We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed as part of a group tour so didn't choose this one myself. It was very basic. Tents didnt zip up (advisable if you are on safari), some of the group didn't have mosquito blankets provided, the toilet and shower were in the tent, electricity was only on for an hour or so morning and evening (suppose you have to accept that though considering where you are), the food was awful and several members of the group were sick, they didn't cater for vegetarians so people went hungry. The staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful. Only warm beer so take your own if you fancy a tipple. DIY Camping would have been more luxurious; I wouldn't recommend this camp at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    19
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
25
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Tents were clean and very basic; none of the window flaps in tents zipped up, netting on bed too small . Pathways were not lit up, and no flashlights provided, no electrical outlets available in tent. No choice in food selection and often served cold, poor service. Camp is beside a Masai village and run by Masai people. Find another camp if you can.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vind63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels

Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a three night stay at Enchoro Wildlife Camp in July, 2011. We booked the safari through www.africahomeadventure.com and were very pleased with everything! The tents are clean, comfortable and have large wonderful hot showers and a working toilet and sink inside. I found the beds in the tent comfortable. The food was delicious! There is a Masai village you can tour just a short walk away. I really recommend this safari camp to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JARMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We, together with a considerable number of other tourists had a 'battle' with the management over bedding. My bedding hadn't been changed on arrival and we were unable to get extra bedding for my daughter or a pillow on the first night at the camp.,. We soon realised we were not alone with this problem as we heard several other complaints. The camp is basically far too crowded and cannot cope with the capacity of visitors. The food was good but the dining faciilities very cramped. Also the camp is a long way from many of the Mara sights, especially for the wildebeast river crossing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryncel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Worn tents with malfunctioning zippers. Dirty, dark and very primitive ensuite bathroom. Managed to get a towel (wet one) only after repeated requests. Unapealing grounds. Rude and unfriendly service.
The only +not far from the reserve gate. We had a misfortune to be put here instead of Mara Leisure camp by Bonobo Africa Tours (director James Nyatangi). A tour company to avoid at all costs.
It can be an acceptable overnight if you pay a budget price. Luxury is definetely not the word to describe this camp.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlLUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Liked this place!
Nice tent, warm water, nice environment, great base for a safari tour!

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank diannedendrijver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Really good budget camping. My boyfriend and me we spent 3 nights at the Enchoro Wildlife Camp in August 2009. The camp was opened since few months so they still had some problems. They were in overbooking, some time water was missing but in over all we liked it a lot and enjoyed it. The position is really convenient as it is located just outside the Masai Mara Reserve. Is it very sure and safe as it is plenty of Masai people working there and guarding the camp 24 hours per day. There is the generator as to be able to charge your camera and mobile phone. People are really friendly and trying to help you. There are normal tents and other bigger tents with inside both bathroom and shower. One night we wanted to take a shower but it was broken, the Camp's Manager offered us to use the shower inside his own tent. The food was great and always copious. At nights the guest and the Masai were used to seat and chat in front of the fire. A great experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marti2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
102.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
104 reviews
111.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
101.1 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#85 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rhino Masai Mara Safaris
Rhino Masai Mara Safaris
#105 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1 reviews
76.9 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#58 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
168 reviews
108.6 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#87 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enchoro Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchoro Wildlife Camp

Property: Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Address: Nyerere Road Nairobi | Opposite Central Park, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Enchoro Wildlife Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best budget accommodation value for your stay in a tent at the Masai Mara under Canvas in the African Sky. Enchoro Wildlife Camp in Masai Mara gives you the real comforts of camping experience just like a home. It has 25 large permanent tented camps that are well furnished with facilities like writing table, foldable safari chairs, lockers, magazines all ensuite with flash toilets and running hot and cold water all day. Rooms are single, double / twin, triple and a four beds tent that offer camping with a bit more comfort. They are ideal for those who enjoy the camping experience but don't have the time or energy to set up and pull down a traditional tent. Enchoro Wildlife Camp accommodation is offered in a semi luxury large spacious tent, all en suite bathrooms with hot and cold shower, flash toilet, changing room and lockers for valuables. A writing desk with foldable safari chairs and magazines to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Enchoro Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Enchoro Wildlife Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing