We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offbeat Mara is amazing!”
Review of Offbeat Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Offbeat Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent 4 days at Offbeat Mara this past summer and it was an incredible experience! We absolutely loved it and would return in a heartbeat. The service provided was excellent. The food was great. Emma and Jamie were very kind and lovely to be around. Our driver and spotter, Josephat and Kapeen were nothing short of incredible! They found us everything we were looking for and then some! The hot drinks in the morning were so enjoyable - what a wonderful way to be woken up. Lunch and or breakfast out on the mara surrounded by the beauty and the animals was stunning. Sundowners with Tusker and a fire - never to be forgotten. We were there with our 2 children, ages 8 and 11 and they loved every minute of it. Every night our daughter fell asleep at dinner and one of the sweet, kind guards would carry her back to our tent. I honestly can't say enough good things about Offbeat Mara Camp and it's incredible location and staff. I highly recommend it for anyone considering a safari.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thanks very much for this great review and I will pass your comments on to the whole team. We hope to see you again at Offbeat Mara soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very simply the highlight of my month in Kenya! We stayed at this camp for 4 days and had the most incredible time. The camp was very smart and all the staff were very accommodating. The food was amazing, and there was so much of it. Our driver/guide, Joseph, was incredible. He was extremely knowledgeable about all areas of wildlife, and taught us so much about maasai history. Kapeen was an excellent spotter and always had a smile on his face no matter what the time of day! This holiday was so special and I would have no hesitations in suggesting this camp to others, as long as they are happy to be woken up by the occasional elephant or buffalo grazing outside their tent. If you're heading to the Mara you have to head to the offbeat Mara camp!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for this great review and I will pass on your commenst to Joesph and Kaapen - Kaapen never gives up on a game drive and is always very dissapointed if he does not find you your fill of cats on each and every drive!
Hope to see you back soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the only place to stay in Mara North, or the Masai Mara in general.

One word: spectacular.

The camp itself is setup wonderfully. Each tent being wonderful and having a ton of space between each for privacy. The attention to detail, from what hot drinks will be at your door each morning to catering to any question or eating request, is top notch.

Everyone who works there is genuine, and there was such a warm feeling everywhere in the camp. The drivers are truly some of the best. Each game drive we saw unbelievable amounts of animals, and they could read our minds as to taking pictures and staying to enjoy the animals in their natural habitat.

Want to go back, and would recommend for anyone who truly wants the experience of a lifetime. Thanks Offbeat for the memories.

Room Tip: Our room (3 I think) was at the end, the furthest from the eating area and most private. Best view p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwm_8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your great feedback - yes your tent was number 3, which is the most private of the tents and furthest from the main camp.
I will pass your comments on to the team and hope to see you back again soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was the most incredible holiday I have ever been on. The camp is lovely, tents are beautiful, food was so delicious, and a truly fantastic team of staff - our guide Joseph was amazing, and so knowledgeable - there wasn't a single question he didn't know the answer to, and we asked some pretty obscure questions! The location of the camp is amazing, with a pride of lions next door, and having giraffes, buffalos, elephants and wildebeest grazing in front of your tent. Being in the conservancy it's also very private, so you hardly see any other cars, making the game viewing even better.
It really was the trip of a lifetime, and I am dying to go back. Emma and team thank you all so much - I would recommend Offbeat to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broupell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your very kind words about Offbeat Mara. I will pass these on to Emma, Joseph and the team who will be very happy, like me, to hear such things
I hope to see you at Offbeat Mara soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Its difficult to sum up in words our trip to the Masai Mara but felt the environment and ethos of Offbeat Mara was amazing, all the staff were superb, showing a respect and passion for the land, its animals and people which they are happy to convey to their guests.
On our trip we were lucky enough to travel with Martin (MF Wild Photography) and Jean Fowkes and within minutes off landing we were whizzed off for our first drive and the amount and variety of game we saw throughout our stay was outstanding.
To be woken by the sound of a elephant eating from the tree directly next to the tent in which we were sleeping is probably a memory I will treasure for the rest of my life - mind you I didn't realise elephants stomachs rumbled so much!!
We would recommend Offbeat Mara to anyone who wants an intimate safari experience away from the "maddening crowds"

Room Tip: Ask for the "Honeymoon Suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AileenM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review here on TripAdvisor. I am very happy that you all had such a great time in camp and with Martin's photographic group. We do hope you can join in again on his trip in 2013!
Thank you
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

How to sum up this camp? well here goes ........
First of all, Emma and Jamie were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and their knowledge of the wildlife and species of birds was excellent. Our guide James was incredible. We nick-named him "Dr. Doolittle" as he could imitate all the bird calls and they would answer back! He found us the most delightful places to have our breakfast and lunch each day and meal times in the UK will never be the same again. He was so patient and kind and with his expert help we photographed 101 different birds and all the wildlife you would expect to see including wild dog. We were also very pleased with the level of service from all the members of staff - lovely friendly smiles and so helpful. The food was delicious - plenty of it and served to perfection. The accommodation was very comfortable and the bucket showers were terrific - the water always the right temperature. We have been to Offbeat Meru which was equally as good. If you want a camp that is intimate and with a great atmosphere then look no further. Our only complaint is that we didn't see a leopard in a tree but never mind, we'll be back in February!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamelaC561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review here on Tripadvsior on Offbeat Mara Camp. I am very happy to hear that you had such a great time and I shall pass your comments back to the team. Thank you also for the wonderful photos that you sent, many of which are on our Facebook page.
We look forward to seeing you in February
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We only had three nights at Offbeat, yet we could have stayed far longer. The tent was beautifully appointed, the food was wonderful, and the drives were amazing. David, our guide, and Ken, our spotter, were wonderful. Full of information and a delight to be with. I would recommend Offbeat to anyone desiring and intimate, beautiful and personal experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcc8886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, I will pass your comments onto the team at Offbeat Mara and we hope to see you back again soon!
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.4 mi away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#24 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
248 reviews
4.9 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
312 reviews
4.5 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#56 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sentinel Mara Camp
Sentinel Mara Camp
#31 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
146 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Pepper Camp
Elephant Pepper Camp
#21 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#7 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offbeat Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offbeat Mara Camp

Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $330 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offbeat Mara Camp is a seven tented traditional safari camp situated in the Mara North Conservancy in an area rich in wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Offbeat Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Offbeat Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing