We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
103
31
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
31
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstream runningtasty drinksmaasai maraprivate tentbush dinnercomfortable tentspleasure of stayingturned downhot waterdining hallsmall riverthree nightsmorning and eveninglocal maasailions roaringgame drivesmain tent
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 147 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2011

When our tours agent recommended this camp to us we were first skeptical considering the lodges and camps that we are used to staying at the Mara. We have been using this agent for sometime now and he has always been given us the best service. So we decided to give a chance. We arrived in Nairobi in the morning and the next day we set out for the mara. We decided to fly. Also another recommendation from this agent again. We have always been using the road. I know why he recommended that to us now. Anyway the camp is simple. Elegantly furnished. The best part is that it has been raised on platforms and you can really relax and just see the day pass by. Game drives were also lovely. We had paid everything from this side so we just went. I thank our agent in Kenya for a good service organised by him. If you want the name of the agent feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrymikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband & I spent a couple of days at Sekenani Camp as part of our hectic family visit to Kenya at Christmas time.
Even before we arrived, the Nairobi Head Office staff had been very informative and interactive both online and by phone so we felt confident we'd be looked after very well. This was matched by the ground staff who met us off the plane at Mara and the staff at the camp who looked after us so well.
The camp was beautifully landscaped; our tent which had wooden floor boards, ceramic bath, electricity and hot water was kept clean at all times; the food was delicious and cooked for the international guest while maintaining local traditional recipes where possible; we had the best G&T appertifs by the camp fire and always felt safe and secure with the Maasai guards keeping an eye on the camp overnight.
We'd like to say a special Thanks to Adan, our safari guide who met us at the airstrip and on our first 2hrs showed us 3 of The Big Five plus my personal favourite the gorgeously elegant Giraffes. By the end of our 2 day stay, we'd seen a male leopard frolicking with a female; a lioness cub calling out her cubs who came running out of their den to meet their Mum; a pack of lions enjoying a tasty wilderbeest; a cheetah with her 6, yes, SIX cubs all growing beautifully and healthily. And lets not forget the elephants, zebras, buffalos, birds... We were incredibly impressed with Adan's friendliness and knowledge. He was always in control of the situations we found ourselves in.

We've already started to plan our return to Sekenani for a longer stay. We would highly recommend Sekenani Camp to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneAkinyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have visited many camps and hotels in the Mara. Sekenani is my favorite. The peaceful setting, intimate atmosphere, attention to guests, excellent food and beautiful private tents nestled above the springs and forest, all add to its charm. Nick Wood and staff make every guest feel as if they are part of the family and pay attention to the smallest details to ensure a perfect stay. I was very impressed with the concern and care Sekenani shows for the environment and their relationship with local communities. The birding and wildlife viewing in camp and nearby are exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainetSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We heard about the Sekenani Camp from a friend who had been there. We contacted their office at {--} . From the first contact until our departure, Bettina and Tonny were fantastic. They answered all of our questions and arranged everything. All we had to do was get to Nairobi, Kenya.

From the moment you arrive in the Masai Mara until the time you depart, Sekenani camp offers you the experience of a lifetime. The staff caters to each guest and takes pride in the service they provide. The accommodations are clean, cosy and comfortable. We’ve never slept better! The view from each tent is spectacular. The food is good and well presented. Your itinerary during your stay can be as individual as your heart desires.

The game drive guides are experienced and professional. Our guide, Adan, was a wealth of knowledge. Not only did we see a wide variety of animals, he also gave us information regarding their habits and habitat. Each day’s drive in the Masai Mara was spectacular. We were two persons, with our guide, in a Land Cruiser, driving through the most awe inspiring National Reserve. The Sekenani camp experience exceeded our expectations.

Sam & Rose

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Sekenani is a great camp just outside the reserve secluded in a beautiful wooded area with a stream running underneath (literally...a walking bridge extends over the stream to your tent). The tents are very well-appointed and comfortable, the food is great featuring fresh produce from their own garden, and the staff purposely creates a homey, but classy atmosphere for their guests. The owner, Nick and manager, Kapur, get to know everyone personally in this "boutique" camp of only 12-15 tents. The accomodations and food alone would have us come back, but the clincher was the tremendous guide we had for our 4-day visit. Adan Hassan kept our entire family (including 4 teenagers) highly involved and looking forward to the next drive into the Mara. Ask for him if you get a chance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews