We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring staff, a warmth stay”
Review of Mara Leisure Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mara Leisure Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Not a luxurious camp yet staff are nice and caring. Good food and love the BBQ nite.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playeemobil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

I can't say enough about this place. The staff was great, from the front desk, to the guards, to the wait staff. They always greeted me and asked if I needed anything. The cabins and tents had tubs and showers. Everything was immaculately maintained. And the food was great. I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: This camp has both tents and cabins. The tents next to the river have the benefit of watching the he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msafari3556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I was on a business tour and then spent 3 days at mara leisure camp. It was a wonderful experience. Staff is very good and the cook was the best. I am pure vegetarian and could hardly find any thing to eat but the cook made special chapatis and rotis with very tasty alu sabji in indian style. Would surely go back with family next time.

Room Tip: cottages are good to stay and also tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhavik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a fabulous time in Masai Mara - far more animals than we have seen in Kruger and other safari locations.

We enjoyed staying at the Mara Leisure Camp. It's not in perfect condition - perhaps a little dated around the edges, but perfectly reasonable, and the rate was much cheaper than anything we could find at other camps in Mara. We stayed in one of the 'jumbo' tents, and found it well appointed, and quiet in the evening.

The swimming pool was quite small, and as far as I know there is no internet access at the camp. I was however able to get an EDGE cell connection through my phone, at a few places around the campsite. Power was available in the evenings and mornings.
The food at the camp restaurant was quite good, with lots of variety, and friendly staff.

We strongly recommend booking through a Kenyan travel agency if you can - as they should be able to get much better rates than available online. Of course, check around first.

Our guides were Masai from the local area - Ben & Peter. They did an excellent job - they knew the area very well, and were incredible at spotting the animals. Although the park was quite crowded with safari vehicles, most of the time Ben & Peter kept us away from the herds of tourists.

We saw a lot of people had been driven all the way from Nairobi with their guides in 2-wheel drive vans - we would strongly recommend against this, and suggest that instead visitors fly in to Mara and use local guides with a 4-wheel drive vehicle. We had to rescue one van that got stuck in a ditch.

Room Tip: The Jumbo tents are nice & spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeZandvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

After 3 excellent nights in other 'camps', this one was slightly disappointing. the 'tent' was really basic - concrete floors and proper bathroom with tented sides and door like the other, but no mosquito net and no chairs on the balcony or in the room in which to relax between game drives. it was also incredibly noisy as it is right on the river bed where the Masai walk their cattle into the game reserve - boht nights at 3am, complete with jangling bells and yelling! we had little sleep those 2 nights.

The faciliites were ok - very small pool and a very dark reception/bar area with no comfortable relaxation area in which to enjoy a drink. no views either. the food was ok although not much 'simple' food for younger palates: all of it was the casserole type. staff friendly enough. Next time, though, I would chose a camp with a decent lounge/bar in which you could enjoy the relaxation time between game drives.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We spent 2 amazing nights at this quite fabulous camp. It was in a tent ( Jumbo 2 ) but like no other tent we have ever been in before. Raised off the ground, beautiful wooden floors with high standard bathroom attached ( both bath and walk in shower ). We were met by 2 young Masai men who carried our things to the tent and showed us how things worked. We had great food served by young waiters of the very highest level- mostly employed locally and all cheerful, attentive, friendly and professional. The proud chef came to the table at the end of service to chat about the meal. A buffet on our last night was put on by the chef and his two trainee chefs who prepared the food, spoke enthusiastically and were just the perfect team. We went on 3 safaris using the nearby Talek Gate. These were an unforgettable experience. A visit to a nearby Masai village completed a amazing stay in an amazing part of the world. We traveeled overland from Nairobi ( 6 hours - 3 hours on rough road and track ) and we are glad we did. Past towns, villages, The Great Rift Valley, goats, cattle, zebra and Masai going about there daily business, walking, on taxi motorbikes, or matatu, but mainly on foot. We were moved by there resilience and cheerfulness and politeness. All of this added to by the wonderful team at Mara Leisure camp. They have a great shop with a great range of well priced stock-well worth getting things there. I must mention Timet who was waiting outside our tent on the morning we departed, waiting to take our bags to the transport-dressed in his Masai cloth and smiling and chatting. A perfect way to say farewell to this beauiful camp.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jomu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our recent weekend stay at Mara Leisure. We were working in Nairobi for the month and wanted to book a safari last-minute. We worked with a travel agent who gave us lots of choices but highly recommended the Leisure Camp. It was cheaper than the other places due to being a new and less well-known camp, but it was amazing and we loved every minute of our weekend. Our Maasai guides "Ben" and "Joseph" that worked at Leisure Camp and took us for safari were unbelievable and we had such a great weekend. We saw every animal we had every hoped to multiple times over and the guides were fantastic at finding all of the big five as well as knowing every detail of the park and the names of every creature we encountered. One of our favorite parts is that Mara Leisure is located at the end of the road that runs through the Maasai villages in the area and each time heading to the park gate for the game drives we got to see the villagers, kids, herds and way of life of the Maasai people.
The staff at the hotel were great-- not too intrusive but we had great service, great food and lots of friendly faces. Everyone was very professional but super friendly. Overall the tents and the Land Cruiser were not of the highest quality that we saw, but our trip was not affected by either and we loved our tent (nyati 7) along the river. It had the perfect amount of privacy and "outdoor" feeling but still with a running shower and large bathroom. I would go back to this place in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ncncnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,110 reviews
7.2 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
22.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,106 reviews
25 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
16.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#23 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Leisure Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Leisure Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Talek River, Masai Mara, Kenya | Masai Mara, Kenya, Maasai Mara National Reserve 254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $209 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mara Leisure Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Leisure, a Luxury Tented Camp nestled in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve. The camp is situated on the northern border of the game reserve and this makes all areas of the park accessible for game viewing. Our accommodation facilities include 1 exclusive honeymoon tent, 8 spacious jumbo tents, 17 standard “nyati” tents and 3 family “jamii” cottages. With these, all social groups are adequately catered for. You will have the chance to meet the local Maasai community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mara Leisure Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Leisure Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Leisure Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing