We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, cahrming with atttentative and very knowledgeable staff”
Review of Sekenani Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sekenani Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband & I spent a couple of days at Sekenani Camp as part of our hectic family visit to Kenya at Christmas time.
Even before we arrived, the Nairobi Head Office staff had been very informative and interactive both online and by phone so we felt confident we'd be looked after very well. This was matched by the ground staff who met us off the plane at Mara and the staff at the camp who looked after us so well.
The camp was beautifully landscaped; our tent which had wooden floor boards, ceramic bath, electricity and hot water was kept clean at all times; the food was delicious and cooked for the international guest while maintaining local traditional recipes where possible; we had the best G&T appertifs by the camp fire and always felt safe and secure with the Maasai guards keeping an eye on the camp overnight.
We'd like to say a special Thanks to Adan, our safari guide who met us at the airstrip and on our first 2hrs showed us 3 of The Big Five plus my personal favourite the gorgeously elegant Giraffes. By the end of our 2 day stay, we'd seen a male leopard frolicking with a female; a lioness cub calling out her cubs who came running out of their den to meet their Mum; a pack of lions enjoying a tasty wilderbeest; a cheetah with her 6, yes, SIX cubs all growing beautifully and healthily. And lets not forget the elephants, zebras, buffalos, birds... We were incredibly impressed with Adan's friendliness and knowledge. He was always in control of the situations we found ourselves in.

We've already started to plan our return to Sekenani for a longer stay. We would highly recommend Sekenani Camp to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneAkinyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 129 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have visited many camps and hotels in the Mara. Sekenani is my favorite. The peaceful setting, intimate atmosphere, attention to guests, excellent food and beautiful private tents nestled above the springs and forest, all add to its charm. Nick Wood and staff make every guest feel as if they are part of the family and pay attention to the smallest details to ensure a perfect stay. I was very impressed with the concern and care Sekenani shows for the environment and their relationship with local communities. The birding and wildlife viewing in camp and nearby are exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainetSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We heard about the Sekenani Camp from a friend who had been there. We contacted their office at {--} . From the first contact until our departure, Bettina and Tonny were fantastic. They answered all of our questions and arranged everything. All we had to do was get to Nairobi, Kenya.

From the moment you arrive in the Masai Mara until the time you depart, Sekenani camp offers you the experience of a lifetime. The staff caters to each guest and takes pride in the service they provide. The accommodations are clean, cosy and comfortable. We’ve never slept better! The view from each tent is spectacular. The food is good and well presented. Your itinerary during your stay can be as individual as your heart desires.

The game drive guides are experienced and professional. Our guide, Adan, was a wealth of knowledge. Not only did we see a wide variety of animals, he also gave us information regarding their habits and habitat. Each day’s drive in the Masai Mara was spectacular. We were two persons, with our guide, in a Land Cruiser, driving through the most awe inspiring National Reserve. The Sekenani camp experience exceeded our expectations.

Sam & Rose

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Sekenani is a great camp just outside the reserve secluded in a beautiful wooded area with a stream running underneath (literally...a walking bridge extends over the stream to your tent). The tents are very well-appointed and comfortable, the food is great featuring fresh produce from their own garden, and the staff purposely creates a homey, but classy atmosphere for their guests. The owner, Nick and manager, Kapur, get to know everyone personally in this "boutique" camp of only 12-15 tents. The accomodations and food alone would have us come back, but the clincher was the tremendous guide we had for our 4-day visit. Adan Hassan kept our entire family (including 4 teenagers) highly involved and looking forward to the next drive into the Mara. Ask for him if you get a chance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I would highly recommend Sekenani camp as a really wonderful place to stay in the Masai Mara. It is small enough to be quiet and intimate; the staff are friendly and extremely knowledgeable. This was my third visit, they now have a pool, and an innovative re-cycling system which must make it one of the ‘greenest’ camps in the Mara. Just go, you will love it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This small camp is very personal, with fantastic food, guides that know english enough to make jokes. Absolutely the best experience of my life!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_East_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Althought it is a little further from the Mara, it is well worth the extra ten minutes of travel into the park for game drives. The staff is superbly attentive and welcoming. The driver/guide that I had, Isaac, is extremely knowledgable of the flora and fauna, their habits and locations. He was wonderful company and and genuinely excited to show me all the Mara had to offer. The tents are also wonderful, clean, great views and well maintained. Raphael took great care of me and even brought me a hot water bottle each night. It was the highlight of my three week trip!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdleclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
204 reviews
0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,097 reviews
0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
0 mi away
Enkewa Camp
Enkewa Camp
#1 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
372 reviews
0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sekenani Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sekenani Camp

Address: 6 km from the Sekenanai gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $241 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sekenani Camp offers an authentic bush experience for visitors wishing to get close to nature. Set at the source of Sekenani River, The camp offers a serene environment in which to relax, unwind and enjoy all the Mara has to offer. It comprises fifteen exceptionally well-designed tents set well apart for ensure maximum privacy. Each tent has a wooden floor and en-suite bathroom complete with full-length bathtub. The camp is accessible in five hours by road or a 45minute flight from Nairobi. Custom safari Vehicles are available by reservation. In addition to game drives in the reserve, guest may walk along the river or over the hills behind the camp escorted by Masai guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sekenani Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sekenani Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sekenani Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing