We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent camp with friendly staff in a gorgeous setting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Timbo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Timbo Camp
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent camp with friendly staff in a gorgeous setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

In the summer of 2012 I had the privilege to spend a couple of nights in this camp, and truly, no words can ever describe how wonderful the experience was.

First of all the location sets it apart from any other camp in the area. It's located right in the bush, on the bank of the Mara river. The view over the river with the hippos and crocodiles you have during breakfast, lunch or dinner is truly breathtaking. You can go to one of the other camps and feel like you're in a luxury resort, just like in any other place in the world, or you can get the real Africa experience at Mara Timbo, albeit with all the comfort you can imagine. Every tent comes with personal butler service, jacuzzi, shower, and a large but really comfortable bed.

As I said the view during the meals is great, but that's not the only thing. The meals themselves are prepared by a chef that could easily deserve his place in any European top restaurant. Truly, if gastronomy is your thing, this is the place to be!

Furthermore the service is top-notch. Every staff member is very skilled, professional and does everything to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Being an ex holiday rep I have worked in many luxury resorts around the world, and to be honest I have rarely seen the hospitality and service delivered in this camp!

The entrance to the park is only a very short drive away. During our stay, we had to cross some rugged terrain to get there, but this was due to the heavy rainfall just before we arrived, as we were the first guests after the rain season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kennypeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al-muharrak, Al Muharraq, Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

People is what makes the difference when it comes to a camp. And MaraTimbo has it all!!!
Great people, great camp!!! What you need to stay in confort, and feel the family lifetstyle.
Campfire every evening heatting up the dinner area, great massage, great service in bar and food.
Masai Mara off course is just an amazing sightseeing!!! Just go and enjoy it, as we did!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fablous738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This camp has wonderful staff and provided excellent service. It was just what we needed after driving in from Nairobi. Massage after dinner was incredible and put me to sleep. Food was excellent and the accomodations were very private and comfortable. I only wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Masai Mara itself is outstanding, but what made the real difference for our 6 days were the people at the Mara Timbo Camp! Every aspect of service and hospitality was very friendly and personal: meals were very nice, including some special request (try the local Ugali, it is an experience!), room service, laundry service, nights at the bar, massage, area guards, and last but not least the guiding on the safari trips (we were astonished what they spotted where we only saw grass). Any aspect of the infrastructure is very clean and perfect (bed, bathrooms, area), the team takes utmost care and tries to accommodate for any request. The camp is located in a conservation area next to the Masai Mara, therewith even the drive to the Camp itself is a safari already, you may explore unexpected animals, landscape and vegetation! And every meal at the Camp is unique, not only because of the great food that you enjoy under African skies (or stars during dinner), but also because the Hippos in the river right next to the lunch and dining area are always ready for a unique 'performance'.

Room Tip: I think it really does not matter which tent/house you choose, anyone is just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Mara Timbo blew our mind. went for long weekend with Friends and kids to run mara marathon. Marathon was horrifically organised (but stunning). Mara Timbo was brilliant. The tents are pure luxury, food was great, and the staff is absolutely unbelievable. Nothing is to much trouble, they entertained the kids every waking hour. Setting is on the Mara River, small camp - go you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms a brilliant, we have 2 boys 8 and 6, so the family tent is perfect - own rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Mara Timbo is bush beautiful, has a tasteful feel and amazing staff. I loved the fact that you are served by one person from day one and this makes it so easy.I loved the bathtub outside the tent. Soaking after a game drive was amazing

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patmuthoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I was very anxious about the camp, its location etc., but when we reached this camp, we were welcomed with warm towels and some cold refreshing drinks. The manager and others made us feel very welcome and lunch was arranged by the hippo pool. It was absolutely fantastic. And what can I say about the food. Awesome! I am a vegetarian and was wondering if I would have much choice and how would the food be, but special meals were served for me and it was fantastic. We were the only guests at that time, so I thought that there won't be a camp fire specially for us at the night. but I was wrong. When we reached the camp after an afternoon safari, we were led to the camp fire location and there was a table set up for us, for dinner. The sky was full of amazing shining stars. We also got a massage from Freya. She is a wonderful lady with a smile always on her face.

The camp itself is very spacious, clean with a very high standard of cleanliness. I loved the place and I'd highly recommend it. Although I must say that the road to the camp is rough and bumpy....but we got used to it and my 10yr old enjoyed the bumps! Wish I had stayed there longer, as we were booked only for 2 nights. I would've loved to spend a day just by the hippo pool lazing.

Room Tip: The room we had was by itself separate from all other rooms. And there are only 9-11 rooms. So makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
20.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#72 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#71 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
#82 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#13 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.5 mi away
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
#45 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Timbo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Timbo Camp

Property: Mara Timbo Camp
Address: Masai Mara, Triangle | near Olololo-Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic camp under German Management ideally situated on Mara River with two large hippo families in front of only 7 spacious 45sqm luxury tents. They are situated on big terraces and offer outside bathtubs with view to the wild animals. A personal Butler Service pays very much attention to the maximum of privacy. Tent-facilities include king-size bed, safe, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, flush toilet, 220/240volt power supply. Activities: Game Drives, Nature Walk, Maasai Village, Balloon Safaris, Night Game Drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Timbo Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Timbo Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing