We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenya safari”
Review of Offbeat Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Offbeat Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
“Kenya safari”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I just returned from an incredible trip to the Masai Mara and Sosian lodge. Every detail was perfect, from the greeting at the landing strip to the comfortable bedding after an exciting day on horseback or in a land rover. The staff was exceptional as well as the food. Game viewing met every expectation, thousands of wildebeests, in addition to lions, cheetahs, elephants, zebras, giraffes, etc. We were able to view the game closely and watch them hunt, play, sleep, graze, etc. most often we were the only people within eyesight. Offbeat ensured a very memorable safari vacation!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here and it's lovely to hear that you had a wonderful time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Katie and the rest of the team.
And great that you had a comfortable stay and got to see so much game. Mara North Conservancy goes from strength to strength and you can keep away from the crowds as you say.
Hope to see you back in the Mara soon.

Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
85
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our third year in a row to visit the Offbeat camps in the Mara North Conservancy and Meru. The new manager at Offbeat Mara, Katie, is maintaining the excellent standards and was great fun to be with. As in the Meru, tents are being upgraded and family sized tents are being added. The Conservancy was teeming with game, spectacular in its own right, but the highlights were provided by the Offbeat pride, who were usually less than half a mile away, who had two lots of cubs . As ever, our guide Josphat, worked hard to make sure that we got as much as possible from our stay, including a full day down to the main Mara and a great night drive. Since our last visit, Josphat has earned his silver guiding qualification and the general opinion among the guests was that all of the guides were very very good (I believe that all are at least silver level). The food and service were as excellent as before. Another great trip - we would definitely recommend staying here rather than in some of the larger camps in the main Mara. Bush breakfasts mean that you don't have to rush back to camp for breakfast and can explore further and maximise game viewing time, plus you get far fewer vehicles in the Conservancy but still have the chance to see the same wildlife. (We saw two cheetah on the drive in to camp across the Conservancy from the airfield).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review here, it's great to have you back for a third time and lovely to hear that you had a wonderful time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Katie, Josphat and the rest of the team.
Mara North Conservancy goes from strength to strength and you can keep away from the crowds as you say and without missing out on any game viewing.
Hope to see you back in the Mara again soon.
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent 4 amazing days at Offbeat Mara post Sosian Lodge (see separate review). What a great combination! Within an hour of arriving we saw all the cats we had missed at Sosian including leopards mating, cheetahs snoozing and a huge pride of lions lazing in the shade. We could have left happy after just 1 day but so glad we didn't as we would have missed the start of the wildebeest migration, newborn giraffe roaming the plains with their mothers, an abundance of elephants, zebras, buffalo, gazelles, warthogs and other wildlife totally unperturbed by our presence. Not to mention 6 young lion cubs playing in the grass whilst the rest of the pride snoozed nearby. Such a priceless experience to share with our 3 children aged 15, 12 & 5. Our guides David & Kaapen were great, fulfilling all of our requests including leading us to the perfect location to witness a lion kill unfold on the final night. We couldn't have asked for more. The kids enjoyed afternoon soccer with the staff and our 5 year old loved archery time with Jamie. Katie & Jamie were superb hosts and made us feel at home immediately. Our tents were spacious & comfortable and we felt safe around the clock. An all-round amazing holiday, and especially worth a stay here to not only experience Katie, Jamie & the teams wonderful hospitality but to virtually have the conservancy to yourselves.
Our thanks to all of you for a most memorable safari experience.
Megan, Matt, Jordy, Jake & Josh

Room Tip: Awesome view from the front tents. Family tent now available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMJJJSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Megan, Matt, Jordy, Jake and Josh thank you very much for your lovely review here and great that you had such a wonderful time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Katie, Jamie, David, Kaapen and the team.
Great that you got to see all the cats on your visit and to experience the migration. And lovely to hear that you enjoyed afternoon soccer with the staff and archery with Jamie.
Hope to see you back in the Mara soon.
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had a great time at Offbeat Mara Camp. Excellent game viewing opportunities , great staff and food. About the accomodation there is also nothing to complain . The Guides are very expierienced too. Best thing is that in the Mara North Conservancy you avoid the masses of tourists. And you still have the possibility to go to the Mara National Park whenever you like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kumalo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here and great that you had a wonderful time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Katie and her team. Mara North Conservancy goes from strength to strength and you can keep away from the crowds as you say and without missing out on any game viewing.
Hope to see you back in the Mara soon.
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent four nights in August at Offbeat Mara Camp, and I think we enjoyed every minute of our time there. Our main guides, were Joseph and Levy, and they did a great job of locating game and finding interesting photo angles. We saw wildebeest moving in herds, zebra massing at the Mara River and summoning their courage to cross. Only a few of them actually crossed -- successfully avoiding the crocodiles that were waiting. We also visited a Maasai village -- an experience not to be missed. Katie and Jamie (from the UK) were gracious hosts, and showed genuine interest in the USA.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here and superb to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Katie, Joseph, Jamie, Levi and the rest of the team.
Great that enjoyed your visit to the maasai village and you are right, it is a special place.
Hope to see you back in the Mara soon.
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

As close to the real wildlife Africa as you can get. Superb and unforgettable game drives including the Big Five in one drive. Lions galore, more than I have ever seen from one locality Plenty of other game too. I had two Masai driving and spotting and they were first class. A big thank you to Jacob and Levi. The Offbeat Mara camp is delightfully situated in a secluded yet good game viewing position and all the staff were superbly attentive creating a great social atmosphere. Great food as well. My special thanks to Katie, Jamie and Pumba. I unhesitatingly recommend this camp and would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mauirce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review here and wonderful that you had such a good time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Katie, Jamie, Jacob, Levi and the rest of the team. Mara North Conservancy goes from strength to strength and you can keep away from the crowds as you say without missing out on all the game viewing. Well done on seeing The Big Five and all in one drive!
Hope to see you back in the Mara soon.
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our offbeat experience had a number of advantages over staying in your standard safari lodge. First the location - Offbeat Camp is superbly situation outside the National Park and therefore we were spared the inevitable traffic jam around distressed animals. We were fortunate to be in the newest tent available but we believe by next year all the tents will be replaced to the new standard - which is excellent. A little more and hotter water in the bush shower system would have been good as the water is soft and getting shampoo shuds out of your hair is tricky. Having no internet connection or mobile signal was a welcome relief from our digitalised world. Our Masai Guides (David and Josephat) and Spotters (Levy and Kapent) were experienced and very knowledgeable. Katie and Jamie were excellent hosts. The early morning drives were cold and the amount of delicious food is not for the faint hearted. The Offbeat Pride of lions and their cubs were entertained us every day.

Room Tip: A new tent is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here and great that you had a wonderful time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Katie, Jamie, David, Josphat, Levy, Kapent and the rest of the team. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the new tent and excellent that you saw a pride of Lions with cubs.
Hope to see you back in the Mara soon.
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
189 reviews
8.2 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
924 reviews
14.7 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
831 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#35 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
299 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Pepper Camp
Elephant Pepper Camp
#32 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offbeat Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offbeat Mara Camp

Property: Offbeat Mara Camp
Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offbeat Mara Camp is a seven tented traditional safari camp situated in the Mara North Conservancy in an area rich in wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Offbeat Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Offbeat Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing