We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, great location!”
Review of Offbeat Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Offbeat Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent three nights at the camp, and loved every minute of it. The tents are very comfortable and have all mod cons, including flushing loos, but still manage to make you feel that you're right in the middle of the Mara. Miia looked after us brilliantly , together with her team, and the food and service was faultless. The game drives were excellent, with Masaai driver and spotter. They treated the animals that we met in a very gentle and respectful way, which in turn allowed us to get really close and take some incredible photos. It also seemed to be a mosquito free environment, which was another big bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review of Offbeat Mara and I will pass your comments on to the team.
The wildlife really is great in the Mara North Conservancy at the moment, and the Offbeat Lion pride and local Cheetah providing great sightings.
Whilst this area is classified as Malarial, it is very rare to see, let alone be bitten by a mozzie - particulaly at nights which is when the Malarial carrying mosquitos are out.
I hope to see you soon down in the Mara
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 242 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

How does one start firstly THANK YOU Mia, all the team , Joseph and Kapen our guides!! We could not have been looked after in a more wonderful way. We took 3 of our 4 boys on an African adventure and it surpassed all expectations!!! Mia was the most lovely fun and enthusiastic host, our tents were so comfy for a moveable camp.The boys loved the bucket showers now want one at home!!! The wildlife breathtaking , the youngest being 11 and 10 were thrilled by the adventure. Lepoard , lion, cheetah and the rest of the disney cast all on tap outside our tent doors. I cannot recommend the Offbeat camp more highly. THANK YOU ALLXX .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washerwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review here and I will pass your comments on to Miia and the team. Great that your boys all had such a wonderful time and loved the bucket showers! They do work very well, with plenty of hot water to freshen up after a days safari.
We hope to see you back again soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our 4 nights at Offbeat Mara were an incredible adventure. Our tent was stunning and most luxurious but also right in the middle of the action and the sounds of the wild animals nearby added a certain frisson to bedtime! Our wonderful Maasai guides, Joseph and David, were so knowledgable and we were extremely lucky to see the big cats so often and so close by. Camp manager Miia is great and incredibly efficient and her team made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. If you are looking for a truly authentic safari experience whilst staying in total luxury, look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review here. I will pass your comments onto Miia, Joseph and David and the rest of the crew. I am very glad you had such a magical time and I hope to see you back in the Mara one day!
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed in Dec 2012. Excellent experience - could not think of anything that could be improved. LOVED the tents (private, comfy, huge, etc.)! Service was top-notch. Guides seemed to enjoy their jobs & were easy to be around. Camp manager, Mia, was classy, skilled, interesting, accommodating, & attentive without being intrusive. Staff was quiet & professional. There was a lot of food which tasted great. I thought the price was right for what you get. Animals were abundant. Rarely saw another vehicle. Every drive was different. Saw animals hunting, playing, fighting, etc. You get so close that all I used was a $150 point & shoot camera on auto, yet people told me my pics looked like they belonged in Nat'l Geo. Bush meals & sundowners were amazing. Offbeat Safaris was easy to work with, & we had no problems with payment, transfers, hotels, or drivers. The Fairview Hotel in Nairobi had the best breakfast we ever had (taste, environment, variety, etc.). We really enjoyed dinner at the Ole-Sereni Hotel in Nairobi as well.

Room Tip: Tents are private, have views, had animals roaming around outside, had toilets, & had warm showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbiedoesUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you very much for this great review. It is great that you had such a lovely time and were so well looked after by Miia and the crew. The wildlife in the Mara is amazing all year round (not just in the migration!) and as you say taking great photos is made easy in the Mara. I will pass your comments on to the whole team (and in our booking office too) and hope to see you back again soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at Offbeat Mara camp. We spent a long time trying to find a camp that caters for all our 4 children who range in age from 17 to 4 and were delighted with our choice. All the children loved it and the youngest even managed a 9 hour game drive (which included a long picnic lunch on the river). Mia, the staff and the other guests in the camp could not have been nicer. We fed the younger children early - whilst Benson kept an eye on them as we enjoyed the cocktails and delicious food in the camp at night. Picnic breakfasts, sundowners with the Offbeat lions, an abundance of game and Joseph and Kimani our guides meant that we made the most of every minute. This is a fantastic location, which offers you a very personal safari holiday and the chance to spend quality time with all your family.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sorrell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review of Offbeat Mara Camp and I will pass your comments on to the Miia and the team.
Safaris are a great way to spend a family holiday and great that you all had such a lovely time and saw so much game.
We hope to see you back in the Mara soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Offbeat Mara Camp provides a quality of service that is unbeatable. Mia, the camp manager is super excellent and runs a tight ship, being able to balance the role of a warm, accessible and friendly host and yet not being intrusive. The guides, Joseph and Kappen are walking wildlife specialists and spotted many birds and wild life, weaving their guiding with fascinating stories about the Masai and Masai Mara. The beauty of the location of Offbeat is stunning with an abundance of wildlife, it's paradise on earth! The kids enjoyed themselves very much with the excellent food and company of the hosts. We came away, ranking this is one of our top holidays ever. Don't hesitate, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azianKualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you very much for this great review of Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments onto Miia and the team. Yes the guides are excellent and all our guides are silver rated in Kenya.
I hope to see you back at Offbeat Mara again soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have just returned from theee most amazing experience. The camp might not be the smartest/most exotic, but it was wanting for nothing in my eyes, right down to the hot water bottle in the bed at night and the charged camera batteries already sitting on the seat of the jeep waiting for us 1st thing in the morning! It is really well situated with easy access into the conservancy where there is prolific game, so a good chance of seeing everything that one wants to. The guides are all highly trained, extrememly professional, very enthusiastic and eager to please and speak good English. The food is unbelievably good and there's lots of it! The staff are all so attentive and caring ...... you really cannot fault them. It feels a well oiled machine without being ostentatious. A perfect way to achieve a 'safari experience'!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and great that you had such a wonderful time at Offbeat Mara Camp. Yes the guides are all excellent and all the guides in camp are Silver rated in Kenya.
Happy Christmas and hope to see you back again soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.7 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
525 reviews
16.8 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#13 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
227 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#14 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
369 reviews
9.5 mi away
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Ca...
#9 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
630 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#29 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offbeat Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offbeat Mara Camp

Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $330 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offbeat Mara Camp is a seven tented traditional safari camp situated in the Mara North Conservancy in an area rich in wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Offbeat Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Offbeat Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing