We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngerende Island Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$408
$315
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$151
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$254
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
147
8
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari experiencemara riverdrinks waitingpersonal butlergame driveslake vieweach mealyour beck and callbutler servicemasai guidestaff were exceptionalhot water bottles in the bedevening gamebeautiful animalsjonahfireplacedaniel
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 157 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Ngerende for our wedding and honeymoon. We had never been to Kenya and we were very impressed with the location and the experience staying at Ngerende. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is amazing. They took care of everything for our wedding and made sure we felt very special since it was our honeymoon. The local village also participated in our wedding which made it very unique. The game drives were great. We did the all day game drive and the regular ones. We saw a lot of lions and we were also able to see a large group of elephants with several babies. I would highly recommend this hotel as they will make sure all of your requests are met and then some.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from Kenya - Ngerende is everything that the other reviews say...and more! I simply cannot over-emphasise what a gem this place is. The location - surrounded by wildlife on the banks of the Mara River - complete with our own Hippos - is just spectacular. The rooms are open to the outside without being too "temporary" - they offer the ultimate luxury, sitting in an open air bubble bath with the Kenyan countryside surrounding you has to be one of the most indulgent and enjoyable experiences ever! The people are what really make Ngerende unforgettable - Edward the chef created meals that surpassed all expectations, Daniel the Masai naturalist and Patrick the driver took us out on Safaris (both driven and walking) that were just amazing. From Cheetahs to Lions and everything in between - we saw it all! If that wasn't enough we had one of the best massages of our lives whilst overlooking the river and a family of sunbathing Hippos - The Lodge also supports the local community, and we went to see the local school for the nearby Masai village children which the hotel is supporting. The real deal!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Ngerende Lodge (pronounced ga-ren-day) turned out to be beyond fabulous- without exaggeration the single finest lodging we have ever stayed at with incomparable service. And given the fact we have traveled extensively for over two decades, this is no small endorsement! I have several folks over at TripAdvisor to thank for strongly recommending Ngerende and persuading us to go there when I was wavering. Neo had arranged for us to get 4 rooms (even though we had paid for 3, as the camp only had one other couple) and what rooms- room is not the way to describe this huge cottage with an open walled bathroom very large private wooden deck overlooking the Mara river with around 100 “resident” hippos that grunt and fight periodically.

I am not going to dwell on the luxury and exceptional service of the camp as the main point is safari and game drives. I will however say that Ngerende provided an extraordinary blend of bush luxury and safari convenience. The large grounds on an oxbow on the banks of the Mara river with a huge herd of resident hippos and crocs, the amazing chef Edward, bush meals on the grounds of the camp (each meal location was placed on a picturesque, even though inconvenient from the kitchens and servers perspective, spot on the grounds), David the resident Masai who would take our kids on walks and to a local Masai school, it just goes on and on. The camp has a large, beautifully maintained vegetable garden where all the produce comes from fresh daily. Falling asleep each night to the loud grunts and splashes, sometimes fights of the hippos with the occasional roar of a lion in the distance, yet in complete comfort was an experience to savor. At night the canvas was rolled down in the front of the cottage to insulate the completely open front from the river with the hippos and crocs and mosquito netting all around the bed, yet with perfectly adequate lighting for reading.
Ngerende is located in the Ol Chorro conservancy which abuts the Mara North conservancy (MNC). They have transversing rights in OC and MNC – you have to pay Masai Mara Park fees if (when) you go there ($60pp). Both OC and especially MNC afforder great game viewing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I could go on for hours, but to make it short, this is the perfect lodge. EVERYTHING has been thought through in the finest detail, from the beautiful bathrooms, to the excellent food and 5 course dinners, the gorgeous setting on the Mara river, our very skilled guide and driver Peter to the lodge manager Solomon and the rest of his incredible staff. We wanted to take Walter, our butler, home with us! Eunice and Catherine was also very helpfull in the process of making our reservations.

We saw lots of animals (including the big 5) and loved our hot air balloon ride. We will most certainly return. Our stay at Ngerende in the Masaai Mara was a trip of a lifetime! Asanti Ngerende!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Ngerende is a truly special place! We've travelled the world, but the service here was the best ever - all the staff are fantastic! The Lodge has just seven tented suites and overlooks the Mara river, where crocodiles bask on the rocks and a large hippo pod has taken up residence.

We had the 'honeymoon suite' with an open air spa bath and its own plunge pool, which we didn't use as the weather wasn't warm enough. Our only niggle was the open plan design of the bathroom and toilet, with only short swing doors protecting our privacy!

After our afternoon game drives when we saw an amazing number of animals, Walter, our lovely butler always lit a log fire in our room and prepared a warming Jacuzzi bath for us. On the early morning drives, we were cossetted with blankets and hot water bottles!

The food, game drives, spa treatments, environment and outings to the Masai village and school were all exceptional and memorable experiences. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews