We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$393
$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$325
$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$664
$485
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$798
$744
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,000
$867
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$389
$323
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$2,119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
101
29
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
29
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstream runningtasty drinksmaasai maraprivate tentbush dinnercomfortable tentspleasure of stayinghot waterturned downsmall riverthree nightsmorning and eveninglocal maasailions roaringgame drivesmain tentfire pit
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 143 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The manager of Sekenani was extremely warm and friendly which made everyone feel welcome. I felt a part of their family. The room was amazing, bubble bath during a huge rain storm, while sipping wine and watching the monkeys. The five star candle light dinner served by a gentlemen in a tuxedo was fabulous. The strange noise during the night ending up being a cape buffalo breathing hard and munching out. The nocturnal animals was an added treat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Sekanani Camp in Masai Mara and were extrememly pleased with everything the camp had to offer. The tents are very roomy and include all the comforts one could ask including limitless hot water showers! We felt like we had complete privacy in tent #9. Meals were excellent, staff was great. The camps and tent were kept very clean. We found the staff to be very friendly and willing to engage in conversation. I hope to get the opportunity to return to see my new friends at Sekanani Camp.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

There were so many things about Sekenani that we loved. It's a
beautiful camp, the tents are clean, comfortable, cozy. The recycling
program is impressive to say the least. The concept of the camp (with
the money going back to the local Maasai community in concrete ways)
is very well considered. And the food was very good. (I'm not a fan of
the buffets at most Safari camps -- I've been to Kenya many times and
have been to most of the parks.)

My low rating comes from the lack of security:

1. Maasai Mara is the most corrupt park in Kenya. The costs at the
gate are about twice that of other parks, and the costs mysteriously
jump by $10 or $20 if you have white skin. Others we met on safari had
the same problems we had had at the gate. (A Kenyan lawyer told us
that most of the money keeps a few people in Narok, the closest city, wealthy.)
If you CAN go to a different park, do so.

2. (And this is more specific to Sekenani.) We were robbed of $500 USD
in the camp and management response was abysmal. Someone with a key
entered our tent (perhaps working in tandem with the fellows at the
gate who saw our hidden pouch of cash when they suddenly raised the
gate fees), rifled through our things, found the pouch with cash, and
took it, ignoring other things of value.

We informed the manager and his first response was "Oh, there's a new
Somali worker. Somalis are bad people. It must have been him." We
worried then that racism, instead of thievery, would do this Somali
guy out of a job. For a second, more considered response, management
simply said -- the robbery didn't happen! In fact, they blamed us,
said that we had "misplaced" the pouch, and implied that if we had
been more careful guests this wouldn't have happened.

Their flawed reasoning was a) that other valuable items had been
returned to guests before and therefore everyone who ever went through
that camp was entirely honest, b) that they hadn't had similar
robberies before and therefore there would never be a robbery in that
camp, c) that we could have put the pouch in the hotel safe. (If we
had known that the safe was an option, we would have used it. But no
safe was ever mentioned. Further, if there is a safe for guest use,
then clearly baboons are not the only security threat in the camp.)

We have lived in Nairobi for a long time and know not to keep valuables visible.
We never expected to get the cash back, but we did expect a more
reasonable response. We hoped the manager would consider altering the
welcome speech (that said baboons were the only security threat), and
perhaps the camp might even have offered a 10% discount on our next
visit or some token like that.

But to say that a robbery didn't happen, that the guests were simply
irresponsible, and that the opening speech would not be modified?
Unacceptable. Despite its beauty, I must then emphasize: avoid
Sekenani. Avoid Sekenani at all costs.

David, Canada (Review from Nairobi). BA, MA.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We are so grateful to have stayed at this beautiful oasis in the Mara. The service was impeccable, the staff were friendly and most engaging in wonderful conversation, the food was excellent and plentiful and the game drives were just wild!

Room Tip: Ask for tent #2 as it is close to everything and yet holds absolute privacy
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I've never done one of these hotel reviews before, but I will in this case. I stayed at Sekenani Maasai Mara camp and someone stole money from me. They defininitely have a security problem. (They also have a very nice camp, the nicest I've seen.) I've travelled a lot and know to be careful, especially in Africa, so I lost only some cash. I kept my passport, most of my money, and other important things with me at all times. But I had a travelling moneybag with cash, and I put it carefully in a very specific place in the tent and locked the tent. When I came back from dinner two hours later, the moneybag was gone. My moneybag WAS visible at the Maasai Mara Park Gate so maybe there's something going on with one person at the gate and another in the camp who has a key? I guess I'll never know. I didn't file a complaint. Cash can't be traced, and the camp manager creeped me out. I didn't want to deal with him any more than I had to. Oh, and I didn't hear anything about a safe guests could use.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews