We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sekenani Camp
Nearby Hotels
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,370
$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mara Serena Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$559
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$975
$924
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Entumoto Safari Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$431
$381
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$277
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
99
27
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
27
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstream runningtasty drinkssuspension bridgesmall streamfelt homemasai maraprivate tentbush dinnerpleasure of stayingturned downhot watergame drivesdining tentcape buffaloour tour guidesafari tripmorning and evening
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 139 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

For purposes of rating i clicked May 2012 but travelled May 2009. Nick (Owner) made the trip memorable all the way from Nairobi to the Mara and back. Great holiday with random, interesting strangers. the Bush Breakfast was simply well set, delicious as a pack of Buffaloes watched closely by.

the chef can spin a mean chocolate mousse:-).. The tents are private with a balcony set up in a way that you really do not need to go to the main lounge unless for meals.
The bush fires were warm cozy with the camp staff telling tales of great maasai escapades.

I have to mention though, the pool, extremely cold hahahhahah. but that was a while back.

Kapur's famous vegetable garden.... came out with lovely well rounded tomatoes!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Living in Kenya has given us the opportunity to enjoy many camps around the country. But Sekenani, a quiet paradise.in the Masai Mara, is special. Wildlife is abundant in the area, the raised sleeping places are lovely and comfortable. The food is great. A suggestion: Ask manager Kapur to show you his vegetable garden. Not only impressive what can be grown in the Maasai Mara but you will see love in his eyes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlonaKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff under Kapur were charming and helpful. The situation set amongst magnificent trees and on two perenial streams was delightful. The tents were comfortable and well sited. We saw more animals in one day than we have seen in many other game reserves. Our guide, Francis, was very knowledgeable on birds, animals, fauna and flora. We had wonderful personal service including a Masai escourt from tent to dining room across the suspension bridge..
John and Veda Carver
Cape Town

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The manager Kapur was very welcoming. The food was excellent and the menu
very accomodating (they made us exactly what we wanted on a very short notice).
All the meals however were all exquisite especially as the vegetables were homegrown (and I mean on site with amazing taste). Tents were very clean and well maintained.
Absolutely nothing we didnt like. The Mara at its best.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salome k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in 8 different lodges through Tanzania and Kenya and this was our favorite by far. Everywhere we stayed was lovely and all the staff were friendly and helpful but Sekenani camp was a level above the rest.
The location is lovely, tucked on the far edge of the Masai Mara in a lush wooded valley. With only 14 tents everyone has privacy and space to enjoy the surrounding. The accommodation is spacious, clean and comfortable and although this was not the most luxurious place we stayed, it had a charm which existed nowhere else.
For us though, the staff we the best we have experienced anywhere in the world and we left feeling that we had been welcomed into a family and had made genuine friends. James and Sophia in the restaurant were attentive and caring, Joseph, the barman anticipated our needs with his gentle ways. Doris on reception was always 'smiley' and 'bubbly' and even David and Tyson who escorted us to and from Dinner each evening always took the time to chat and show us things of interest on the way.
While we were there we celebrated my husband's 60th birthday and all the staff made it a magical day that neither of us will forget for which I am truly grateful.
I am certain this wonderful service is due to the visionary Manager, Kapur. We were fortunate enough to enjoy several fascinating chats with Kapur about his philosophies on sustainable tourism and minimal environmental impact. Philosophies he has embraced at the camp to enable it to be self-sufficient in both food and energy. His nurturing of the environment and his staff has resulted in a little slice of paradise in the Mara.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clareannjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews