We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accomodation- very poor food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karen Blixen Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Blixen Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Holzgerlingen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good accomodation- very poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Everything was fine,safari guide, game drives , tent -phantastic - except the food!! Unbeliefable . Very poor cooking - not acceptablefor such a camp. Even the toast - horrible.Therefore only three stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfgang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenBlixenCamp, Owner at Karen Blixen Camp, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Wolfgang,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

I'm terrible sorry to read that you found our food not up to standard. I have checked our records for the dates you were at camp and all other guests (as other members of TripAdvisor leaving their review of the camp) were speaking highly about the food served during their stay.

I have also spoken to Lillian and Sharon, camp managers, and your guide Twala and all have informed me that you didn't mention anything negative to them while at camp. I wish you would have done that so we could have corrected or amended our menus to your taste.

I'm after all very pleased to hear that you appreciated your guide and our standard of accommodation.

Kind regards,
Martin Sonderby Nielsen
MD & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
92
156
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you ever want to have an extraordinary vacation experience with luxury tenting, fantastic food, an out-of-your-dreams scienary with a friendly staff with a great hospitality - visit Karen Blixen Camp! We spent three days with amazing Game Drives with faboulus guiding from Nicloas and Peter in Masai Mara Reserve and got to see the Big Five in addition to all kind of other African animals. We saw approxiamtely 1.8 mill wildbeests and 500 000 zebras in the Great Migration, and the start of the Big Crossing with lots of crocodilles in the rives. It cannot be described - it has to be seen. We also had our 15 years anniversary with a bush dinner - a spectacular dinner experience in the bush with Masai warriors as guards from the wild animals. We really hope we can go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our experiences at the KBC was exceptional. From the moment we arrives we were greeted with such hospitality and luxury. Our tent was beautifully furnished, comfortable,and a welcome home in the bush. The staff was wonderful, the food was great, and the safari's were divine! Our guides Jackson and Branice were fabulous, and tailored our safari experience to our preferences.We took a hot air balloon ride followed by a champagne brunch that was truly memorable. We also enjoyed a evening dinner in the bush complete with light lanterns, a fire and traditional Kenyan bbq. My husband and I have traveled all over the world and this was one of the best trips we had ever taken. We saw elephant carvans, lions, the great migration, cheetah's with cubs, and every animal in the Mara. Within 30 minutes of arriving in camp we saw an elephant come to the river. The hippo family that lives there was enjoyable to watch. We selected this camp because of their ecofriendly approach to tourism, including solar showers, cooking and computer classes for staff and Masai. We planted trees on our last day and visited the gardens, garage, laundry and kitchens. We didn't want to leave, but certainly would recommend this camp to anyone who is looking for a wonderful safari experience that mixes wildlife, luxury, adventure, ecotourism, gourmet meals, great spa services into a single experience. While this safari was expensive, it was worth every penny...I'd do it all over again! Kudos to the staff at KBC for the trip of a lifetime...we will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I visited in June with my fiancee and stayed two nights (wish it was longer!). The staff, the management, the food, the ambience, the tented rooms and the overall atmosphere of the place were all lovely. We were in rainly season and the safari drivers made a real effort to hunt out the animals we wanted to see, despite some pretty hefty downpours. I would absolutely recommend for anyone to stay here, particularly to experience the eco-lodge aspects, and the resident hippos!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I visited Karen Blixen Camp (KBC) in June 2012 as part of an 11-day photo safari trip in Kenya & Tanzania. We visited 5 different park areas, with the Masai Mara/ Mara North Conservancy as our final park. Our 3 night stay here at KBC was the perfect "crown jewel" in our safari experience. We were greeted by Martin, the camp's wonderful Danish co-owner (opened in 2007) and equally friendly & gracious asst. manager, Sharon. The camp evokes peace and casual elegance with its beautiful setting on the Mara River, complete with a resident pod of hippos, and lovely public areas (dining room, lounge and bar). My large "tented camp" room was heavenly - with a spacious wooden deck with river views, nice furniture, a large bathroom and "open air" shower. The whole camp evoked a feeling of "Out of Africa" which was clearly their intent and I loved their "true" eco-responsible focus (both in how they built the camp, such as using only solar power and how they work with and employ the local Masai villagers). The food was gourmet and all of the camp staff were great. KBC's safari jeeps (6 passenger) and driver guides were excellent. Our group enjoyed a sunrise balloon ride over the Masai Mara (wonderful, including the post-ride champagne breakfast) and some people made a visit to a local Masai village to experience the Masai's very different and fascinating culture. Our short time at Karen Blixen passed much too quickly but my vivid memories of this lovely place will always remain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janhantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Please re-read the title of this review, as this is not a 5-star hotel, but a 5-star experience. This is a critical distinction that must be understood. At Karen Blixen, one is housed in tent cabins that are the size of small house, well-furnished and decorated, with an outside shower area the size of a typical American bedroom. Even with all the physical comforts, its the service that creates the 5-star experience, from the cabin steward who takes care of your cabin from morning to evening turndown, to the dining room staff who are gracious and solicitous, to the reception staff who provide suggestions to make your stay a true adventure, to the fully trained guides who are fully knowledgable concerning the Maasai Mara wildlife - all of these people are what makes Karen Blixen an "Exquisite Experience." Others have written of the animals around the Camp grounds, but a must-do is the Game Walk offered for only $30. This walk consists of being driven to a an area of the Mara where a guest can walk the Land among whatever animals are nearby, but not the Big 5 which could be dangerous. I was accompanied by a guide, a guard, plus a driver who waits in the distance just in I became tired. I walked near groups of giraffes, antelope, wart hog, hyena, zebra. And, when a report of a cheetah kill was received by the driver, he picked us all up and took us to the kill, and then through a herd of elephant and pride of lion. The guide educated me about animal tracks and scat during the walk and was fully versed in both scientific and anecdotal information about both the animal and plant life of the Mara. I stayed an KBC through a tour, so I don't know how much it cost, but it certainly was an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hikergrl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

before i'll gone to mara i'll search on net lot about mara i found karen blixen through one agent with 3 night offer with balloon ride.(off course charge will be in 3 days rate included but name as free ) but friend i advice you in africa never go anything for free or complimentary it will never you get . i am from india and i am strictly veg so very particular about choice .when i gone so it's long rain season so in front of breakfast table you can see hippo 24 X7 sometime impala you can see but as my knowledge more animal you can see in month jan - feb because animal must came for water . as every review said about camp is true . not to worries about comfort and food is stunning chef makes as per your need also for comfort and food & safari you find royal treatment .one thing i notice is in mara north conservancy and main mara has some issued so they cancelled my balloon ride some rules are also changed .every day we are going same area for hunt big five expect rhino( very rarely rhino found on mara north con so select proper location ) we seen every other animals . about staff is friendly our safari guide denial And tony has good knowledge about animal i want to see lion more closer he find take to as per mara rules kept distance but we are lucky lion came closer to us .if any indian wants to go then it's life time experience for camp choose proper season to go

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddtravellerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
30.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
12.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
7.7 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#24 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
22.7 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
12.8 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#13 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Blixen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Camp

Property: Karen Blixen Camp
Address: Marula Lane 40C | PO Box 9913-00100 GPO NBO, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Karen Blixen Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Blixen Camp in the Masai Mara offers an authentic ’yesteryear’ experience for visitors wishing to gain that little extra from their safari. Set on the bank of the Mara River; the location is spectacular. Throughout the day elephants, giraffes, zebras and impalas come for a drink while a large hippo pod rest lazily in the river. The Camp gives a feeling of the early 1920’s era with beautiful and comfortable furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karen Blixen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Karen Blixen Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing