We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara West Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2011

i absolutely can not wait to get back and revisit. the service, people, food, location, and more exceeded my expectations.

i would recommend to all of my friends and family mara west!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyred135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 198 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

This place was awesome!!! The camp was set up in a greast place. The accomadations are very nice. (even the Economy) The food is excellent!! (Pumkin and Coconut Soup... Mmmm!) Mr. Wilson, Mr. Charles, And Mr. Eric will take great care of you @ King Fischer Lodge!!! The Staff is Wonderful and very accomadating to the needs of the guests!!! The scenery is breathtaking and living among the wildlife is Pretty cool too!!! I will Be Back!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprdan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Not high-end, refined luxury resort, but friendly and flexible service, great location, great rooms. Mara West is located on a bluff overlooking Masai Mara, and the luxury tents are right on the edge, with wooden balconies with amazing views. Impala, giraffes and zebras roam about the area freely. Hyenas howl in the night. Tents are spacious, woody and relaxing décor, spick and span, hot water shower morning and evenings. (wasn't a big fan of the curtained toilet for privacy....) Breakfast is basic, but dinners were excellent. Service is sincerely friendly, flexible and makes you feel at home. Tours/guides into the park were exciting and fun, and the park itself is amazing. Location, facilities, service, food included, and park entry and drives included, I would think its good value as well. This was my first safari, so I cannot compare, but highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoumiushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We arrived to Mara West after a friend reserved the trip based on friends recommendations and we were immediately blown away by the service, the location, and the quality of the experience. Highly recommended mix of subdued luxury with complete exposure to a great Safari experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pradillag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Have been in many fine places around the world and this is the best of the best. What an amazing location with luxury accommodation, spectacular views (especially he sunrise!!!), great meals and experienced safari guides. The owner is a contractor who is actively engaged in supporting the Masai people having built 14 schools and a health clinic for which he recruits staffing. He also supports student volunteers to assist in building and other efforts.This luxury accomodation also helps him to support his work for the Masai. This is clearly one of, if not the best place to stay if planning a safari at Masai Mara!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My parents and I recently stayed at Mara West and it exceeded our expectations. The location offered superb views and I have the amazing sunrise photos to prove it. It is well worth the drive up the very bumpy road to get to this camp.

If camping were always this luxurious and relaxed, I would camp more often. I do not enjoy sleeping in tents, but it was hard to recognize the inside of our tent as anything other than a high quality hotel. The only trouble I had sleeping was trying to block out the sounds of the wild animals all around. The bed was the most comfortable of all the places we stayed.

Our family agrees that we enjoyed our stay at Mara West the most during our 2 week safari. The laid back atmosphere allowed us to completely relax and feel at home. We were treated like part of the Mara West family.

I look forward to returning to Kenya and staying at Mara West again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meganmoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Enjoyed the views of the Mara from our porch. The tents were more like permanent cottages. There was plenty of hot water once the attendants lit the fire for our personal water heater. The staff was helpful and kind. The only downside for me was the food, it was descent, but we had much better meals in other camps. The drive to get to the camp was a bit tedious since it's up on the escarpment. But it was worth it for the views from there. I would recommend taking sack lunches in order to stay in the park the full day and not have to drive back to camp mid day. I enjoyed staying here and more importantly spending time in the Mara, it's a must do if you're on safari.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
32.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,087 reviews
23.7 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
30.7 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
201 reviews
30.3 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
20.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara West Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara West Camp

Address: C13, Oloololo Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $457 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against a wooded thicket and surrounded by savannah, Mara West provides nature lovers with luxury accommodations while experiencing the sights and sounds of an unforgettable African safari. Luxury tents are perched in secluded spots on an escarpment edge overlooking the vast plains of the Masai Mara Game Reserve giving tremendous views and a sense of private exclusion. Mara West is an American owned and managed private safari camp providing high quality service with beautifully designed, comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara West Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara West Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing