We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TRUE MAASAI EXPERIENCE”
Review of Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was a true Masai experience. The camp is owned by Masai, the staff are mainly Masai and you are surrounded by the Masai people. The location is just outside the Masai Mara Reserve and very near Masai villages. The tented rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and warm at night, and the showers are hot (solar panels in place). Mosquito netting is over each bed but we did not experience any bugs! The view from many of the tents is breathtaking! The food is very tasty, thanks to Willy the chef! He makes the best breakfast crepes! Tea is available all day long! The staff is very welcoming,friendly and eager to make sure all your needs are met. They are also patient with all out thousands of questions about the Masai and the area. Best of all, the camp is always being updated and the proceeds from the camp have gone into building local schools for 300 children and offering scholarships to young Masai that are interested in Tourism and Hospitality. A boarding school for girls is being planned in the near future. Nelson, Cosmos, and Jeremiah (all Masai) took us out on safari and made sure that we got to see as many animals as possible. They were also very knowledgeable about the animals eg, mating, habitat, predators, etc. We were also escorted over to see the village and the schools that have been built and a cultural tour of one of the Masai villages (cost $20 and well worth it). My husband and his friend are runners and wanted the experience of running with a Masai warrior. No problem, Nelson arranged for two Masai to run with them. It was a memorable thrill for both of them. There may be many luxurious camps in the Masai but this simple comfortable camp is well worth the stay. Like the other reviewers we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rhino room has nice view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Oldarpoi Mara Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 191 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was the sixth group of students that I have brought to Africa and hands down the safari with Nelson and Benson was the most beautiful thing I have ever done in all of my travels. Oldarpoi was sooo accommodating and Nelson answered all of my questions for four months leading up to the trip with the utmost patience and professionalism. We were a (large, loud and fun!!) group of 16 undergraduate and graduate students and the camp accommodated us with the greatest of ease for two nights and three days. The whole crew absolutely loved their time here with the staff and in the midst of the migration.

In addition, our group needed to end our trip in Ilkerin which was so far out of the way for Nelson and Benson to go since they had to return to Nairobi, however they delivered us safely to our project site with smiles on their faces. Simply awesome.

Favorite memories here include: 1. Our collective "wow's!!" and excitement over every single animal, 2. Jeremiah delivering a group member's cell phone that we had left behind, with his shuka flying in the wind on the motorbike, 3. Willy's awesome apron, 4. Trying Maasai wine with Nelson, 5. Looking a lioness in the eyes from three meters away (thanks Nelson, best seat in the car!!)

We will definitely be seeing Oldarpoi again in the near future!! Thank you guys!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights and can't praise it highly enough. Originally we considered travelling around Kenya, staying at large lodges and moving every night or two, but decided we wanted a relaxing holiday and this was the perfect choice.

Nelson was always quick and helpful in his e-mail replies and picked us up from the airport to drive us to the camp. Our tent was comfortable and peaceful - despite there being a number of tents, they are a good distance away from each other with lots of greenery in between! Staff are helpful and friendly, and are a real asset to the camp. Tim was an excellent guide on drives that took us all over the Mara, and Willy dishes up delicious meals in abundance.

Don't hesitate to stay at Oldarpoi - we already want to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I spent 4 nights in the camp with my 11 years old daughter, before going 3 more days with camp manager Nelson (also a local Masai) on a tour to lake Nakuru and lake Bogoria. On business trips, I am familiar with more luxurious accommodations. At Oldarpoi, nothing like that (fancy stuff), it is authentic, vegetation has not been shaped to look "good", tents are basic but comfortable, food is very nice, and above all staff is authentic. We had a wonderful time on safaris (with great guide and driver Sam & Tim), walking safaris with Masai people & guards from the camp, and were treated very kindly, sometimes as being part of the family by all of them. I have done a few trips to the area, but this was by far the nicest one. After Oldarpoi, we spent 1 night in a luxurious camp around lake Nakuru, it was nice, very nice, but as my daughter said, staff were "only trying to be nice" and the camp looked "fake". Authenticity cannot be imitated....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueskygva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I first visited the mara in 1986, again in 1991 and had promised my kids a trip for 16 years. I have to say I was apprehensive that it couldn't match the experience in my memory. I needn't have worried. Though the surroundings of the park are now somewhat depleted by population pressure and goat over grazing, the park itself was still fantastic......especially as we saw the start of the migration. Awesome. But the icing on the cake for us was Nelson and his team. Forget the posh over priced lodges, you get the best hospitality Kenya can offer here. Great guides......we saw ALL the big 5, comfortable tents, and outstandingly attentive staff. Willy's food deserves a mention. Brilliant.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank hattamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was my fourth safari in Kenya and I decided to make the trek down to the Mara again to see the Great Migration. In all my trips, I had never caught a glimpse of a leopard! This time, everything was different! We saw everything from leopards, to cheetahs hunting. We saw elephants galore, and almost witnessed the wildebeest cross the Mara River.

We added on a hot air balloon trip which was a great add!

The hospitality and knowledge at Oldarpoi was the best I have ever experienced! I would and definitely will go back many times from now on! I long for the night when I sleep with the laughing of hyenas in the background while being protected by the Maasai at night!

Hands down a true gem in what I would call one of the natural wonders of the world!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a brilliant, brilliant time at Oldarpoi!

Nelson and his team were absolutely fantastic. Every single member of staff was first-rate: enthusiastic, friendly, knowledgeable and professional without being at all pushy. Nelson and Reuben knew the answers to all our questions, whether about animals and plants, rocks, Masai culture or the Kenyan economy, and Reuben was as excited as we were to see three leopards (a mother and two big cubs) crossing the path on our final game drive! Willy the cook was phenomenal: we ate enormous, delicious meals throughout our stay.

The accommodation was clean, the view beautiful, and the water hot. The camp is only about five minutes' drive from the park entrance so it was very easy to get to the park for opening time. And there were so many thoughtful touches: hot water bottles, chocolate at night. No corners were cut and there were no hidden charges.

We are cynical expat aid workers and so (embarrassingly) were initially a bit sceptical about Oldarpoi's claims to be a social enterprise. But we were certainly proved wrong: Nelson really cares about his community and about Kenya, and has so many interesting ideas for developing Oldarpoi! Nelson is an inspiring man, and I can't wait to see the community centre that he's planning to build!

We would really, really recommend Oldarpoi and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.2 mi away
SEMADEP Camp
SEMADEP Camp
#97 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
17 reviews
4.1 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#64 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
97 reviews
26.6 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#59 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#25 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
137 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#89 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
77 reviews
2.6 mi away
Leleshwa Camp
Leleshwa Camp
#86 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldarpoi Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Address: 3 KM to Sekenani Gate,Maasai Mara | Sekenani-Keekorok Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $156 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldarpoi Mara camp, is operated in partnership with the local Maasai community. The camp is concerned with the welfare of the local community .Our vision is to transform the local community, socially and economically.We support the Ole keene primary school with teacher's salaries, children sponsorship programs etc.The school has more than 300 children and we built classrooms for them including a rescue center unit to accommodate young girls running away from cultural practices such Female Genital Mutilation ( FGM ) and early marriage.We also plan to establish a community library which will include a learning center and conservation projects.Guests who would like to volunteer in any of our projects as part of a unique safari experience are highly encouraged to do so..This will make a difference to the community.The camp has permanent tents with beds, bedding, complete solar Water heating and lighting system, flush toilets and hot showers - all the trappings of home! We are also an accomplished safaris outfitter with best trained Maasai guides! We offer safaris and tours to different destinations throughout East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oldarpoi Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oldarpoi Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing