We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ”
Review of Mara Leisure Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mara Leisure Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place ”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Luxury tent camping. Great staff. Loved the poster twin beds with mosquito net canopies. We loved the bartender and our waitress. The food had the Most variety of anywhere we stayed in Kenya and I thought it was the best variety. Loved listening to the cattle bells in the morning and evenings of the herders taking their cattle to graze in the park. Elizabeth the massage therapist was great. The pool is small but secluded. The only negative was it appeared our tent did not get stocked with new shampoo and lotion. The ones in there were half used and we never got new ones. VERY convenient to a Masai village you can visit and within the great Masai Mara with all it's beauty and wild animals. The elephants came to visit us the morning we left which was spectacular.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    86
    27
    6
    0
See reviews for
65
71
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in Mara Leisure Camp in mid july. We were put in jumbo tents. The tent was spacious, had comfortable bed. The bathroom was big, had bath tub and shower room.
The room was clean and has a view of talek river. Though it is not a great view, but gives you a feeling of staying in a jungle. The food was amazing, as we do not eat beef or pork, they had good variety of veggies and chicken dishes. Some dishes served were indian, which were beautifully prepared. The hotel has a free wifi in the lobby. The electricity comes during specific time, as this is near jungle. But the timings are well suited for safari tourists.The hotel staff, waiters, reception all are good and friendly. The staff at the restaurant was very cordial and smiling. Overall, it was a beautiful stay and we really love to come back there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priya_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My gf and I loved this camp. The tents were spacious, the beds and furniture comfortable. The public areas of the camp were in great shape, the pool and lodge were fantastic. The food was excellent and the service from the staff, from Stephen our waiter to Michael the manager was a highlight of the experience. The generators were in operation during morning/lunch/evening hours when people were at the camp, and shut off while most (if not all) were out on game drives. The real highlight however was the solar hot water heaters, which gave us our first truly hot showers since we arrived in Kenya. I would gladly stay in the Mara Leisure Camp if I am ever lucky enough to travel to Kenya again, and I'll wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who is considering a trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJankowski84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I traveled with 5 others for 15 days (Kenya and Tanzania), and we all LOVED this accommodation! The rooms in the "permanent tents" are HUGE. The bathrooms are huge too, and they have: (1) excellent hot water; (2) a large walk-in shower; (3) a separate big bathtub. Each tent has a little veranda on the front. While you are at dinner, staff will come in and close up all the tent's many (screened) windows and unfurl the mosquito net.

Food here was absolutely the best of the trip -- desserts were incredible and delicious. All the staff were friendly and helpful in every way. The lobby, bar and dining area were all spacious and welcoming. There was even free wi-fi in the reception and dining areas.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting one of the tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

What an amazing experience! Firstly, the location is out of this world. Right on the border of the Masai Mara. Wildlife is everywhere. The moneys are very humorous. During dinner we watch them attempt to steal food from the buffet. As your sunbathing they'll walk right past you! The cook was amazing, went out of her way to customize our order, and it was delicious! The tents look as if we were camping but they are so nice inside. I didn't have one sleepless night. After returning home I had realized that I had forgotten my retainer at the camp! I sent a FB message and a Mara Leisure Camp representative, Charlotte was so helpful. They found it and for almost 2 weeks I attempted to ship it back. DHL was horrible to deal with so I went to UPS, unfortunately it turned out that it would cost more for me to ship it back then to get a new one. I am so thankful for Charlotte's quick reply and service as she knew that finding my retainer was important to me. I am very impressed by this positive experience. The staff at Mara Leisure Camp truly care for its customers. Will be returning, hopefully not forgetting anything next time

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorealgoertzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The tent, location, staff, food and general layout of this hotel helped. I found my interactions with the Masai staff and our nature walk on the last day to make this visit more enjoyable and memorable. This venue was one of the fine hotels I stayed at during an amazing 11 day Kenya tour from Gate 1.

Room Tip: My tent was great. Most of my fellow travelers found their accommodations to be excellent as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as well, and the room was lovely, a bit of a walk from the dining room, but a lovely tented cottage.

Good was very good, chef cooking eggs each morning, very good selection of food. Dinner was excellent as well.

Very close to the entrance to the reserve, saw many animals and enjoyed seeing them in the wild.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailNeilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
7.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
110 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,031 reviews
25.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
534 reviews
16.0 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Leisure Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Leisure Camp

Property: Mara Leisure Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Talek River | PO Box 17545 Enterprice Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve 254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mara Leisure Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Leisure, a Luxury Tented Camp nestled in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve. The camp is situated on the northern border of the game reserve and this makes all areas of the park accessible for game viewing. Our accommodation facilities include 1 exclusive honeymoon tent, 8 spacious jumbo tents, 17 standard “nyati” tents and 3 family “jamii” cottages. With these, all social groups are adequately catered for. You will have the chance to meet the local Maasai community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mara Leisure Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Leisure Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Leisure Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing