We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lamu House, Lamu town etc.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamu House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lamu House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Mbagathi, Rift Valley, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lamu House, Lamu town etc.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

It was amazing to be in Lamu. We enjoyed the Lamu House Restaurant and they had wonderful meals there. Even the security is soooo good! We NEVER FELT insecure or in danger!!! It was very peaceful there. We spend a week there and enjoyed the beach, the food (specially the mangojuice), the friendly people. My friend & i would go anytime again there, its sooo much nicer than mombasa!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lidi2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
81
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Finally, a boutique hotel for Lamu town. This is a lovely property on the waterfront with all its hustle and bustle. Not one for those seeking peace and quiet but definitely one for those who want a birds eye view on life in a genuine Swahili settlement unchanged for decades (apart from the mobile phones). The interior is gorgeous and more akin to a Moroccan riad with its inner courtyard and pool and smooth walls than to a typical Swahili house. Still its a nice touch and definitely with a feeling of luxury which is nice to escape to if the hustle, bustle and smells of Lamu become too much. The rooms are beautiful but be warned, not all face the sea. The food was good and Frank the owner was very helpful on all matters. Slightly unnerved by his wife who seemed to spend a lot of time staring but did not utter a word. This place is far better than the Peponi but it does not have direct access to the beach. This is not really a problem as all beaches are short boat ride away and can be arranged by Frank or his staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitukidogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Anyone who feels inspired by the generosity, simplicity and warmth of Africa can only but LOVE Lamu House. Lamu House offers unpretentious luxury, while radiating the African values and Africa’s authenticity.

No need to worry about security at all. We have traveled to many third world countries and felt particularly safe in Lamu. Heaven on Earth!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeraldineScraeyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Lamu House Hotel is the most stylish and elegant hotel in Lamu. Not too big, but with spacious rooms that each have their own personal terrace. Each corner of the hotel is beautifully decorated; gorgeous furniture, artwork on the walls, cosy lounges filled with pillows... Lamu House is an oasis of luxury in the middle of Lamu town. Being close to a little harbor, their is always that liveliness of local African life (while Shela on the other hand is a bit more posh and remote of Swahili life). The gentle breeze coming from the sea, the beautiful dows in front of you and a stunning beach only 5 minutes away - make Lamu House located perfectly. The hotel is spotless and the service excellent - from the kikoy welcome gift to the jasmine flowers that lay on your bed every evening. We especially enjoyed the hospitality and warmth of the staff; everything is hakuna matata! Frank and Marianne are just the nicest people and will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. You can relax and hang out by the pool or if you are in a more active mood, Frank will arrange various trips - snorkeling, dolphin spotting, a dow day-trip... everything will be organized for you. And last but not least: the food is just superb. I’ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Decarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

If lamu is one of Kenya's crown pearls, then The Lamu House is defenitely the jewel on that crown! Even those who belong to the real globetrotters like myself, spoiled by more dan the average accomodation, will come to the conclusion that The Lamu House is one of those places that inspire. Its location, its architecture, its food and its atmosphere,... it has it all. That the owners have chosen this place, in the middle of the hart of this vibrating old town, a little bit away from the beachy hotels, might seem a disadvantage. But it is not at all a disadvantage, on the contrary. It makes you feel to be really a guest of this old old city and its nice inhabitants. Here you are in the center of activity, the distance between the hotel and the real daily life at Lamu is nothing more than just the doorstep. And from here to the beach life is matter of minutes. I have just returned from The Lamu House but will certainly return!
Eddy V.G.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddyVanGestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just returned from 7 days relaxation in this true paradise. We already stayed at Lamu House last year. Normally I never go back twice to the same country, as I still want to discover many other destinations. However Lamu is so authentic and this hotel the perfection, so we made an exception and we did not regret it!
The wonderful Beach House Club is an absolute must: I loved the fresh fish on the grill and the fact that you have a beautiful sand beach just for yourself.
I really don't understand why one would feel unsafe here. Travelling to for instance Rio, NY, Paris is much more dangerous. At night you can easily walk in the streets of Lamu.
I suggest you go now, before more people find this treasure.
Big hugh to Frank and Marianne, the perfect hosts.
Christine C.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

After 17 magnificent days touring through Tanzania & Kenya we needed to relax. Lamu House was absolutely perfect. The rooms were fantastic and lots of thought was put into making our stay perfect. Arriving with a bag full of dirty clothes it was luxury to wear the complementary local wrap that was waiting on our beds. Hosts Frank & Marianne were amazingly helpful as were all the staff. The restaurant was superb & each night groups not staying at Lamu House were patrons as it was locally recognised as excellent.The dhow trip to the Beach Club for a gourmet lunch on the beach was spectacular and the snorkelling off a nearby island exhilarating. An incredible 4 days.

Room Tip: Our balcony opened onto the water so we were able to witness daily life easily. Recommend room at f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.0 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu House Hotel

Property: Lamu House Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue | Seafront, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel made of 2 Swahili houses adjoin, with 10 superior rooms, plunge pool. Luxury accommodation, in the Old Stone Town of Lamu, located on the seafront. Restaurant & coffee shop. Traditional dhows for comfortable excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jovago.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lamu House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing