We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ilkeliani Camp
Nearby Hotels
Leopard Hill(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$500
$394
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$370
$315
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$152
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$247
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$196
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
243
60
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
60
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalek riverhot waterobservation deckmasai marasuspension bridgegame drivesspecial mention must be madethe reservebird lifenature walkdriver guidecomfortable bedsafter darkan adventurecheetah killsolar powernational park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 310 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We arrived on the 28th of Dec and stayed for 3 nights. After a long and slightly treacherous 6 and ½ hour journey from Nairobi (!) we arrived to an extremely warm welcome and much needed cold refreshments.

The ‘tents’ were amazing and the quality of the bathrooms is particularly noteworthy. Our group occupied West 5, 6 and 7. My tent in particular (5) had wonderful views across the Talek River and the chairs in our porch area provided the perfect spot to sit back and relax. We also found that there was a wonderful photo opportunity in the mornings from our tent, as the neighbouring camp’s hot air balloons are erected. We also thoroughly enjoyed the evenings when the staff built a camp fire – not only was this relaxing but the sky line was simply incredibly – we’ve never seen a stars like it!

The staff were wonderful at accommodating our needs. For example, they were able to provided full breakfast to us one morning ahead of our 6 o’clock game ride. This included full cooked breakfasts! This treatment went even further on our last morning when we had to leave by 5.45 and they not only provided breakfast but they also allowed us lights in our tent to help with packing. All of this was done with a smile.

The food was amazing, not only because of the location, but simply because it was cooked well and there was plenty of choice.

The stunning surroundings and beautiful furnishing made our stay at Ilkeliani truly incredible and a once in a lifetime opportunity.

We would also highly recommend the trip to the Masai village, which was insightful and fun. The only slight downside here is the hard sell that follows the tour. Whilst we purchased numerous things we did feel very pressured to buy more.

Overall, we absolutely loved our time at Ilkeliani and cannot recommend it enough. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

During our 3-week tour of the national parks and reserves in Kenya our first stay for 3 nights was at this tent camp which proved to be fabulous introduction to our adventures. The tents were spacious and comfortable with a lovely bathroom and shower, and an outdoor sitting area located on an embankment above the river where we could observe baboons and monkey, hear lions roaring at night, and listen to music being played in the distance by people in the village. I particularly enjoyed the more “natural surroundings” of the camp and the dirt paths that wound through the local vegetation. At night we were escorted by friendly locals to and from our tent to the dining tent where we were served simple, yet very good meals. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, and one day when a few monkeys managed to find their way into our tent they made sure that everything was okay and informed us of the occurrence. Crossing the suspension bridge each day to and from our safari was always quite fun. The “camp” is located in a superb area in which to see wildlife, the most amazing landscapes of the Masai Mara, and a few villages. Casual and comfortable with a slightly wilder feeling than other more manicured camps we also stayed in, I dream about returning and when I do I would stay here again and seek out other places similar to this one to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovesadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel staff is what makes the difference when it comes to a great camp. ilkeliani camp has great people. great food and friendly staff bending backwards to make your stay exceptional. Masai Mara as always is just an amazing game reserve. We enjoyed every moment at Ilkeliani and look forward to visiting it again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at Ilkeliani Tented Camp for 2 nights on a recent safari through Kenya and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The camp is situated beside a river where animals come down to drink and we had a great time in the afternoons and evenings watching the baboons, mongooses and birds down by the river. The tents are comfortable, the staff are lovely, the food great and the environment great. They even have free wifi in the bar area! The only issue we had was one night when we had lots of rain and the path to our tent was flooded. We would still recommend Ilkeliani for anyone looking to stay near the Mara - just bring your Wellies if it's raining!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We've recently returned from staying at the Ilkeliani Camp as part of a safari trip with Naturetrek, it is the first time we have experienced camping in the Mara. It exceeded our expectations by far, the 'tent' was double zipped, spacious, equipped with everything we required, toiletries, daily clean towels and linen, a very comfy bed and a bathroom bigger than our own and we had solar lighting until 11.30 pm. We had our own private viewing area, with table and chairs and weren't overlooked. We had an incredible welcome by Wilson a stunning and eloquent Masai warrior and his native assistant took our luggage and escorted us morning and evening to the restaurant by torchlight - he was always waiting for us and we had coffee and biscuits brought to us early morning before going out on our game drives. All staff were courteous and always at hand to help in any way they could. A special mention must be made of the head chef Elijah and his staff for preparing not only incredible packed lunches which would suffice the hungriest of appetites and the daily three course meals were not only delicious but presented in a manner which would have impressed the most discerning guest - and not one meal was repeated.
Well done – we would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Our tents were allocated on arrival - one side of the camp saw the sunset the other side the sunrise!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerryBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews