We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved this camp and meeting Nick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sekenani Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sekenani Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, Calif
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved this camp and meeting Nick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I were lucky our agent George, with Let's Go Travel in Nairobi, arranged for us to spend a few nights here in late February 2012. We have stayed at many tent camps during our four African trips and this is right up there with the best. It is a long travel from most everywhere and you do have to climb a few stairs from your vehicle up to the camp but when you reach the top you find a wonderful dining tent with indoor and outdoor seating. The bar is well stocked and they even have Amarula from South Africa, which is not easy to find. The staff is wonderful and the suspension bridge between the dining tent, the small curio shop and the sleeping tents is cute. The tents are hidden under and around some great trees and they are built about 4ft off the ground on steel poles with a solid foundation, what I call an elevated tent camp. It is not a mobile camp so everything is fixed in place. The food was wonderful, the service great, and we were lucky the camp General Manager, Nick Wood, was there when we were so enjoyed having drinks and dinner with him. He is a great host and it was very interesting to find out about the 2nd project he is working on outside Nairobi, setting up a manufacturing plant to make "Kili Creme", a great drink that may rival Amarula some day. The wildlife abounds around the camp and you can find almost everything you want to see. For the 1st time in four trips to Africa I finally got a pix of a lioness taking a bath about 30 min from this camp. If you want a real Africa experience, vs a luxury lodge, this is your place.

Room Tip: The staff here will go out of their way to assist you in every way. They also sell some real homema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Four of us had a very unique and memorable experience at the beautiful Sekenani Camp. Lucho Ilkapur ("Kapur") the manager was welcoming and hospitable. Alex gave us personalized service and responded to our every whim. The food was FABULOUS and he served our dinner on the veranda under a full moon with the electrifying night sounds of Africa. Thank you Kapur & Alex!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Debra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Sekenani Camp was part three of our stay in Kenya, when we visited the Maasai Mara. It was a long way to travel from Nairobi, but wow, was it worth it. What a stunning place. Everything about this place is amazing from their tented accommodation, the food, the service, the animals that visited and were able to feed, to their green, eco friendly policy throughout the camp, a refreshing change to see in Africa.
I wasn't very well when I arrived at Sekenani, but the staff couldn't do enough for me. Directed by manager Mr. Kapur, he has a real knowledge of how to look after you.
The food is amazing, prepared on site with vegetables from their garden and even more amazing when you hear the story of how their chef learnt everything he knows from a Jamie Oliver cookbook and the BBC's Good Food channel.
Also don't let the tents put you off, these are the most stunning tents you will ever stay in. They are in the trees with a beautiful comfy bed and bathroom.

You will see some great wildlife whilst you are there too, whether its the Genet Cat on your roof at night, the bats and birds that fly around the camp, the monkeys that come to visit throughout the day and investigate what you have that they can steal, to the beautiful black Bush Babies that visit whilst you are having dinner. A few days earlier before we arrived, a family of Elephants came out of the bush on to the lawn, how special would that have been to see. Their footprints where still there to see when we arrived.

This is truly a great place to stop whilst on the Massai Mara.

Room Tip: Lock your tent up, or the monkeys will be having a good look around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Sekanani is an amazing camp. The forest location is great - the view from the tent is great. They have great food as well. I love the hanging walkway to get from the main camp to the trents. The only downside to the camp is the location, which serves a lot of tourist traffic. It takes a while to get into and out of the park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We loved our stay at Sekanani, especially the layout of the tent that made you feel like you are amongst the trees, with a vista over the stream nearby. The service, meals and settting were also great, including the dinig area, campfire in teh open air, walkway and paths to the tents, and beign away form it all!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bswift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The manager of Sekenani was extremely warm and friendly which made everyone feel welcome. I felt a part of their family. The room was amazing, bubble bath during a huge rain storm, while sipping wine and watching the monkeys. The five star candle light dinner served by a gentlemen in a tuxedo was fabulous. The strange noise during the night ending up being a cape buffalo breathing hard and munching out. The nocturnal animals was an added treat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Sekanani Camp in Masai Mara and were extrememly pleased with everything the camp had to offer. The tents are very roomy and include all the comforts one could ask including limitless hot water showers! We felt like we had complete privacy in tent #9. Meals were excellent, staff was great. The camps and tent were kept very clean. We found the staff to be very friendly and willing to engage in conversation. I hope to get the opportunity to return to see my new friends at Sekanani Camp.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#73 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#19 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#29 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fig Tree Camp
Fig Tree Camp
#48 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sekenani Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sekenani Camp

Property: Sekenani Camp
Address: 6 km from the Sekenanai gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sekenani Camp offers an authentic bush experience for visitors wishing to get close to nature. Set at the source of Sekenani River, The camp offers a serene environment in which to relax, unwind and enjoy all the Mara has to offer. It comprises fifteen exceptionally well-designed tents set well apart for ensure maximum privacy. Each tent has a wooden floor and en-suite bathroom complete with full-length bathtub. The camp is accessible in five hours by road or a 45minute flight from Nairobi. Custom safari Vehicles are available by reservation. In addition to game drives in the reserve, guest may walk along the river or over the hills behind the camp escorted by Masai guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Sekenani Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sekenani Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sekenani Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing