We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
67
6
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
6
3
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 78 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

In the summer of 2012 I had the privilege to spend a couple of nights in this camp, and truly, no words can ever describe how wonderful the experience was.

First of all the location sets it apart from any other camp in the area. It's located right in the bush, on the bank of the Mara river. The view over the river with the hippos and crocodiles you have during breakfast, lunch or dinner is truly breathtaking. You can go to one of the other camps and feel like you're in a luxury resort, just like in any other place in the world, or you can get the real Africa experience at Mara Timbo, albeit with all the comfort you can imagine. Every tent comes with personal butler service, jacuzzi, shower, and a large but really comfortable bed.

As I said the view during the meals is great, but that's not the only thing. The meals themselves are prepared by a chef that could easily deserve his place in any European top restaurant. Truly, if gastronomy is your thing, this is the place to be!

Furthermore the service is top-notch. Every staff member is very skilled, professional and does everything to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Being an ex holiday rep I have worked in many luxury resorts around the world, and to be honest I have rarely seen the hospitality and service delivered in this camp!

The entrance to the park is only a very short drive away. During our stay, we had to cross some rugged terrain to get there, but this was due to the heavy rainfall just before we arrived, as we were the first guests after the rain season.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennypeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

People is what makes the difference when it comes to a camp. And MaraTimbo has it all!!!
Great people, great camp!!! What you need to stay in confort, and feel the family lifetstyle.
Campfire every evening heatting up the dinner area, great massage, great service in bar and food.
Masai Mara off course is just an amazing sightseeing!!! Just go and enjoy it, as we did!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fablous738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This camp has wonderful staff and provided excellent service. It was just what we needed after driving in from Nairobi. Massage after dinner was incredible and put me to sleep. Food was excellent and the accomodations were very private and comfortable. I only wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Masai Mara itself is outstanding, but what made the real difference for our 6 days were the people at the Mara Timbo Camp! Every aspect of service and hospitality was very friendly and personal: meals were very nice, including some special request (try the local Ugali, it is an experience!), room service, laundry service, nights at the bar, massage, area guards, and last but not least the guiding on the safari trips (we were astonished what they spotted where we only saw grass). Any aspect of the infrastructure is very clean and perfect (bed, bathrooms, area), the team takes utmost care and tries to accommodate for any request. The camp is located in a conservation area next to the Masai Mara, therewith even the drive to the Camp itself is a safari already, you may explore unexpected animals, landscape and vegetation! And every meal at the Camp is unique, not only because of the great food that you enjoy under African skies (or stars during dinner), but also because the Hippos in the river right next to the lunch and dining area are always ready for a unique 'performance'.

Room Tip: I think it really does not matter which tent/house you choose, anyone is just great!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Mara Timbo blew our mind. went for long weekend with Friends and kids to run mara marathon. Marathon was horrifically organised (but stunning). Mara Timbo was brilliant. The tents are pure luxury, food was great, and the staff is absolutely unbelievable. Nothing is to much trouble, they entertained the kids every waking hour. Setting is on the Mara River, small camp - go you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms a brilliant, we have 2 boys 8 and 6, so the family tent is perfect - own rooms!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews