We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longing back to Oldarpoi/Längtar tillbaka till Oldarpoi”
Review of Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Reviewed January 12, 2014

During our stay in Kenya, we spent four days at Oldarpoi. We were met by a very friendly, family atmosphere where we felt like members of a lovely family. The accommodation is of good, clean and basic standards. Tasty and hearty cuisine.
Very good games drive, with our skilled and competent guides and drivers Ken and Peter. Amazing experience being in the middle of a herd of elephants at forty animals.
Interesting visit to nearby Maasai village where the young massai Anthony guided us in the best way.
Cultural exchange at the bonfire where our friend Lenny shared his knowledge about the culture, traditions and life in Kenya. We already longing back and we all agreed that this was one of the best experiences of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaBSj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 191 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here last summer with our three kids and had an excellent time! It is very hard to find midrange safari accommodations and this was a home run. Nelson and his staff are incredibly hospitable and personable. Nelson was great about working with me to plan the trip I wanted given that we had kids with us and also wanted to see the local community as well. Everyone was great with our kids and the food perfect for a family. Also, Nelson is a local Masai, as our his staff, and is improving the local community he comes from. Do not stay anywhere else without understanding how it benefits the local people.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 3sbgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed with my wife for 4 nights at the camp in August 2013. Nelson our guide (and director of the camp) was great and very helpful. We customised our stay in order to do Masai Mara (3 days) and Nakuru (1dy) on our way back to Naiorbi. Nelson was very helpful and managed to offer a very competitive package.
Even if we are used to more luxuary holidays, we loved our stay. The camp was simple but so clean and people so nice that we cannot wait to comeback. Also food was very good.
Nelson is great guide (and lucky!) as we managed to see the Big Five on our first day. We also went to see the great migration for a day: deep dive in nature the whole day! Amazing :)
We spend few hours in the Masai camp next to the camp: good experience to understand how the Masai live.
We recommend the camp!
Best,
Thibault and Laetitia

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thibo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I really enjoyed staying here, it had the perfect blend of comfort while maintaining a local feel. We were treated more like friends than customers. I could not have been happier with the service and you can really tell that they are caring people. Our previous stay had been at a hotel/resort but they felt fake compared to Oldarpoi. I highly recommend choosing to stay there and can't wait till I can go back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our advice: don't wait--go to Oldarpoi!
My husband and I have travelled in many places, through many countries, sometimes in the finest accommodations, sometimes very simply, but the place we now love most in the world is Oldarpoi Camp in the Maasai Mara. We were there a month ago and we miss it still every day. We have never been so warmly welcomed, been so well looked after, seen and experienced so much, or had so much fun on safari. After two glorious weeks in Oldarpoi, we count its remarkable young director, Nelson Ole Reiya; the renowned Warrior and tracker Ole Keseir (also known as Jackson); and every one of his Oldarpoi Camp team as dear friends, and you will do the same.

Oldarpoi Maasai Community Camp (to give it its full name) offers something exceptional in the modern world: a unique, wonderfully personal safari in the hands of the most skilled and knowledgeable guides imaginable: the Maasai themselves. Visitors to Kenya who choose the regular routes and luxury camps will miss something unique and deeply memorable.

Oldarpoi is a place that has grown out of the locality: there are fancier places in the Mara but this is a tented camp of the finest simplicity that cares about the environment and the Maasai's great traditions. If you want to go on safari to Kenya's wild places then Oldarpoi Camp provides the rare opportunity to do so in the company of those who know and love the land best: the Maasai themselves. If you want the finest introduction to the joys of the wild, its stunningly beautiful landscape, animals and birds, by seeing it through the knowledgeable eyes of the people whose home it is, then Oldarpoi Camp is for you. If you would like a chance to spend time with the Maasai--surely the most dignified and hospitable people on earth-- and experience their kindness and warmth, then Oldarpoi offers something you won't find in any other tented camp or high-end lodge.

What makes it so special? It is, first, the people who made it a home for us: lovely efficient Mercy, the manager, always kind and calm, and her beautiful, warmly welcoming staff, who took such kind care of us from the moment of our arrival, when we were greeted with singing and dancing and warm face towels to wipe away the dust of the road; Willie the most elegant and skilful cook, who could produce a breakfast under the trees, laid out on red Maasai cloth, as readily as a feast on a bonfire under the African night sky; and the vigilant Maasai Warriors who made us feel well protected on safari. It is also Nelson's vision for a truly Maasai camp: most of the higher-end camps in the Reserve, funnelling through one tourist group after another, are not run by local Maasai nor do the profits return to the Maasai community as they do here, so the local community supports Oldarpoi, and in staying here you are also supporting them. Nelson himself is locally renowned as the first boy in the Mara to go to high school, and his determination (after teaching at Nairobi university for 12 years) is now to give back to his people, building much-needed schools for the children and adult learning centres from the profits of the camp (if you take your children: Nelson will help introduce them to the Maasai--who love children--and spending time in the villages or helping out building a local school could be a special experience). He is highly respected for the work he is putting into preserving the Mara, for leading the youth, for his integrity as well as his successes. It was fun to see tour guides from all over Kenya greet him like rock-star groupies. And Nelson and Ole Keseir are simply the best guides in the Mara--they grew up here, after all, and know the best place from which to watch the great, biblical wildebeest migration across the River Mara, or find a pride of lions with its cubs, or the rare black rhino.... we saw every animal one could hope to see.

Nelson will also organize a fabulous, full safari tour for you too: we made safari north and east, inlcuding Nakura, Amboseli National Park, Mount Kilimanjaro, ending up in the beautiful Ngong hills, spending a night here and there en route in high-end comfortable tented camps while secretly longing to be back in Oldarpoi--simpler but no less comfortbale and far more friendly.

We count ourselves blessed to have discovered the special warmth of Oldarpoi. And Oldarpoi is less expensive (thank heaven!) than the high-end lodges that only introduce you to the surface of the Maasai Mara. It also caters very well to student groups.

We recommend it with all our hearts.

Louise Dennys
Executive Publisher, Random House of Canada

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisedennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

As this holiday was a trip down the memory lane for our family, we were very excited, eager and filled with high expectations. Nelson our guide(now friend) made sure our high expectations were well matched to the core.

After spending 2 days at Nakuru, we headed towards Oldarpoi Mara camp. Day one itself we spotted the Big Five. We saw a whole lot of birds, swarms of animals during our visit. I guess love was in the air during our trip, so we saw the Lions mating, Leopards mating. My kids ((aged 6 and 8) thrilled to see wild animals so near to us (Lions were at our arms length and crocodile came to share to give us a private show). We could also fortunate to see the Cheetah, Hyena, Giraffe and lots of animals.
The stay at Nelson’s camp was very comfortable with all basic needs well looked after and the warriors guarding us throughout the nights and making sure we won’t have any visitors from the neighboring jungle. Staying in tents was bit different but fantabulous experience. Mercy and her staff make sure we are well looked after. We visited the Masai village to learn about their life style and culture. At the end of the day dinner around camp fire was very relaxing and we enjoyed gazing at the galaxy of stars so bright and clear which we hardly see in cities.
I would highly recommend staying at Oldarpoi Mara camp for a true African experience.

I wish Nelson good luck!


Ovin & Preeti Crasta

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ovin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This safari camp just has to be the best! We spent 5 days there last month, and miss it already! Would definately go again when visiting Kenya. Don't think of going if what you want is 'dressing for dinner' and mingling with the ' social set'! It is a little bit of heaven: relaxation; game drives over often rough and exciting terrain, plenty of animal sightings ... lots of work for the camera ... .Maasai education; great food, evening camp fire chats, lovely, lovely staff who are conscious of one's every need; comfy beds in sturdy tents with toilet and shower facilities. this camp is CHILD FRIENDLY! Our 6 year old grand- daughter was with us and she was given a wonderful time. This camp is THE ONE!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.2 mi away
SEMADEP Camp
SEMADEP Camp
#97 of 145 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
17 reviews
4.1 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#65 of 145 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
98 reviews
26.6 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#51 of 145 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#21 of 145 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
142 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#91 of 145 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
77 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#73 of 145 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldarpoi Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Address: 3 KM to Sekenani Gate,Maasai Mara | Sekenani-Keekorok Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $156 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldarpoi Mara camp, is operated in partnership with the local Maasai community. The camp is concerned with the welfare of the local community .Our vision is to transform the local community, socially and economically.We support the Ole keene primary school with teacher's salaries, children sponsorship programs etc.The school has more than 300 children and we built classrooms for them including a rescue center unit to accommodate young girls running away from cultural practices such Female Genital Mutilation ( FGM ) and early marriage.We also plan to establish a community library which will include a learning center and conservation projects.Guests who would like to volunteer in any of our projects as part of a unique safari experience are highly encouraged to do so..This will make a difference to the community.The camp has permanent tents with beds, bedding, complete solar Water heating and lighting system, flush toilets and hot showers - all the trappings of home! We are also an accomplished safaris outfitter with best trained Maasai guides! We offer safaris and tours to different destinations throughout East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oldarpoi Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oldarpoi Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing