out and used.
power is on from 6.30 pm till 10 pm; which is fine but it was difficult to prepare in the dark at 3.30 am for the balloon safari. they need to work on that.
forget the Masai village visit if you are health / cleanliness conscious. you are escorted by the hotel staff, who supposedly belong to the village and they fleece you if you are not alert, with fancy rates for lion tooth, lion claw nail, etc etc.and the whole village is knee deep in cow and sheep dung.

Room Tip: all the tents have the same nice ambiance of staying in a forest environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhagyanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

this Camp locate near the Ololaimutia gate has good tents that spacious. The good part is we had hot showers anytime of the day.The staffs were nice and kind.I noted one who is hard working and always alert in case you need some assistance.His name is Muhoro.
The management should switch to the use of Solar to heat the water rather than the logs of woods,to make it Eco friendly.

Room Tip: One that is called Aberdares
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migrationsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
102.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
104 reviews
111.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
101.1 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#85 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.9 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#58 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rhino Masai Mara Safaris
Rhino Masai Mara Safaris
#105 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1 reviews
108.6 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#87 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enchoro Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Property: Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Address: Nyerere Road Nairobi | Opposite Central Park, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Enchoro Wildlife Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best budget accommodation value for your stay in a tent at the Masai Mara under Canvas in the African Sky. Enchoro Wildlife Camp in Masai Mara gives you the real comforts of camping experience just like a home. It has 25 large permanent tented camps that are well furnished with facilities like writing table, foldable safari chairs, lockers, magazines all ensuite with flash toilets and running hot and cold water all day. Rooms are single, double / twin, triple and a four beds tent that offer camping with a bit more comfort. They are ideal for those who enjoy the camping experience but don't have the time or energy to set up and pull down a traditional tent. Enchoro Wildlife Camp accommodation is offered in a semi luxury large spacious tent, all en suite bathrooms with hot and cold shower, flash toilet, changing room and lockers for valuables. A writing desk with foldable safari chairs and magazines to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Enchoro Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing