We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO MUCH MORE THAN I EVER IMAGINED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SO MUCH MORE THAN I EVER IMAGINED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

I cannot tell you how much I loved my stay here. It was truly amazing and the people are so incredibly kind. Also, I didn't know this before the trip but this is the first camp that is actually run by the Masaai and where portion of the proceeds goes back to the community. Nelson, the owner, is one of the most amazing people I've ever met. I felt honored to spend some time with him and hear his story and his love for the his people. I highly recommend this camp.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookspotteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    28
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
32
57
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I cannot say enough about Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp.. When you stay there you actually feel as if you're staying in the incredible Kenyan wilderness (because you are!) and you are instantly at comfortable, worry-free ease.

Service:
When we arrived, we were greeted at the road by two men who carried our luggage to the camp a short distance away, at which we were greeted by hot towels and hot tea.. And that was the kind of service we experienced our entire time there!

Food:
The chef is great and if you've never had goat before, you're in for a treat!

Amenities:
We stayed in a large canvas tent with an attached bathroom, including a western style toilet and hot shower. The tent had two beds, which were very comfortable, and mosquito nets are provided (though I don't remember mosquitos being a problem).

Value:
At $70 a night, you just can't beat the price to experience value. If I had a choice, I would pick Oldarpoi over the $1,000 night resorts any day!

Safari:
As far as the actual safari goes, I can't imagine doing it any other way than through Oldarpoi.
First, we were guided by Maasai native and camp owner, Nelson Reiyia. Second, we rode in what you would imagine to be the perfect safari vehicle. It was a large Land Rover with soft, rollup walls and roof (like a Jeep) so it becomes completely open all around you AND you can stand freely. Trust me, this is the only way to go! I felt such pity for the rest of the groups out there that were crammed into small Japanese passenger vans!
Third, Nelson and his crew really know there way around the park.. they knew exactly where to take us to see every animal you can imagine.

The BEST part:
Any extra proceeds from the safari camp go to support a school for 200 children in the local community, along with a project for girls wishing to escape FGM (Female Genitalia Mutilation)!

Verdict:
GO TO OLDARPOI SAFARI CAMP!! It will be one of the most memorable experiences of your lifetime! And you will know that your trip helped bring education and safety to many local Maasai children!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickmondell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Great fun and loving time. We all became family in a few days. Great safari, staff, accommodations, and food. Totally awesome.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

This camp has equal amounts of authenticity and comfort.
The people who run the camp are real Masais, so we were able to visite their village to see how they live, which was a treat.
I was very impressed with the spacious tent we had. It contained 2 comfortable beds w mosquito nets, zip up the back part for a real bathroom. It had a real toilet, sink and hot shower.
The staff was very sweet and did everything they could to make us comfortable.
We went on Safari in a large jeep and were able to see all animals we were hoping to see.
The Masai guides had very good eyes seeing the animals from a far distance.

Thank you Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp for this unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaShey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

I went to Masai Mara in December/10, with my fiance & friends. It was an amazingly beautiful place! I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants the experience of a lifetime. The camp accommodations were very comfortable & the staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. The food was great, and our safari experience was like nothing we could have imagined. It is truly one of the most beautiful places on earth!!! We do plan to return one day with the hopes of staying longer. Thanks to Nelson & everyone who made it possible for us to come on such short notice! It was greatly appreciated!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I came to Kenya for our honeymoon and worked with Nelson to make our masaii mara experience special. A few things:
-if you want authentic Kenyan and Masaii, this is your place. It's not plush/decadent like pillows and rugs and butlers like some camps. It centers around being authentic. As a former Peace Corps Volunteer in Kenya, I was looking forward to showing my wife the "Real Kenya" but was worried it would be too rustic to someone who hasn't been to Africa before. Turns out, it was comfortable and authetic, and Meg loved it as much as me.
-the staff is really, really nice. They are real Kenyans who have stories and aspirations themselves.
-The game drives were great. Meg and I get a little bored with sitting for hours on end, but Nelson and the driver Jimmy made it fun. We saw soooo many animals. Our favorite view was a cheetah family.
-The best part of our 2 night stay hands down was our walk to the nearby Masaii boma. We got some great dancing, saw their way of life, and bought some crafts. It was one of the best expereinces of my entire honeymoon actually.
-Meg and I overall recommend this place to someone who is looking to be pampered but wants to discover authentic Kenya. Nelson is a straightforward guy who will give it to you straight.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

If you’re looking for a personnal adventure, if you feel like being part of a family and have great discussion with masaïs about their culture, this is THE place to go! Oldarpoi camp is more than charming. And what I can say about the staff ? Incredibly friendly and devoted. A rare kind of generosity. Now, I have to call them my friends!

I stayed there for 7 days and it was my best trip ever. The safari i did with Nelson, the owner, was authentic. He was borned near the Masaï Mara gates, so he knows everything about this land!

The best thing is the money is that your money will serve the community!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneMarineland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.2 mi away
SEMADEP Camp
SEMADEP Camp
#100 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
11.2 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#67 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
26.6 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#61 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#54 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
14.1 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#19 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#77 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldarpoi Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Property: Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Address: 3 KM to Sekenani Gate,Maasai Mara | Sekenani-Keekorok Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldarpoi Mara camp, is operated in partnership with the local Maasai community. The camp is concerned with the welfare of the local community .Our vision is to transform the local community, socially and economically.We support the Ole keene primary school with teacher's salaries, children sponsorship programs etc.The school has more than 300 children and we built classrooms for them including a rescue center unit to accommodate young girls running away from cultural practices such Female Genital Mutilation ( FGM ) and early marriage.We also plan to establish a community library which will include a learning center and conservation projects.Guests who would like to volunteer in any of our projects as part of a unique safari experience are highly encouraged to do so..This will make a difference to the community.The camp has permanent tents with beds, bedding, complete solar Water heating and lighting system, flush toilets and hot showers - all the trappings of home! We are also an accomplished safaris outfitter with best trained Maasai guides! We offer safaris and tours to different destinations throughout East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oldarpoi Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oldarpoi Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing