We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Offbeat Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Offbeat Mara Camp
Save
You added Offbeat Mara Camp to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Stittsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
193 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I had the great good fortune to finish our 10 day Kenya adventure with 5 nights at Offbeat Mara January 4 - 9 of this year. We had been in the Selenkay Conservancy to start (also wonderful), and thought we couldn't possibly see any more wildlife than we had seen there, but staying at Offbeat Mara proved us wrong! The abundance of wildlife at every turn is almost overwhelming, and our wonderful guides (Josphat and Kapeen) made every drive an adventure. They are so very knowledgeable about the animals, land and it's people and such excellent spotters! Amongst a herd of hundreds of water buffalo, they spotted one female giving birth, which was amazing to witness. And at every sighting, not only did they get as close as possible, which provided excellent viewing and photographic opportunities, but they turn off the Land Rover, so that noise and vibration are never an issue. It was baby season in January so we saw the baby version of virtually every animal we encountered. We literally, during our time at Offbeat, saw the full circle of life, from mating lions, to pregnant animals, the birth of the buffalo, the death of animals to feed others, and everything in between.

Enjoying picnic breakfasts and lunches, as well as sundowners, out on the plains during our game drives was nothing short of magical and are memories that we will always treasure. We visited a nearby Masai village on our last day at Offbeat and thoroughly enjoyed meeting the village elder and many of the women (with whom I danced!), going into one of their homes and seeing how they live.

As for the camp itself, it was a wonderful place to stay. We had the best tent (in our opinion) at the edge of camp. From our tent one couldn't even see the other tents and when enjoying our morning coffee each day from our camp chairs, we had a parade of gazelle, zebra - and even 3 lions early one morning. The tent was very, very comfortable, the bucket showers hot and welcome at the end of each day, and the morning wake-up with hot coffee and biscuits most welcome. Coming home after a late afternoon game drive and having hot water ready (our guides always radioed ahead to the camp to have the water ready), a welcome cup of tea, then a sit by the campfire with pre-dinner drinks and snacks while comparing notes with our fellow guests, was lovely. We never, ever felt unsafe at night, and it was unbelievable to hear the lions roaring during the night or hear animals eating the grasses nearby while we were in bed.

The food at the camp was very good, well prepared, and always served with a smile. And as for the camp staff - they were awesome! Miia, the camp manager, was a delight to meet and talk with every day, and was always up to wish us a good drive (even for the very early morning ones!), and there to greet us when we returned to camp. The staff that made our drinks for us, served our meals, brought us our hot water,walked us back to our tents every night after dinner and, of course, our amazing guides - all wonderful! There was nothing they wouldn't do for us when asked.

We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our 5 nights at Offbeat. We met some wonderful people from around the world, enjoyed sharing our safari vehicle with a lovely couple from Madrid, though they had to leave a day before we did, and cannot say a bad thing about our experience at Offbeat Mara. A huge thank you again to Miia and all the staff at Offbeat. They make it look so effortless, but I'm sure it's a huge job to keep things running as smoothly as they do. We would definitely recommend a stay at Offbeat Mara, and perhaps some day will have the good fortune to return!

Room Tip: We had Tent #3 and loved it's location for it's more secluded feeling and the amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesthesun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your great and very detailed review here on TripAdvisor. I will pass all your comments onto the team - whom I know very much enjoyed having you all to stay. Being a camp with just 6 tents it should make it easier for us to give such good service and I am very pleased to see that you really enjoyed the staff and their happy faces!
We do hope to see you back again at Offbeat Mara in the future and many thanks again
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
68
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent four nights at Offbeat Mara with our three children aged 14,11 and 8. The whole holiday was fantastic - from the extremely kind and knowledgeable guides to the incredibly hardworking staff at the camp, everyone was out to make us feel welcome and looked after. The tents were comfortable and clean, and even the reluctant camper amongst us was happy. The rest of us loved every minute, we saw all the animals we could have wished to, the food and drink was plentiful and delicious. They were very concerned that our slightly faddy 8 year old had exactly what she wanted to eat which was lovely. Altogether a brilliant holiday, none of us wanted to leave, and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review here. It was great fun to meet you all and I must say you had fantastic game viewing - seeing the Big 5 (yes a Black Rhino was spotted) and a Cheetah kill. Hope you had a safe trip home to Dubai and hope to see you back here again soon.
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had 3 nights at Offbeat Mara Camp. An amazing, comfortable bush camp. The staff are great. My driver ( Joseph )and spotter ( Kapen) were very knowledgeable and it was good to catch up with Josh ( my driver from a couple of years ago, it was like old friends meeting again). The camp is lovely, as was Mia, the hostess. The wild life amazing, lions walking past the camp 5 minutes after we left, we watched them from the car. The Cheetah family was great-good to see they had eaten both times we saw her, and the leopard was amazing.I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here and I will pass your comments on to the team. It is always so nice to hear these comments, escpecially from repeat guests and great that you have now been twice to the camp - we do hope to see you again soon. You will be pleased to know that the Cheetah mum with the 2 7 months old cubs eat again last night, so she is looking in excellent shape today! As you say the guides are very knowledgeable and we have had the same guide/spotters in camp for 5+ years so they are a great team.
Hope to see you back again soon
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had 3 nights at Offbeat Mara and had an absolutely wonderful time. I'd booked because I wanted to see the Masai Mara, and found myself "glamping" by accident, but a happy accident it was. It's certainly not cheap, but you get an awful lot for your money. We saw wonderful game on every drive, thanks to our excellent guide and spotter, and if we didn't see a leopard it wasn't for lack of trying. The food was way above the standard I expected from a tented camp, even an expensive one, and lunches in particular were amazing. Our host Miia was charming, and a mine of information. Drinking G&Ts out in the vastness of the Mara as the sun went down was a real treat.
Despite the lack of electricity and running water it wasn't remotely camping as I know it. The "bucket" shower was surprisingly good, as was the hot water delivered each morning for washing/shaving
My only complaint is that their website doesn't say that they will charge phones/cameras/laptops for you in the evening while the generator is on. It's a really useful service but if I'd known I wouldn't have wasted money on spare camera batteries!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Albans_City
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review on Offbeat Mara Camp and I will pass your comments onto the team. Great that you loved our style of "Glamping" in the Kenyan bush. Thank you for your comment regarding the lack of mention on our website to say that we can charge guests camera's etc. I will get straight onto our web team and make sure that this is included. Useful advice, so thank you very much.
Hope to see you back again at Offbeat Mara soon
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent three nights at the camp, and loved every minute of it. The tents are very comfortable and have all mod cons, including flushing loos, but still manage to make you feel that you're right in the middle of the Mara. Miia looked after us brilliantly , together with her team, and the food and service was faultless. The game drives were excellent, with Masaai driver and spotter. They treated the animals that we met in a very gentle and respectful way, which in turn allowed us to get really close and take some incredible photos. It also seemed to be a mosquito free environment, which was another big bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of Offbeat Mara and I will pass your comments on to the team.
The wildlife really is great in the Mara North Conservancy at the moment, and the Offbeat Lion pride and local Cheetah providing great sightings.
Whilst this area is classified as Malarial, it is very rare to see, let alone be bitten by a mozzie - particulaly at nights which is when the Malarial carrying mosquitos are out.
I hope to see you soon down in the Mara
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

How does one start firstly THANK YOU Mia, all the team , Joseph and Kapen our guides!! We could not have been looked after in a more wonderful way. We took 3 of our 4 boys on an African adventure and it surpassed all expectations!!! Mia was the most lovely fun and enthusiastic host, our tents were so comfy for a moveable camp.The boys loved the bucket showers now want one at home!!! The wildlife breathtaking , the youngest being 11 and 10 were thrilled by the adventure. Lepoard , lion, cheetah and the rest of the disney cast all on tap outside our tent doors. I cannot recommend the Offbeat camp more highly. THANK YOU ALLXX .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank washerwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here and I will pass your comments on to Miia and the team. Great that your boys all had such a wonderful time and loved the bucket showers! They do work very well, with plenty of hot water to freshen up after a days safari.
We hope to see you back again soon
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our 4 nights at Offbeat Mara were an incredible adventure. Our tent was stunning and most luxurious but also right in the middle of the action and the sounds of the wild animals nearby added a certain frisson to bedtime! Our wonderful Maasai guides, Joseph and David, were so knowledgable and we were extremely lucky to see the big cats so often and so close by. Camp manager Miia is great and incredibly efficient and her team made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. If you are looking for a truly authentic safari experience whilst staying in total luxury, look no further.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here. I will pass your comments onto Miia, Joseph and David and the rest of the crew. I am very glad you had such a magical time and I hope to see you back in the Mara one day!
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#53 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nalepo Mara Camp
Nalepo Mara Camp
#80 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#79 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leleshwa Camp
Leleshwa Camp
#67 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#13 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offbeat Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offbeat Mara Camp

Property: Offbeat Mara Camp
Address: Mara North Conservancy | Masai Mara, Kenya, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offbeat Mara Camp is a six tented traditional camp situated in the Mara North Conservancy in an area rich in wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Offbeat Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Offbeat Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing