We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bush excursion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Leisure Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Leisure Camp
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C14, Keekorok, Talek River | PO Box 17545 Enterprice Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve 254, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bush excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed the bush excursions! It's a thrill to know that the jungle is just outside. The hotel was a bit of a drive from Nairobi but when we got there the warm welcome and lovely dinner was pleasant! I now know why Kenyans are known for tourism! It's a great get away for a day or so. Though I do enjoy city life more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fineeate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    70
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
46
58
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights in Feb. The occupancy was very low, and the hotel was carrying out some maintenance, which was good to see, but made the atmosphere a bit quiet. But we nly used it as a base for game drives, for which it was good. The food was good, and the service excellent

Room Tip: jumbo 3 with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Traveled to Kenya from Indiana in August 2009 with 27 other missionary minded Christians...half of the group stayed in the urban slum area of Nairobi, and the other lot of us stayed in the Maasai Mara area to bring clean water/medical needs to the tribal villages....of course, being on a missionary trip, you never know what has been arranged for housing/food. If I had known that I would be staying at the MARA LEISURE CAMP...I would have come sooner than 2009. First of all, we were greeted warmly by the drivers who met us at the airstrip, after a short plane ride from Nairobi...very attentive and friendly. We basically got SAFARI trip along the route to the camp...saw leopard being treed by some lions...once we got to the camp, the staff carried our luggage to our separate tents...now, these are no ordinary tents...FULL DELUXE tents with separate beds, dressers,and bathrooms complete with showers...DELUXE!! (Now mind you...the showers often times ran with cold water...but remember you are on a safari here...not downtown CHICAGO or Los Angeles...to me, as a missionary,..I was delighted) the food...?? Again, I was blown away...DELUXE..and all you cared to eat..buffet style...NO COMPLAINTS...they even had milk for me (my favorite)!! My favorite server was JOSEPH (who still works there today...ask for him by name..he is a "friend" of mine) ...OUTSTANDING SERVICE...Brian was also one of my favorite servers...and TINA at the front desk also was impressive. I just learned that Joseph and Tina have wed since I last saw them..Congratulations!! What a team they will make!! I can hardly wait until I will be able to go back and visit with all of my Mara friends again..this time I will be taking my whole family!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesusisafriendofmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Delhi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We sayed in this Camp recently for three nights. Though located outside the reserve, but givs a complete feeling of mara reserve. Excellent tented accomodation with all facilities. Very good service. Good food. Oveall very good experience.

Room Tip: Closer to reception is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kumar56775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Thank Mara Leisure Camp for looking after us so well. We are a family of 4, with two teenage boys and everyone enjoyed their stay. Staff are very helpful and accomadation impressive. We would recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar-sur-le-Loup, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This camp is set on the river bank facing the Masai Mara, and is unique! The tents are luxurious and spacious, the food is exquisite, and the staff are absolutely wonderful. Truly a place of leisure and relaxation, on the door-step of the legendary Masai Mara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed with a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. At first they put us in a Jumbo tent, that is spacious enough. They added an extra bed for 1 of our children, but had no facilities to attach a musquito net for that bed. But they solved this by giving us an extra tent, although that meant we had to split ourselves up.
The bathrooms were very dated.
Food was acceptable but nothing more. Indian oriented so not child friendly. And for sure not in abundance. Choices were very limited.
When we wanted to go for the Happy hour drink (25% discount on the drinks), they informed us it was not valid on that day...so we needed a few discussions at the reception desk, and obtained it finally.
The entrance of the national park is very near, so that is a +.
As mentioned in an other review, unfortunately we were NOT accompanied by security staff to our tents everytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
20.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
25.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#24 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Leisure Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Leisure Camp

Property: Mara Leisure Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Talek River | PO Box 17545 Enterprice Rd, Maasai Mara National Reserve 254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mara Leisure Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Leisure, a Luxury Tented Camp nestled in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve. The camp is situated on the northern border of the game reserve and this makes all areas of the park accessible for game viewing. Our accommodation facilities include 1 exclusive honeymoon tent, 8 spacious jumbo tents, 17 standard “nyati” tents and 3 family “jamii” cottages. With these, all social groups are adequately catered for. You will have the chance to meet the local Maasai community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mara Leisure Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Leisure Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Leisure Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing