We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, beautiful, amazing getaway ”
Review of Lamu House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamu House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect, beautiful, amazing getaway ”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We are still at Lamu House and only half way through our stay but I just had to write about how happy we are. We love our room, especially the double shower. The view from our porch is incredibly beautiful of the water and the boats sailing by. The bed is very comfortable and everything is well maintained. I love coming down to have breakfast and hear the town wake up in the morning. We've had dinner several nights at Lamu House. I've had the spaghetti aglio olio which was very good. My favorite was the Marinated grilled vegetables with feta cheese. My husband has had crab avocado and crab ginger and crab..... He has loved every bite. Frank and his wife, owners, have taken very good care of us. We have a special BBQ at their beach restaurant on Manda island later today with a large group of friends. The boat from Lamu House over is free, fast and safe. All the food so far has been delicious and I wish we could stay forever. Everyone we have met have been graceful and hospitable. I feel safe walking around and would definitely recommend Lamu to any and everyone looking for a place to get away and relax. Loved every minute! Thank you!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Afine32889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
82
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lamu House was fantastic! The ecclectic art and relaxed atmosphere is suberb! Frank and his team were very hospitable and worked to make sure we had a great sampling of the unique culture, food and beautiful coastal surroundings. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesliePhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay and Frank, the owner, was terrific and knowledgeable. We even loved Toby, the manager at their restaurant. We sailed and ate fresh fish every day at their restaurant next to the hotel. The people in Lamu were very friendly and it was wonderful to learn the culture.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently returned to the states from a 2 week African vacation. We ended our trip with 3 nights at the Lamu House and had a wonderful stay. Frank is very easy going and personable and helped arrange a walking tour of the town, a boat ride to Shela and an all day sailing adventure. I could've stayed longer.

Thanks Frank!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front with a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a beautiful place. Our family stayed four nights (Fri - Mon.) My wife and I stayed in one room and our daughters (ages 16 and 9) in another one next to ours. The house is filled with interesting objects (shells, animal bones, carvings etc.) and books of photography and great attention is paid to detail. The swimming pool is really nice, the food in the restaurant is very good, the staff helpful, and owners Frank and Marriane excellent hosts. We enjoyed the Sunday lunch at the hotel's beach club a short boat ride away - the food was great and the beach beautiful. The next day the hotel organized a dhow trip for us which was scenic and relaxing. Lamu town itself is quite interesting if you are open and interested in a cultural experience - you can see from the museum what a cosmopolitan place it once was. Flying into and out of Wilson AIrport (Nairobi) and Manda Airport (Lamu) was really easy and someone from the hotel meets you in Manda and takes you on a boat to Lamu. In all highly recommended and one of the highlights of our trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finpeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Tastefully decorated in Swahili style and in a prime position on the sea front, though not quite in the centre of town, Lamu House hotel provides the visitor, who wishes to explore and enjoy idiosycracies of staying in Lamu iteself for a few days, rather than on the beach at Shela, with a welcome refuge from the hustle and bustle of Lamu.

There is a restaurant and bar, which serves delicious fresh seafood - check the daily specials - and inside there is a well disguised courtyard swimming pool, with comfortable chairs if you are too lazy to trek to the beach! Each room is different, and called after the various islands and towns nearby; the sea views being the nicest, but even those not on the front are charming. A lovely touch to give each visitor a free kikoi (Swahili for sarong) on arrival.

This vist we only had lunch there, but inspected the property to see if the high standard we enjoyed three years ago still prevails. It does!

Room Tip: Sea front are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wonderful place to stay in Lamu, just on the sea front of Lamu, superb arabic style house with very friedly stuff! Excellent low season prices. 3 pools. Each room is different and nice. Best price/performance ratio on my Africa trip!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank goodtour2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
2.7 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
34 reviews
2.0 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
0.3 mi away
Subira House
Subira House
#5 of 34 in Lamu Island
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu House Hotel

Property: Lamu House Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue | Seafront, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel made of 2 Swahili houses adjoin, with 10 superior rooms, plunge pool. Luxury accommodation, in the Old Stone Town of Lamu, located on the seafront. Restaurant & coffee shop. Traditional dhows for comfortable excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lamu House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing