We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in the Mara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ngerende Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in the Mara”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed in this luxurious place in September, and every element was perfect, from the festive greeting until the checkout. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, with a fireplace and, rare in the Mara, a real bathtub in which you can hear the grunts of hippos in the river at night. The game drives were lovely, and our driver, Matthew, was clever and informed about the flora and fauna of the area. Daniel, the resident Maasai expert, radiates knowledgeable serenity; his talk on Maasai culture and his bush walk gave another dimension to the safari experience that other lodges did not. The room service was meticulous and kind. Breakfast was amazing; lunch and dinner, apart from the delectable soups, were merely so-so. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you have the opportunity to go there, GO.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftthecapitol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
85
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I went to Ngerende Island lodge with my workmates and had a fabulous time. The four days we spent seemed shorter than two days. We were driven from Nairobi in very comfortable Toyota land cruisers all the way to Ngerende.

Maasai morans were on hand to welcome us with traditional songs and dances that we quickly learnt and jumped along.

The service in the lodge was exceptional and we felt pampered and spoilt. The facility had few staff members who were well trained in almost everything. It was normal to find a staff serving in the reception, handling the spa and serving you dinner all with a smile. Our butlers, who were also serving us meals, folded towels and bed spreads into animal shapes that we found hilarious.

The guest rooms offered the best the world could offer, combining natural material and sophisticated designs to come up with spacious and elegant private sanctuaries situated in lush forest settings with instant view of hippos lazing away in the river.

We visited the Maasai village where we experienced uncontaminated culture of the locals. Most Maasai souvenirs were readily available at competitive prices and everyone had a pick for family and friends back home. We didn’t go for the food but we found it fantastic. The variety made sure everyone enjoyed a meal or two from Japanese food, sea food and of course African cuisine. And because the lodge specializes in surprises, all the meals were served at different venues around the park. We had dinner in complete wilderness, Japanese –style rooms and lush green gardens much to our excitement. During the game drives the 4 x4 s had cooler boxes filled with our favorite drinks, ranging from non-alcoholic to alcoholic, kept cool the whole day. We were lucky to see a number of lions lazing around, white rhinos, hyenas, elephants, buffaloes and many more. Our tour guides Steve and Leng’ understood the park and animal behavior like the back of their hands. We took this opportunity to learn a lot, that we can use to brag back at home. To sum it up we visited the world famous crossing point on Mara River where up to 2 million wildebeest cross.

I will visit Ngerende again and again.

Room Tip: Room 4 shows most hippos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onyango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A boutique lodge in the middle of nowhere, yet they managed to cater to our every needs. The chef was just amazing, a guest being lactose and gluten intolerant, he went ahead to make every dish possible without those 2 ingredients for that guest! He made fresh breads with every meal, and catered to our every need! The rooms are spectacular, overlooking the Mara river. The beds are so comfortable, you will struggle to make it for your morning game drive. Each room has its own butler. The staff and service is excellent as is everything else about the place. As the lodge is in a private conservancy, so not expect to see the best game in the Mara, but if you want a romantic holiday with a little bit of animal spotting this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurousSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just come from Ngerende its simply out of this world!From reception to wonderful Raphael who was our P.A( unfortunately we could not come back with him! :) I have been to other lodges and hotels but Ngerende is the best 5 star service all the way.The game drives were well informed everything so well coordinated,the honeymoon suite tastefully furnished

We are definitely going back and will make it our every time Mara destination

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Ngerende is a lodge outside the Mara reserve and is a luxurious place. Staff under the watchful eye of Daniel are absolutely wonderful. The traditional Maasai welcome, the setting of our room with its superb decor and the surrounding nature was truly amazing.

One never seats in one place twice for a meal as there are so many beautiful spots and staff are imaginative about using the river as a view point to set the tables. Food was good albeit a bit un imaginative for vegetarians.

Spa massage was as good as the Thai massage as the masseurs have been trained by Thai masseurs.

Swimming pool has a great view of the river. The game is not plenty like the reserve but the nature makes up for this.

Definitely worth going there, even for a day or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from my third stay at Ngerende and it was as wonderful as the first two stays. And the most wonderful thing about the stay was the familiar faces who greeted us when we arrived. It says a lot about a property when they have very little staff turnover - and many of the faces have been there from the beginning.

I did stay in Suite 6 and, unlike other reviewers, did not find anything wrong with its proximity to Suite 5 or the village. The cowbells actually added an ambiance! We thoroughly enjoyed every game drive and found the vehicles as comfortable, if not more comfortable, than any other in Mara. I have stayed at more camps and lodges than the average person, and could not find anything about Ngerende worth complaining about. It is a first class property in every way - with a first class staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper_ESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We are Carmen and Victor and we've just came from Africa, where we have spent our honeymoon. The best of it was the fantastic days we spent at the lodge, no doubt. We would never have imagined that it would be so so so great: magic place near the Mara River, surrounded by the forest in the middle of the savannah, surprise meals under acacia trees or romantic dinner in the room balcony... Every day was a surprise and they were extremely flexible to do what we wanted to do. We love Masai culture after the experience and we miss all the lodge team, but there are three people we can't forget: our PA Rapha, he's so kind and attentive; Leng, the safari driver, he's so funny and we really felt safe going on a drive with an authentic masai warrior; and Daniel, so interesting and intelligent, he made us know everything about his culture... We spent the best days of our lifes thanks to them all and we are looking forward to meet them anytime.
Ngerende Island Lodge, the best lodge ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.4 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#100 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#68 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.0 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#18 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fig Tree Camp
Fig Tree Camp
#42 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#39 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
7.5 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#5 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngerende Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngerende Island Lodge

Property: Ngerende Island Lodge
Address: PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngerende Island Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngerende Island Lodge has only 7 luxury en-suite canvas and wood suites all with raised platforms giving panoramic views of the Mara River and the woods on the opposite bank. Each suite has polished Mahogany floors (including the terrace) and is very spacious providing open plan sleeping and living area complete with wood fire, a separate bathroom providing both Villeroy & Boch massage shower, open air bath (if desired) hand wash basins and flushing toilet. Comfortable seating is provided both in the living area and on the terrace so that the true tranquility of the lodge can be best appreciated. The distance between each suite has been maximised to reduce any risk of disturbance that may be caused by other guests. There is one honeymoon suite isolated from the main lodge, has a private plunge pool and Jacuzzi and has stunning views of the Mara river. Lovely touches as flowers on the bed, fire in the suites, bubble bath with essential oil prepared by your personal butler, hot-water bottle set Ngerende Island Lodge apart from the rest providing a memorable experience. The lodge has been designed to complement the safari experience so as to give comfort, luxury and service naturally. There is an abundance of wildlife both on the Conservation Ranch and of course within the Masai Mara Game Reserve to include Lion, Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Hippos and many others. A feature of the Conservation Ranch is an exclusive project to rear the White Rhino so that they can take their place back in the Mara society to which they belong in greater numbers. Over 180 varieties of birds have been spotted within the lodge itself and there are 3 Hippo Pods strategically located around the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Ngerende Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngerende Island Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ngerende Island Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing