We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view and accommodations!”
Review of Mara Timbo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Timbo Camp
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This place is a little difficult to get to but it is worth the drive! All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The tents were beyond anything we had hoped to find in Kenya. I was 6 months pregnant at the time and I was pleasantly surprised to find a river rock tub that I could soak in. And to be able to listen to the hippos "talking" in the nearby river was ice cream on the cake! The food was amazing, my husband still talks about it. We brought our own driver so we didn't take advantage of any of the safari services they offered. I did however take the time to get a massage which really helped easy the pain of driving on the roads to get there. There are so many more wonderful things about this camp that you must go and visit it for yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayrayrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2009

It is true that Mara Timbo is set beautifully on the river, and that the rooms are exquisite, but what they forget to tell you is that it takes an hour to travel from the camp to the park, which means that you have to add two hours coming and going for a game-drive... This means that if you arrive on the plane by noon they do not take you to the camp, but take you to the park straight from the airstrip (on the hottest time of day, when there not much spectacular to see) and give you a lunch box with a boiled egg, a slice of pizza, and a pancake... By the time it gets a bit cooler, and the animals start to come out again, they drive you back to the camp. The rooms are beautiful indeed, but the food is very mediocre, and the management and staff have not yet learned the meaning of "pampering" their guests, as they do in other camps and lodges in the Mara. Very poor value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorinkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We did a two week hiking and safari tour. We have chosen Mara Timbo due to the limited number of tents. If you are looking for a very private place perfectly embeded in mother nature and offeing high quality service; Mara Timbo is the perfect place. Great hospitality, luxurious tents, especially the bathtube is great ;-), and good food that is what we found and enjoyed. The road to the camp is something for 4x4 enthusiasts, a little bit time consuming but that are a lot of roads in Kenya.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springbok_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Amazing is the only word to describe this camp!! We were in Kenya for two weeks staying in Diani beach (near Mobassa). We flew up to Masai Mara for three days (two nights) and stayed at Mara Timbo. It is honestly a five star camp. I wouldn't call myself a 'camper' (like a comfy bed etc) but this was much much nicer than our hotel was. The food was lovely, the service was great, and the surroundings perfect. The safari drives were great - we saw everythign but the leport.

The only slight downside to the camp is that it is a good 45 minute drive to the gate of the reserve - however, we spotted lots of interesting animals on our way to and from (elephant, crocs) - you also pass through the Masai village which is interesting.

Overall, I would 100% recommend this place if you are looking for something a bit special (we were on honeymoon) - everything about it is just amazing. Great mix between active (on safari) and complete relaxation when you are by you tent late afternoon.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank E2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

The care and attention we received was very good.. The attention paid to those special little details made it all the more memorable. The staff were very friendly and approachable and made our stay etremely enjoyable.
The game drives were well organised and the animals seem to turn up, as if ordered by the guide, to appear
Mara Timbo deserve to do very well and we wish them great sucess.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluidafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

After having travelled 4 hours with our Landcruiser from Nairobi through the scenic rift valley, negotiating everything 4x4 enthusiasts would wish for (except if you have teenager girls in the back), ranging from premier class tarmac roads to washed out ditches full of mud, only altered by section with quick sand. The trip itself is already a sort of game drive with Zebra, Baboon and sometimes Giraffes on or in the way.

The Mara Timbo Camp located on the shores of the Mara River at a very scenic location. Next to the cosy restaurant area and basically in front of your tents you are eye-to-eye with a family of Hippos, plenty of baboons and vervet monkeys. The large tents are brand-new, very spacey, with beautiful furniture. There are not many mosquitoes, so no need to freak out about Malaria. Insect repellents, long sleeves and mosquito net will do.
Outside the tents you have a large veranda with an old style open air bathtub, it is a bit weird in the beginning to take a bath under open skies, but nobody but the monkey and hippos are watching you.
The German owners Michaela and Klaus and their son seven-year old son Tim are frequently in the camp themselves and create a very personal atmosphere, it feels more like visiting friends, then staying in a safari accommodation. To each tent belongs a “butler”, very charming young local women, who take care of everything you wish to undertake, food, drinks, game drives etc. The food is excellent, a lot of variety and very good and fresh quality. I wonder how they manage it, when they have to drive out of the camp for every egg. We went early in the morning at about 6am for the first game drive (the Olololoo Gate to the Mara is about 25min drive away) and the return for a good breakfast at 9 or 10. During the day we relaxed whether at the Mara Timbo Bar. The barkeeper Oscar comes from Nairobi, and is very skilled with cocktail, but the drinks are great. Sometimes we just forget about the evening drive and hang out in the bar watching sunset. We also did a game walk with Kinante, a Massai guide, who showed us how to brush our teeth with the branches of the pepper tree. In this North Western part of the Mara we saw a lot of wildlife, including a large number of lion prides and elephant. To cut it short: a very pleasant camp, great location and some unique features others do not have. We will certainly coming back. Great value for money and a stunning service.

By the way: No need to worry about security, Kenya is safe to travel for tourists, in the Mara you only need to worry about falling out of the Landcruiser window when you watch animals.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

This is one of the most beautiful camp we have ever seen in the Masai Mara ! If you really want to relax, this is the right place . Perfect scenery direct on the border of the Mara River. Perfect service, food in the middle of the bush, far from stress. Just perfect !
Luca, Julian, Cissa and Ludwig

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fuyu-2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
34.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,110 reviews
41.7 mi away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
328 reviews
29.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
29.1 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
23.1 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Timbo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Timbo Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Triangle | near Olololo-Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $200 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic camp under German Management ideally situated on Mara River with two large hippo families in front of only 7 spacious 45sqm luxury tents. They are situated on big terraces and offer outside bathtubs with view to the wild animals. A personal Butler Service pays very much attention to the maximum of privacy. Tent-facilities include king-size bed, safe, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, flush toilet, 220/240volt power supply. Activities: Game Drives, Nature Walk, Maasai Village, Balloon Safaris, Night Game Drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Timbo Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Timbo Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing