We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maji Moto - I want to live there”
Review of Maji Moto Eco Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Maji Moto was the best thing during our whole trip, I stayed only 2 days,
if I can I will stay forever in Maji Moto. Massai are so nice people so friendly.
The whole area around the camp was wonderful, the food is excellent,
the Massai have really worked hard to make us feel at home.
Best of all is the hot spring.I hope to come again soon in Maji Moto,
and I'll stay a little longer.

I recommend Maji Moto everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marin-Zovko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanB, Director of Sales at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

I like the title of your review :) I hope i can live there one day myself as well! Thank you for staying with us. YOU are allways velcome back. Maji Moto Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 184 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Maji Moto was the best thing during our whole trip (well, safaris were also awesome! :) We spent 5 nights here. Camp has everything you need, it's clean, there is hot water, comfy beds in the tents, the food is delicious and there are no mosquitos!!! The staff is wonderful, friendly, the Masai are the best people we've met. We truly felt at home. Walks were sometimes a lot to handle, but we loved every minute we spent around the camp, in the camp and with the Masai people.
Sankale and the rest of the guys - asante sana for everything, we'll never forget you!
Huge thanks to Eyes on Africa team also for making a perfect trip for us! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrosAnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This lovely camp overlooking the Loita plains is a truly great place to meet some wonderful local people, soak up the local culture and explore Kenya's wilds on foot.

The camp itself has a perfect balance of comfort with eco sustainability. The tents are very roomy and the mattresses some of the comfiest we stayed on throughout our trip. They are nicely spaced apart so you get plenty of privacy.
The masai who run the camp are really friendly and will do everything they can to try and make your trip as enjoyable as possible. Naturally being british we brought the rain with us initially, but they laid on a brazier to keep us warm and produced an umbrella from somewhere to get between the dining area and our tent!
The food produced by Nicola our chef was really good with a nice mix of western and a few local items - plenty to keep you going with tea,coffee and hot chocolate available all day long (particularly nice in the evenings if it gets a bit cold)

The activities including walking safaris, a small mountain climb, warrior training and masai dance (unfortunately it was school holidays so we didn't get to visit a school - best to check this before you go if it is a priority for you). The safari and climb were hot but very enjoyable and we got to see some wildlife up close not to mention some stunning views over the plains while learning about all the local fauna and flora. We rounded the trip off with a nightime dip in the local hot spring which was delightful and a great way to relax after a hard days walking in the sun.

In particular we would like to highlight how great Kisea, our guide throughout our visit, was. He really took care of us, spoke perfect English (he even set us riddles on our final evening) and is simply great fun - lots of laughs. He taught us the ins and outs of Masai culture, including a bit of the language, and made us feel very at home. His knowledge of international politics was also most impressive!

We can't recommend camp Maji Moto enough if you are looking to do something a bit different during your visit in Kenya.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If children are traveling with you do not miss a wonderful experience in Maji Moto Camp!!
Masai take them under his wing and make the children want to stay with them forever! Walking safari, visit to a local school, making bows and arrows, dance with Masai, warrior training......done a lot for the spirit of my children and our life experience.The Camp is ideal for enjoying the nature and I really mean it. And after 16 days traveling trough Kenya, visiting all wild parks, Maji Moto is in our hearts and minds on the special place....

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Zrinka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We really LOVED Majo Moto. It is a campsite with pre-pitched tents, beautifully arranged, with fantastic views over the Loita plains. The site has been decorated so tastefully, and everything is in such good repair and beautifully clean. It is community run - so you know your weekend away is helping someone else have a good weekend too!

The staff were lovely and understood the balance between having a good chat (and we learnt lots of interesting things about the masaai culture) and then letting us have our dinner in peace.

If you are coming in the afternoon from Nairobi heading for the Mara this is the perfect stop off. Its about 40minutes from Narok (and I haven't found anywhere nice to stay in Narok so far). There is still another 1 hour 40mins of rough road to go between Majo Moto and the Mara gate, so you can stopp off, get a fabulous night's sleep, have breakfast with a view and then get back on the road. But it is better than a stop off - they do guided walks for example - we'll be going there for future walking weekends, I'm sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronica087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Eco Camp is actually quite simple but thanks to its details so charming. The tents are surprisingly large. 3 persons would easily fit and it's no problem at all to stand up straight in the tents. The mattresses are even more comfy than my own one at home... The view from the camp is simply stunning and definitely among my personal Top Three (I've already been to more than 20 countries). However, the best feature is the Maasai staff. I've never even once felt like having stumbled into a performance. The Maasai took really good care of us and were never shy to tell us about their way of living. I seldom return to any place twice but this might just be one of these places that take root into my heart and draw me back every so often.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aurinko_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have stayed at Maji Moto twice now and both times it has been a superb experience. The camp itself is placed on a serene escarpment full of wildlife. The all-Masaai staff are incredibly friendly and knowlegeable about the land--they lead guided walks and will teach you about Kenya's indegenous pharmacopeia. We have two teen age boys and they were thrilled to be in this huge outdoor arena--from the early morning tea/coffee chats on the rocks (with a friendly rock hyrax visiting each day) to the late evenings around the campfire and under the stars. The accomodation is perfect: comfortable proper bedding inside tents, lovely outdoor showers (with hot water on request!) and simple, rustic meals. I would call this boutique camping at its best! Perfectly-family friendly and also a romantic get-away for a couple. We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
26.6 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
26.6 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#68 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
192 reviews
25.2 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#14 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.9 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#63 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
51 reviews
35.4 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#73 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
37.3 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#57 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maji Moto Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maji Moto Eco Camp

Address: Maji Moto, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $116 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maji Moto Eco Camp blends beautifully with the natural environment. All the facilities are built in a local Masai style with natural materials. There is no generator in the camp. We kept the thinks simple and traditional, with candles, lanterns and camp fire in the evening. Fresh food supplies are broth from Narok town with every arrival including fresh locally grown vegetables and fruits. All meals are prepared simply but delicious by a camp cook, blending traditional Kenyan and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maji Moto Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maji Moto Eco Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing