We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly,relaxed,beautiful room almost an apartment, beautiful swahili style furnishings,good restaurant two.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamu House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lamu House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Bradford.UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly,relaxed,beautiful room almost an apartment, beautiful swahili style furnishings,good restaurant two.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

If you want sun and sand on your doorstep go to a hotel in Shela, 30 minute walk along the beach from Lamu town. If you want to be in the town with it's gentle bustle, donkeys,(and donkey poo) no cars, fishing boats, alleys,market,and Swahili buidings then stay at Lamu House. It's not cheap, (but then Kenya hotels generally are priced for Europeans or Americans), but it's a beautifully decorated and furnished, very comfortable and friendly. The inner courtyard with a pool , lounging chairs and banquettes is calm and relaxing and the restaurant is good too , and licensed. We flew in on the early flight stayed for two days, and left on the afternoon flight and it felt like we'd added something special to our Kenya trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robBradfOrd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
81
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Lamu House is unique and different. Small and exclusive, as all the really good things. It is a perfect place to relax, eat well and enjoy. Right at the sea front of Lamu and minutes walking from the vibrant ancient town of Lamu, you will never have the feeling you are in an isolated western bubblle despite the fact that the hotel has all the facilities you can imagine. It is 100% integrated in the local enviroment, architecture and design and the owners, Frank and Marianne will make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Really personalised treatment and super friendly staff. The food at the restaurant of the hotel is simply fresh and delicious (with a good selection of wines). They have a brilliant team of chefs and all supervised by Frank.

The room we had, looked actually like a bungalow with our own private terrace. Completely treated for mosquitoes and decorated to the very small details...Very cosy and elegant. The hotel provides a guided tour in town and all beach transfers in speed boats, and they can arrange acuatic sports sessions, fishing nights, etc

To be completely honest we couldn´t find anything to complain about... and we did have high expectations. Trust me, this place is an oasis in Paradise and I recommend it for those who like travelling and be close to the native culture and at the same time to have an intimate experience. If you travel with a group of friends (as we will next time) or with a family you can also rent a house attached to the hotel.

As for the price, after all we saw and felt, we think didn´t pay enough. And we will definately come back.
Eva Nicolas&Tim Bobker

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mogwaitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

This place is so incredibly beautiful. An traditional old building restored and transformed in to this small lovely hotel. And not just the hotel is great the people who run ot (Frank and mirjam from belgium) are so sweet and will make sure you get everything you need!!.

The food in the restaurant is more than great! I really enjoyed staying hear and was sad i had to leave!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicherlepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Lamu House Hotel with our two sons. We had two rooms on the top flloor with a wonderful view and a shared large balcony. It was hard to leave the balcony with the breeze, the view and the comfortable seating. When we did leave the balcony - it was hard to leave the beautiful pool area where we enjoyed swimming and lounging. One of our sons found a seat in a plunge pool with a reclined back that was perfect for reading and relaxing.

When we had looked into staying in the Lamu area, we thought about whether we should stay in the Shela beach area or at Lamu House. We are very happy that we chose Lamu House.

The decor of the entire hotel was exquisite. The art work fit perfectly with the atmosphere of the hotel. We enjoyed the art work of artist Ali Lamu, which we featured at the hotel that we visited his shop in Shela and bought a number of items.

The food at the Moonrise restaurant was fabulous - the crab and grilled red snapper are highly recommended. The breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit, eggs and pastries. The service was very friendly with a relaxed atmosphere. On 2 of the nights we had dinner there we shared drinks and interesting conversation with the hotel owner Frank.

Speaking of Frank, he and his wife Marianne were wonderful hosts. They arranged a private walking tour for us, as well as speed boat rides to Shela beach and a dhow boat excursion to manda beach. Marianne even managed to have a pair of sandals made for our son when his size was not available in the gift shop.

This hotel is truly one of the best places we have ever stayed and we would highly recommend it. We would love to go back and explore more of the area and enjoy more of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouvertraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We just spent an incredible Christmas on Lamu. The island itself is very special with its culture, donkey jams, hectic harbourlife and beaches. Lamu house is a beautifully restored building with outstanding decoration, balconies, harbour view and pools. The staff and owners are lovely, it's very relaxing despite being in the middle of the old city (yes you get the muezzin morning call but you get used to it!). Food is great and served on a terrace by the harbour. One of our rooms had 3 balconies, one of them being more like an open living room where we had our Christmas celebration. It's not by the beach, but a free 5-minute boat trip organized by the hotel makes it an added pleasure to go there. And yes, we indulged shamelessly in a sunset cruise. If you want something different from your usual resort holiday, with a cultural edge, Lamu is your place. And if you like decoration and architecture, Lamu house is your hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelgiumAntwerp_Emi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

I stayed at Lamu house with my family for a week. We had a wonderful holliday in this charming hotel!!
Frank and Marianne took really good care of us. They can organise anything you want: yoga classes, boat trip, waterskiing or you can just relax at the pool. They even organised a plane ride for us with a small plane to fly over Lamu and Kenya mainland to spot game.
The hotel as an outside restaurant, which has really good food. Fresh seafood every day.
You'll defnitly not regret staying here! A week was to short for us.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumAntwerp_Emi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

I highly recommend Lamu House. Whether spending a few days after safari or just exploring East Africa. This island and more specifically, Lamu House is a pure gem. Don't be fooled or swayed by any safety concerns or issues with pirates. Lamu is very safe and comfortable. I will always treasure the 4 nights spent here. I highly recommend Lamu proper over Sheila unless you are looking for a very posh European atmosphere. If you are looking for a great Swahili flavor and decor, terrific food at the attached restaurant, great hospitality and a unique holiday, I recommend getting in touch with Frank and booking as many nights as you can stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredhulnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.0 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu House Hotel

Property: Lamu House Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue | Seafront, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel made of 2 Swahili houses adjoin, with 10 superior rooms, plunge pool. Luxury accommodation, in the Old Stone Town of Lamu, located on the seafront. Restaurant & coffee shop. Traditional dhows for comfortable excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Lamu House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing