We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Sala's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sala's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I were in Salas camp for 4 nights and experienced excellent staff and manager care. Salas was part 3 of a 4 part safari. A special call out to Debbie for asking the right questions and managing expectations thropughout our stay to ensure we had a great experience. She was omnipresent with client service regardless of a 430am departure or a 11:30pm star count. Anthony too was exceptional for his attentiveness and welcoming attitude. Our spotter was very good too, i only wish i could spell his name to give him a call out too. The food was a suprisingly good for the bush and now I know why they call it Glamping. Laundry service was swift and well done. We will return.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kip a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had 2 nights at Sala's and it was fantastic in all ways. The service, food and attentiveness to us was outstanding. We were in the big family tent and the amnetites, cleanliness and facilities were fantastic, not to mention the view over the river to a sunset.
The safari leaders, particularly David, were outstanding and we saw it all. The nice new open Land Cruiser was easily the best we saw in the park. David spotted everything before we could even see it with the binos and took us to see not only all the animals close up (leopards!) but a cheetah hunt. Highly recommend breakfast out. Even on the way back to the airport we saw a family of elephants bathing in the mud. Don't take the cheap places outside the camp as the facilities are terrible and the drivers know nothing. Pay the money for the once in a lifetime experience and see it all with a luruious setting to return to each day.

Room Tip: Take the family room if you can at the quiet end of the camp and the huge space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warsaw_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were recently in Sala's camp and although camp manager was very nice we were disappointed overall . Very disorganised and service was poor. Tents were not what we expected as they had no permanent floors and basic facilities. Had a good guide (Moses) .

Room Tip: Try and get the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniels-jan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We holidayed at Sala's camp to celebrate 3 milestone anniversaries - my wife's 70th, my 80th and our Golden Wedding. Sala's Camp was part 2 of our Great African Adventure (parts 1 and 3 being Solio Lodge and Baraza Resort, Zanzibar). We travelled with our family - son, daughter-in-law, 2 grandsons (16 &13), granddaughter (15) and daugther. We had the most amazing time at Sala's Camp. All the faciliites were superb, the game drives were amazing - we saw everything we hoped for and more besides. The guides and spotters, Alex and Samuel and David and Edward were simply wonderful. Thanks, too, to Debbie, Andrew, Tony and Savanna and all the Camp's staff for their 5* hospitality - truly the holiday of a lifetime. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE. If you are thinking of going to Sala's, all we can say is BOOK IT NOW!

Room Tip: they are all brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyDavid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here for a few days, and it was by far the best camp with the best staff and accommodations. Clean, professional, friendly, hospitable. Home away from home. I have been to the Masai Mara on two separate occasions now, staying at a total of 5 camps. This was the BEST. Perhaps the camps best asset is Debbie!!! She is absolutely wonderful, welcoming, hospitable, and genuinely works to make your holiday your perfect holiday. She is truly lovely and the camp is beyond lucky to have such a great face to greet guests. She made the trip!!! Wonderful with people and guests, accommodating. I feel like I have known her my whole life, and so felt at ease and at home at Sala's.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We holidayed at Sala's camp and Solio Lodge and had a fantastic time at both. We were a party of eight with ages ranging from 13 to 79. The facilities and set up at Sala's Camp catered for the whole age range and all had a fantastic time. The game drives were amazing and the hospitality fantastic. A truly amazing experience - the full Hemingway experience under (very luxurious) canvass! We will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Kenya organized by Specialized Safaris, who is owned by Tanya and Mikey Carr-Hartley,also owners of Salas Camp in the Masai Mara.
This was a famiy trip for four of us, including our two children aged 13 and 21. We had a wonderful time at Salas, happily coinciding with the wildebeest migration. Having been to Africa before-my wife actually lived in Kenya until she was fourteen-we are used to some trips being a bit on the unpredictable side. None of this for Salas Camp-the place is impeccable. The tent rooms are wonderful, with in-room toilets and showers, and great details such as a warm water bottle in bed at night. The staff, led by Debbie, the camp manager, is courteous and efficient, and follow the standard of excellence set by the Carr-Hartleys. The food is great, the drinks plentiful, and best of all the camp location is unparalleled-on the side of the Sand River, from where we would see wildlife crossing it, including wildebeest and elephant. The game drives are led by knowledgeable guides who seek to provide all wants and needs of the clients. We were driven around by Moses and David, two Masais, who did a great job.
Although the Mara is crowded in certain areas, Salas is set up far from the busy roads and provides intimate trips to the bush for game drives. We saw all sorts of animals, and whatever we did not see was certainly not for lack of trying from the guides' part.
In short, if you are planning a trip to Kenya, the best option is Specialized Safaris, and if that trip includes the Masai Mara then look no further than Salas Camp, you will not be dissappointed. The Carr-Hartleys own other properties in other areas of Kenya, and we are looking forward to returning to visit them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60763Eduardo_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,097 reviews
21.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
969 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 mi away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#28 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
244 reviews
10.9 mi away
Enkewa Camp
Enkewa Camp
#1 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
372 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#45 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala's Camp

Address: Sand River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $490 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sala's Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the less known southern area of the renowned Masai Mara, Sala’s Camp rests on the banks of the Sand and Keekorok rivers looking into Tanzania’s Serengeti on the opposite side. Sala’s Camp is nestled amongst an indigenous forest with views into the Northern Corridor, which is the route taken by the million wildebeest whose famous migration takes place annually. This makes Sala’s Camp the perfect spot to watch the Great Migration unfold. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sala`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sala's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing