We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ngerende Island Lodge--Over the Top”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngerende Island Lodge
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our first safari experience....and it was over the top!!! From the moment you enter NIL you are transported into a luxury safari experience of a boutique hotel designed for 7 suite guests. We were warmly welcomed by Daniel and the Maasi Mara Dancers. With welcome drinks and introductions to our personal Butler Ann, Chef Isaac and Safari Driver Steven, we were treated with such warmth and respect. Each meal is specially designed by Chef Isaac. The food was outstanding....But what made NIL extraordinary special is the attention to detail. Every meal had a surprise location. NIL is on a type of island arm that wraps itself around the Mara River giving incredible vistas of the area including hippos in the river below. Each surprise location accented the beauty of the area. Ann our personal Butler made us feel like Kings and Queens as she served each course of the meal.. We were so blessed by her attention to detail including drawing our baths when we came back from safari drives to lighting our fireplace....special touches... To top this was our Safari Driver Steven who we came to know and love.....Steven's love for his Maasi culture, animals and the Maasi Mara area was contagious. We felt like not only where we on a safari but we got to know the Maasi people and their beliefs and culture. ..We were blessed to see the Big Five...and knew this was an extraordinary treat.....The owners of NIL truly are the visionaries of wanting to employ and empower the local Maasi Mara people, be ecofriendly, use their organic garden for the meals, and design a unique safari experience. Their vision and special touches make this a very personal experience....for anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion or want to make an ordinary vacation special...NIL will surpass your expectations...

Room Tip: All of them are great!!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrottersUnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Ngerende Island Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

Having been to a number of lodges in the Mara, Ngerende is the best of the best - the place has found perfection!

The location of the lodge is spectacular, not only is it minutes from the airstrip, but all rooms have a spectacular view of the famous Mara river where hundreds of hippos travel daily to play in the water.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful, very elegantly decorated, extremely clean and oober luxurious.

The personalised butler service is the only one of its kind that works so well at Ngerende - nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff of Ngerende!

The food is outstanding - Ngerende have one of the best chefs who provides superb custom made meals througout the day. Majority of the ingridients are organically grown within the lodge and all palettes are guaranteed to be tantilised!

The spa is situated in a magical location - dont want to give too much away!

In my opinion, there is no debate to be had about where to stay in the Mara - it has got to be Ngerende Island Lodge.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms and they ALL have a spectacular view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A place to remember for a life time. Beside the fantastic location and the unique fireplace inside the sleeping room, the only missing item was the internet connection. The pitiable rinsing water flow under the shower might be substituted with a longer bathing time.
The extraordinary staff you won’t find in any seven star facilities. Whichever wish was fulfilled before even asking for. Such superior service by all staff members is almost without competition worldwide. A place we definitely go back with more family and friends. A paradise located in heaven, really!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drago B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Having been to a fair few lodges in Masai Mara, I can safely say Ngerende Island Lodge tops the list. From the unique welcoming dance to the personalised butler service (ask for Rafael) who tended to each request with a smile - it was truly a memorable experience. Staying in the Honeymoon suite, with a luxurious open plan setting, complete with a private plunge pool and the most comfortable bedding, waking up to the sound of hippo's resting in the water that surrounds the boundary of the lodge. Meals were exquisitely prepared and each day at a different location. The local Masai guide Daniel was not only witty, but also very involved and helpful in the day to day activities which ranged from a breathtaking balloon safari to the tree planting ceremony at the end of the trip. The morning and evening game drives were a pleasure; the drivers at the lodge are incredibly knowledgeable and try their best to make the drive a memorable one. During dinner, we had the pleasure of watching traditional Masai dances as well as listening to a soothing Masai flute player. The attention to detail at Ngerende Island Lodge made it a home away from home and a place I will most definitely visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

A group of us stayed at Ngerende and I'd recommend this to anyone! Larger groups can ask for a discount (we had the whole place booked). Food was made to specific requests to a very high standard, rooms were cleaned perfectly, staff were so helpful and tentative to every need and super friendly. I can't wait to go back! Beds and pillows were to die for, the best sleep I've had in ages!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jatinder J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We spent 2 weeks recently in Africa for our honeymoon, and traveled to several locations during our trip, ending at Ngerende. What a way to end an amazing trip! Ngerende is hands down the most personalized service we have ever experienced in our lives. The accomodations were fantastic (we stayed in the honeymoon lodge) and we cannot say enough great things about the staff. Walter, our butler, is one of the kindest men we have ever met, and we were extremely sad to say goodbye to him. The food was beyond amazing, and that's saying a lot for a couple that lives in New York City! Our driver, Michael, was wonderful, and extremely knowledgeable about all of the wildlife. Daniel, our Masai guide, also taught us a tremendous amount about his culture and people, and allowed for us to experience one of the Masai villages, which was a great experience. I felt like we learned so much about the people and the animals of the Masai Mara during our stay. Overall, I cannot say enough positive things about Ngerende, its accomodations and its staff, and I highly recommend it to anyone that wants an incredible safari experience! We would speak to others we met along the trip that were staying in other lodges, and our experience by far sounds like the nicest and best!

Room Tip: If you can get the honeymoon suite, the room has a small infinity pool in it, which is quite a cool...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Risa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have had the joy and luck of experiencing Ngerende's hospitality for a while now. However, its only befitting to say a few words in regards to our last stay. As always, the crew was there to recieve my partner and myself on arrival at the airstrip. For the 3 nights and 4 days we were there, not once did we do a similar thing. Everything was planned in detail and in a personalized way. From the great service right at the lodge, the beautiful tents, to the setups during dinner; the bush breakfast and a hot amazing pasta lunch under a Euphobia Candlabra tree in between the game drives was unforgettable!! The search for the "medicine man" through the beautiful savanah and finally to come upon a setting similar to those one only dreams of, was a moment we shall cherish forever. Thank you Daniel and the whole Ngerende team for making our stay away from home the most comfortable ever, as always. Thank you to the chefts who always came up with clever meals. Thank you Faith, who was our private bateleur, for being so meticulate, kind, caring and professional at the same time. Ngerende always outshines itself and we cannot wait to be back. Congratulations. You win hand down!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.4 mi away
Amani Mara Camp
Amani Mara Camp
#89 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
67 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#38 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#71 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
847 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#13 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
176 reviews
10.7 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#45 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngerende Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngerende Island Lodge

Address: PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $450 - $2,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngerende Island Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngerende Island Lodge has only 7 luxury en-suite canvas and wood suites all with raised platforms giving panoramic views of the Mara River and the woods on the opposite bank. Each suite has polished Mahogany floors (including the terrace) and is very spacious providing open plan sleeping and living area complete with wood fire, a separate bathroom providing both Villeroy & Boch massage shower, open air bath (if desired) hand wash basins and flushing toilet. Comfortable seating is provided both in the living area and on the terrace so that the true tranquility of the lodge can be best appreciated. The distance between each suite has been maximised to reduce any risk of disturbance that may be caused by other guests. There is one honeymoon suite isolated from the main lodge, has a private plunge pool and Jacuzzi and has stunning views of the Mara river. Lovely touches as flowers on the bed, fire in the suites, bubble bath with essential oil prepared by your personal butler, hot-water bottle set Ngerende Island Lodge apart from the rest providing a memorable experience. The lodge has been designed to complement the safari experience so as to give comfort, luxury and service naturally. There is an abundance of wildlife both on the Conservation Ranch and of course within the Masai Mara Game Reserve to include Lion, Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Hippos and many others. A feature of the Conservation Ranch is an exclusive project to rear the White Rhino so that they can take their place back in the Mara society to which they belong in greater numbers. Over 180 varieties of birds have been spotted within the lodge itself and there are 3 Hippo Pods strategically located around the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ngerende Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngerende Island Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ngerende Island Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing