We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Introduction!”
Review of Offbeat Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Offbeat Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

As the first camp on our safari holiday in July 2012, this was a real winner! It was a great location, great hospitality, great atmosphere and great gourmet food and drink! Our guides, Josphat and Capen, were outstanding and provided many opportunties for us to view a great range of animals. Their knowledge of the land and wildlife was extensive and much appreciated. Emma as Manager, was a wonderful hostess, assisted by Jamie. They both made everyone feel welcome and very much at home. The camp activities were personalised according to arrangements made between Emma, the guides and ourselves. Sundowners, also were a most memorable part of our stay. Of the five camps in which we stayed, it was certainly the most outstanding and one which we would certainly love to return to one day.

Room Tip: All tents in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review of Offbeat Mara Camp and very nice to know this was the best of the 5 other camps that you stayed at. We hope to see you back at Offbeat in the near future!
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at the Offbeat Camp in the Mara. Emma and Jamie gave us an amazing introduction to Safari life. Not to mention our great guides Kapen and Josphat; they are the best. Had a great time with my 9-year old daughter and my 75-year old mother. Very friendly and professional staff, amazing food, and great facilities. Highly recommend. Gus

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annpdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for this great review. I am very glad that we were able to give such an excellent safari to your family. You will be pleased to know that Josphat has just become a Silver guide which is great news.
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I spent a week in the heart of the Masai Mara staying at the Offbeat Mara Camp, which was fantastic. The moment we arrived we were met by the team who were super friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The accommodation is comfortable and nice to have a hot shower and flushing toilet. The food was what surprised me the most, it was great and such good variety.For me the guides made the trip. They were friendly, informative and their ability to spot the animals is enviable. I was so happy to see the big 5 and so much more. I can't recommend these guys enough for an unforgettable safari.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LrB2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and great that you had such a wonderful time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I do hope we see you back again soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

From our arrival at Offbeat Mara, we knew we had made the right choice for our Mara adventure. Every aspect of our stay was thoughtful and personalized. We came to spend a long awaited family vacation with our expat daughter and this trip was the perfect destination for an unforgettable safari. Our host, Emma, aided by her ever cheerful assistant, Jamie, was so calm and competent. She really made the camp feel like a well run yet laid back haven. Our guide, Josephat, was the best we had on our entire trip; we spent all of our days with him and wish we could have taken him along on the rents if our trip through Kenya. Amazing knowledge of animal habits, behavior, and spotting, and wonderful sense of humor; really a special ambassador for the Mara. We felt as if we had our private park and even in the National park, Josephat knew how to avoid the crowds. We saw thousands of wildebeest, animal babies, a leopard napping on his kill in a tree...and that on top of all the "usual" stuff like lions, cheetahs, baboons, elephants, and much more.
We felt pampered but not fussed over. It was really good food but not overblown. The accommodations were comfortable and tasteful and eco-conscious.
The staff, the Askaris, the whole atmosphere...we can't say enough!
Thank you Piers and Emma and staff!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you very much for this great review, which I will pass on to Emma, Jamie, Josphat and the rest if the team at Offbeat Mara. Fantastic that you saw so much, the Mara North Conservancy is looking stunning, full of game and away from the masses!
Hope to see you back again soon
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Once we had made the late decision to go away, it didn't take us long to decide to go back to the Offbeat camps that we stayed in last year, for four nights each this time, rather than three. We were very pleased to see Emma was managing the camp again this year, now assisted by her excellent gap year student, Jamie. Everything about the camp is relaxing, while at the same time being very efficient. The unusual rain levels this year in the Mara (usually late afternoon) posed some additional challenges, but all the staff took this in their stride and it gave us the opportunity to sample Emma's hot toddies , which were very good. As before, the meals were outstanding and we really enjoyed the company of the other guests at dinner - the size (seven tents) and friendly, relaxed atmosphere of the camp made these meals a special way to end the day.

We were five weeks later in the year than last year, but this, with the recent unusual rainfall, provided a different experience. The grass was much longer, it was greener, and a lot of the wildebeest etc were very close to the camp. We were reunited with our guide of last year, Josphat and his spotter Kimani, who were great fun and worked hard for us. We really enjoyed our bush breakfasts out and sundowners on the conservancy grasslands , in some wonderful spots. We visited areas such as Leopard Gorge, that we had not been to last year, and appreciated more just how large the Mara North Conservancy is and the benefits of being outside of the main Mara reserve in terms of reduced vehicle numbers. The game viewing in the Conservancy was excellent, including watching a cheetah hunt and close up encounters with lions from the Offbeat and Chele prides. The birds of prey were numerous and varied and we really enjoyed the night drives , including sightings of a white tailed mongoose. We had good sightings on a day down to the main Mara reserve, including an interesting time watching a pair of Steppe Eagles competing with a Lappet-Faced Vulture for what was left of a leopard kill in a tree.

Having been to Offbeat Mara twice now, we feel that it really is a best of all worlds solution to where to stay in the area. You are in easy reach of the main Mara, but you benefit from the reduced numbers in the Conservancy. You have a sense of being in the bush, but with more than a bit of comfort . You get flexibility and a relaxed atmosphere, but everything is still run very efficiently. We would definitely return again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KevinW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you very much for this great and very detailed review. I am sorry it was so wet down there and hope this did not impact on your stay at Offbeat Mara too much. Quite a contrast to the dry conditions of Meru!
Hope to see you back again soon and thank you for your stunning pictures you have shared with us on our Facebook page
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a great experience. Our guides Josphat and Capen were excellent and we viewed the big 5 and much more. Small, intimate camp with very attentive staff. Superb meals.
If you want a safari, do it this way with wildlife literally on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdburrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Excellent that you had a great time at Offbeat Mara and I will pass this on to Josphat, Kapen and the team.
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent ten nights with offbeat safaris of which 4 were in the Mara camp. Had a fantastic stay, seeing endless game; a large wilderbeast river crossing, leopards, cheetahs, lions and cubs. We even named our own lioness 'Pole Pole' (slowly slowly). We were fortunate to have David who is one of the best guides in Kenya with us for the 4 days. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. We felt they all very much went out of their way to tailor our days to how we wanted them, which we hugely appreciated.

The location of the Offbeat Mara camp was brilliant. Personally we loved being slightly outside the main reserve as it was much more exclusive without hordes of land rovers surrounding every animal you saw. The camp is still close enough to have day trips to the river crossing as well.

Would definitely recommend the camp to all, as well as combining your trip with the other offbeat locations!

The Cooke family, Aug 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you very much for this review and great you had a lovely time at Offbeat Mara Camp. Was grat fun riding with you all too and will keep you up-to-date with the Lion's progress. I hope you received our monthly Newsletter
Keep in touch
Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.4 mi away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#26 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
247 reviews
4.9 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
311 reviews
4.5 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#55 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sentinel Mara Camp
Sentinel Mara Camp
#31 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
146 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Pepper Camp
Elephant Pepper Camp
#21 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offbeat Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offbeat Mara Camp

Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $330 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offbeat Mara Camp is a seven tented traditional safari camp situated in the Mara North Conservancy in an area rich in wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Offbeat Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Offbeat Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing