We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Mara Leisure Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mara Leisure Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The staff was wonderful--very friendly and attentive. The food was excellent, especially the soups and omelets and desserts. Our tent was clean and spacious and had a large bathroom. It overlooked the river, so we could watch baboons and monkeys in the mornings. I would highly recommend this camp.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrammyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Mara Leisure Camp in August 2010. Our stay at the Camp was wonderful in most every way. Our Masai guide, Dan, picked us up at the dirt airstrip. Dan made it clear from the first few minutes that he was there to make our safari experience the best. On our 45 minute drive from the airstrip to the camp Dan spotted numerous animals and answered any questions we had. He dropped us off at the Camp and we were greeted with a washcloth to freshen up after our journey. We received a brief orientation of the Camp and escorted to “Jambo 5”, our “tent” for the next three nights.

After a tour of our “tent” we immediately both agreed that technically it may be a tent but like no other tent we had ever stayed in or even seen before. The tent contained a large room with queen bed, several chairs and a side table and a writing table and chair. There was also a wardrobe in the room. The bathroom was not large, it was huge by most any standard, perhaps 20’ X 25’ or so, complete with large tub, long double vanity, and separate shower and toilet room. The room was stocked daily with a couple of bottled waters and all toiletries. No hair dryer but we borrowed one each evening from the front desk.

After emptying our bags we headed up to the dining room for lunch. The dining area has an interior area as well as a section that sits out from the main building and open on three sides. There was lots of vervet monkeys running about in the yard and keeping their distance from those eating. There was a well stocked buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Stephen our waiter was fantastic. He seemed to always be close by but never bothersome. Stephen, like Dan seemed to want to be sure our experience at the Mara Leisure Camp was a memorable occasion. Then there was Joseph, the chef. Joseph makes rounds during meals and was always tending to some small detail that was not quite perfect. Joseph’s menu had something for everyone, very diverse to accommodate the tastes of guests from all over our planet. We are fairly picky eaters, not often exploring foods outside of our comfort zone. I made an effort to try many things that I would have passed over in a restaurant at home, wanting to try many new things on this once-in-a-lifetime vacation in Africa. I was pleasantly surprised time after time! It was great, what an experience. The buffet provides many choices for the guests at the Camp; I enjoyed the wide selection of foods that were offered. At each meal there was usually a venue for some food to be cooked to order, choices varied from omelets in the morning to barbeque to pasta, etc. You will not go hungry no matter your taste. After talking with Chef Joseph about the challenges of overseeing a kitchen serving up to 70 guests with limited periods of electric every day he offered us a tour of his domain. What an enlightening and interesting tour it was. After the tour we were even more impressed at the skill and planning required managing the kitchen in a Camp in a remote area. Enough about food!

I have gone on too long but there are others who also wanted to ensure our safari experience at the Mara Leisure Camp was a fantastic experience. There was Ben the Camp Naturalist, gift shop proprietor and guide. When we enquired about specific animals we had seen he lent us his personal wildlife identification book for the duration of our stay. Many times when we saw Ben after that, he asked about our stay, safari and what else he could do for us. He was always patient and accommodating answering our numerous questions.

I required Internet access for a banking transaction and was informed there was no public Internet. When I asked where access might be found I was allowed to use the Business Office connection to complete my transaction, what great customer service (even if it was dial up)!

We are so glad that our tour company selected the Mara Leisure Camp for our vacation of a lifetime (and at a reasonable price). We highly recommend to all. Only one minor complaint…corkage fee, since I did not research the Camp as well as I should have prior to our trip we did not know what beverages would be available so we brought two bottles of wine with us to enjoy. Enjoy the wines available at Mara Leisure; I guess I should have read more!

They also have a bar on-site which we did not even discover until we our last evening when we were saying our goodbyes to everyone, oh well!

You can’t go wrong with Mara Leisure, relatively small camp, great staff, wonderful facility, and our Masai safari guide was so superior to what we experienced in Tanzania that we now wish that we stayed more days at Mara Leisure instead of a full days travel to the Ngorongoro Crater and our very disappointing stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge (we will work on that unpleasant review next).

Stay here, it will be the best tenting experience you can have on this earth!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobbyD60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We booked a 10 day Senior Tour walking safari with Ontdek and it was fantastic. From initial contact through to transfer to Nairobi airport for our return home, everything worked out great. Transfer of money was easy and Ontdek response is quick and informative. Our guides for the 10 days were knowledgeable about birds, animals, flora, culture and we were soon only needing cheetah to complete our already growing list of animals.
The walks were easy going and we enjoyed every minute in the reserves and parks that we visited. These were found during our final destination, in the Masai Mara. All the lodges we stayed which included Sunbird and Mara Leisure Camp were first class: comfortable, clean, well appointed and with extremely good food and staff. We have been to Kenya before, so we knew we would not be dissappointed. Ontdek are in contact with you frequently during your safari trip and a bond with the guides (ours were Micheal and Mongi) was made on day one; they have a great sense of humour and we found it hard to say goodbye.
All in all a fantastic trip made possible by a very efficient and capable tour company.
Try them and you will want to go again

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thanetpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

A very well appointed compound. Service friendly and helpful. Food was very good. Spacious canvas tent accomodations.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank Emwoerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed in Jumbo 2. The bed was comfy - there is a net around the bed, but it opened by the posts - we did our best to overlap it. Didn't see any mosquitoes while we were there, so it wasn't a problem. The bathrooms are luxurious - lots of hot water - solar heated. There's no view from the porch or really anywhere on the grounds. A Masaii village is quite nearby and you can hear them early in the morning when they let their cattle out. There are no kettles to boil water, so we had to treat ours with chlorine. The buffet was delicious, good service, but only instant coffee. The desserts were a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MomVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Masai people or just wonderful in everyday. Food was good and facilities clean and well presented. Small pool but then you are not really there to lounge around and swim, you are there for the safari and cultural experience. Tents spacious and clean. Didn't have a mossy net so would advise bringing your own, but didn't really need one anyway to be honest. Overall, a fantastic few days.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londoner987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Well, not really rocks, but we spent four nights in this delightful tent camp in the Masai Mara Reserve. Absolutely delightful staff, good food, and quiet! Just the sound of birds and a few monkeys. Ontdek Travel (don't be afraid to wire money -- it's easy) made all the arrangements and we had a superb guide that showed us everything we wanted to see and a bit more. Kenya is a wonderful country and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,097 reviews
7.2 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
127 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,083 reviews
25 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
16.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Leisure Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Leisure Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Talek River, Masai Mara, Kenya | Masai Mara, Kenya, Maasai Mara National Reserve 254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $274 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mara Leisure Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Leisure, a Luxury Tented Camp nestled in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve. The camp is situated on the northern border of the game reserve and this makes all areas of the park accessible for game viewing. Our accommodation facilities include 1 exclusive honeymoon tent, 8 spacious jumbo tents, 17 standard “nyati” tents and 3 family “jamii” cottages. With these, all social groups are adequately catered for. You will have the chance to meet the local Maasai community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mara Leisure Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Leisure Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Leisure Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing