We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ilkiliane Safari Camp, Masai Mara”
Review of Ilkeliani Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilkeliani Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cannes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ilkiliane Safari Camp, Masai Mara”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

As experienced safari enthusiasts, with a son and family in Kenya, we booked four days at the relatively new Ilkiane safari adventure camp. After a short trouble free trip with KenyaAir, not to be confused with Air Kenya, we landed at Wilson airstrip. We were safely met by a cheerful guide with vehicle and taken some ten minutes down the road to Ilkiliane (the name means "young warrior" in Masai ), where we were greeted in a reception tent, by a colourful Masai, who spoke good English, given a refreshing drink and wash/wipe, then taken immediately to a brand new tented setup, with a comfortable (new) double bed for us, beside the TALEK river.
We have been here four days, with cheerful staff, appetising but not luxurious food, cold drinks on call and an excellent guide/driver - Simon - one of several, who speaks good English.
The safari programme is very flexible, with early morning, afternoon and evening drives out into the Mara. As said before, we have done the Mara a few times and this has been a really enjoyable experience for us, able to go at whatever pace we feel like and seeing all the big game animals, plus a hundred more, with birds and butterflies thrown in.
Prices have gone up a bit, mainly due to a reduction in tourists caused by the perceived terrorist attacks. However to put this in context as an ex military man, the risk is negligible and no more than stepping off the pavement in any city!
Heartily recommended as a get away from it all sort of place, with nature in abundance and charming hosts. I give it three to four stars, out of five. Not luxury, which we did not want, but really good fun.

Helpful?
3 Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    53
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
94
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Beautiful camp and well spaced out. Soups were fantastic. Alcoholic beverages were reasonably priced. After dark escorts were very helpful. All the staffs were friendly, helpful, polite, and good fun too. Dedicated to ensure an excellent safari experience! good game view and woaaaaaaaooooooooooooooh words cant complimemt enough go see the real experince of nature at its best disposal

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rithoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had my reservations about sleeping and using a tented style hotel on the Masaii Mara. My wildest expectations were met with these accomodations. An Awesome experience that I would highly recommend! They meet your every need, and the staff and warrior dressed fellows were always right at hand. The food was awesome and I cannot say enough good stuff about our experience there. They even had wi-fi down in the gathering room, if you need it. Make some coffee in the morning and ascend the steps to the observation deck and watch the wildlife before you set out with your safari driver. Location, Location, Location

Room Tip: what can I say...a tent with a porch overlooking the river...awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Although I only spent three days at Ilkeliani, every moment was filled with warmth and wonderful experiences, from the welcome to the moving farewell when the entire camp staff waved my Exodus group on its way back to Nairobi. Throughout the stay I was treated like royalty by the friendly and courteous staff and was greeted by name by the camp manager, who was eager to admire photographs and enquire about the sightings of the day. The tents were spacious and spotless with a magnificent tiled bathroom and a constant supply of hot water. In the mornings we were greeted with a pre-safari/balloon adventure with hot chocolate and delicious cakes delivered to the tent and bedtime was accompanied by chocolates on the pillow and a hot water bottle tucked into the comfortable bed. The meals served in the camp dining room were beautifully presented and the picnics were like banquets. The lounge tent was a quiet haven to rest and share a cup of tea or a glass of wine with fellow travellers and despite our location in the midst of the Maasai Mara, wi-fi was available to share the excitement with family and friends at home. Our guides Davis and Ken were fantastic and thanks to them and all of the staff at Ilkeliani, this was an adventure to remember. Once is never enough, so I have booked to return in October.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My friend Paula and I stayed at this camp in February for our 'big birthday' trip. It did not disappoint!!! We enjoyed every minute of our time here, from the moment the safari van dropped us on the other side of the rope bridge to the minute we were dragged kicking and screaming to leave!! Actually we had a big staff send-off.

The tents overlooking the Talek river are amazing, huge bathroom, toilet, and massive shower area with boiling hot water. Not camping as we know it! This is 5 star treatment. We were escorted to and from our tent every day after dark by a member of staff and the area is patrolled; the last night we were there a hyena was having a look around and calling his mates, but the noises at night are all part of the trip, and you can sleep when you get home!

The food was fantastic, and the lounge tent a lovely place to relax after a great day's safari. When we were out for a whole day the camp provided a huge picnic breakfast or lunch. One night we were treated to a camp fire and tales of the Maasai from Wilson, a truly fascinating evening.

On the whole an unforgettable experience and our thanks to everyone at the camp, and a huge thank you to our wonderful driver/guides, Davis and Ken who made our 'trip of a lifetime'.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A simple camp, incredibly styled and located. All the tents have river view. Food is fantastic, and the staff are very friendly. To get there, you have to go through the Talek gate, or use a foot bridge. The paths to the tents can do with some small change for wheel chair, but nonetheless, it is a great place for a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturaltracksafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Ilkeliani was our first stop in Africa and what an incredible impression of this amazing country it gave us! I would highley recommend the two night fly in package. This was the perfect amount of time. From the arrival on the dusty runway right in amongst the Masai Mara plains, the big smile of the Maasai warrior and guide waiting to greet you and fill you with knowledge of the wildlife, culture, history and land, the AMAZING drive from the airstrip to the camp, with astounding amounts of wildlife ( you wonder if your dreaming! ) to be greeted by the Maasai staff and taken across the swing bridge to your luxurious tent, the whole experience is everything you could imagine and more! The meals provided at the camp are devine and delicious. The service 5* and you really get a sence of nature and culture with all Maasai staff working at the camp. The Safari's are incredible and the guides do an amazing Job to forfil your request to see a Leopard, Elephant, Rino or heard of giraffe! Above and beyond your expectations! The Tents are spacious, private and comfortable. As honeymooners we were spoilt with a few extra surprises from the staff ( I wont spoil it for other honeymooners ) The nature walk and Maasai Village visit are highley recommended. I would like to thank all the staff at Ilkeliani Camp for making our honeymoon and Mara visit the absolute highlight of our African holiday. This property is amazing! STAY HERE ARE SEE FOR YOURSELF!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeH012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.4 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
4.7 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#17 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#67 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilkeliani Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilkeliani Camp

Property: Ilkeliani Camp
Address: Masai Mara | P.O Box 64196, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00620, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a riverine forest in the Masai Mara Game Reserve, the area is a favourite for elephants coming to drink from the Talek River. Ilkeliani camp consists of only 17 tents, each commanding views of the plains and the wildlife action throughout the day. The tented rooms are raised up slightly on earth mounds, overlooking the river and the plains. These mounds are covered in vegetation, and feel quite natural, and each one has been sited under its own cluster of shady indigenous trees and you do feel like you are out in the wilderness. The camp now has a suspension bridge for easy access to the reserve for early game drives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ilkeliani Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilkeliani Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ilkeliani Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing