We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like a dream”
Review of Lamu House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamu House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“feels like a dream”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

After a breath-taking, life changing safari on the Masai Mara, we didn't know if we could be impressed again. And we touched down on the "airstrip" (really just a bit of dirt) in Lamu, things didn't look so great. The travel agent had messed up our reservations and the hotel was not there to meet us. We were a bit intimidated (2 small, white girls) but picked up our bags and hoped on the boat with the locals. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we paid a man $10 to carry our bags to Lamu House.

Now Lamu will look run down, 3rd world and a bit tired but do not let that dampen your spirits. It is worth the long trip! Once inside Lamu House, we were in paradise. The pictures don't even do it justice. The open spaces around the wonderful, relaxing pool are serene and beautiful. Old fashion gold keys unlock big wooden doors to the guest rooms. Our room was small but lovely. We had the fans and mosquito netting and were fine in the warm air at night.

The food was wonderful. And the service was consistent and top-notch.

Lamu House is not on a beach but we took speed boats (the Beyonce's captain was our favorite!) to the other side of Lamu to experience world class beaches and other restaurants. Swimming in the Indian Ocean is an experience not to be missed. Lamu is not to be missed.

I can't wait to return to Lamu House!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickijags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
81
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Lamu has an ambience, air and feeling unlike anything else I experienced in Kenya. It's both multicultural and uniquely African. The town itself is safe, easy to navigate on foot, and a constant cultural delight. Lamu House is ideally situated on the waterfront, in a restored historical structure evidencing Indian, African, Arab, and Portugese influences. Frank and Marianne are delightful and helpful, and the staff is eager to help. Restaurant is excellent; the banana and chicken curry is hot and wonderful. Despite the recent security concerns about the northern Kenya coast, this is a place to see and savor.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the waterfront offer a wonderful view of people, as well as the elegant dhows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAM046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Lamu House is a haven of tranquility in a very quiet charming town. Centrally located on one of the nicest parts of the seafront 'avenue'. The very good restaurant on the shaded terrace, (slightly higher than street level so that you have privacy), has good views of the activity in the harbour. The decoration of the entire house is as good as the photos on the website suggest, and the whole place is incredibly clean. Very nice to rest at the pool or the lounge after a walk through town or a visit to the other islands. The hotel organises walks through town or boat trips to Pate and Manda islands with a friendly and discreet guide. The Lamu area feels very safe, and all people in town and the islands seem happy to see that the tourists are returning.
Johan

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Just back from a wonderful week staying on Lamu island and had a delicious lunch at this hotel after watching the annual donkey races that morning. The food was fabulous - try the jumbo prawns - and the service charming and impeccable. You feel very safe here, everyone is taking the threat to security very seriously and is determined to protect and welcome tourists. It's a beautiful place and a beautiful hotel - do go!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremelo, Belgium
Level Contributor
749 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

A wonderful and stylish place. Excellent location facing waterfront. Beautiful house & rooms. Fantastic service. Owners Frank & Marianne provide warm & personal guesthouse experience. We'll go back...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisVanRoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willebroek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

just came back from a wonderful vacation to Lamu House with our 3 kids and 2 friends, everything was right what was written in the reviews about the hotel and marvelous beach house, and the very warm and gentle couple Frank and Marianne, but the most important thing we would like to add is that we all felt very very safe in Lamu, we went fishing at the Ocean no problem, we went sailing, snorkeling and did lots of other things. Despite what journalists write down their is no problem with safety, for the moment their are no tourists and this will be a much bigger problem because the residents depends on them, and when tourists stay away inhabitants have no incomes, so go to Lamu it's so beautiful and safe and it's just paradise

Room Tip: all rooms are very good and beautiful decorated, we preferred the sea site rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed two nights in Lamu House on our last days of our honey moon and we can only say that we had a fabulous stay! Every part of the house is beautiful, the rooms, the pools, the "living room"...with lots of cared details. The restaurant is also very nice and comfortable, serving really good food. And last, but not least, Frank is a great host who will help and recomend you whatever you need.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
47 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
7.7 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu House Hotel

Property: Lamu House Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue | Seafront, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel made of 2 Swahili houses adjoin, with 10 superior rooms, plunge pool. Luxury accommodation, in the Old Stone Town of Lamu, located on the seafront. Restaurant & coffee shop. Traditional dhows for comfortable excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lamu House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing