We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown away by this beautiful place”
Review of Manda Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manda Bay
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Manda Bay for the weekend and were met by the bubbly and effervescent Bimbi on arriving by boat on their private beach. It's a perfect picture with azure blue water, cool buildings and furniture to relax on whilst taking it all in.
Our Banda was beautifully appointed with lots of space and no windows to speak of allowing the cool breezes to flow throughout.
The resort is very well secured with armed guards positioned around the perimeter although out of sight, and at night they move to positions closer to the Banda's to give total reassurance. There is also radar operating throughout the day and night which scans the resort and is closely monitored to make sure there are no surprises. We were very impressed with the lengths the resort has gone to, to make sure that their guests were safe.
The food was incredible with fresh Tuna served in various forms as well as prawn curry and salads. Guests can choose to eat at their own table or you can opt to join the other guests at one long table which I loved as there were people from all over the world staying at the resort.
The staff were amazing, very attentive and always on hand to fulfill your every need.
The resort is child friendly and kids are catered for with plenty to see and do, especially the pool area which has table tennis table and darts set up along with other things to keep them busy.
Bimbi and Fuzz Dyer have created an idyllic place for frazzled people to unwind and are amazing hosts.
I am going to do everything possible to book another few days in the future as Manda Bay is magical. Thanks Bimbi and Fuzz.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

I travelled to Manda Bay with my partner, 21 year old daughter and 12 year old son,. Having booked our holiday as a suprise for the others I was a little nervous as I wanted the perfect trip.
We travelled to Manda Bay to stay for 6 nights after a safari adventure in the Masai.We settled in so quickly as Bimbi, Yoyo and the staff were so warm and welcoming.
The location is breath taking, the rooms were excellent, golden sand and beautiful sea, the perfect place to relax. Once relaxed there was plenty to keep us all occupied, trip to Lamu, snorkling, screamers, banana boat, miles of beautiful quiet beach.
The food was exceptional and the service was next to none. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
The security was perfect, discret but enough to make you feel perfectly safe.
Many thanks to Bimbi, Yoyo, Abby the puppies and all the staff that made our holiday just perfect we all miss you and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Simple beach bandas but with everything you need
Good food, drinks with extra charge
Lots of watersport possibilities, some with extra charge
Half an hour boat trip away from lamu
bushbaby feeding time every evening at the bar

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jurtschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just spent 5 gorgeous days at Manda Bay with our kids, and couldn't be happier with the experience. The location is fantastic, picturesque, and very, very private. It's quite easy to have the entire expanse of beautiful beach to yourself, to relax fully, and to reconnect with your family. The hosts leave nothing to chance, and are always available and helpful. The food was fabulous, served after cocktails in an open, airy bar and lounge where the sea laps against sides and the bush babies come to visit. Dinners were especially great, set out on the beach beneath the stars every evening. Manda Bay was the perfect ending to a great Kenyan adventure.

Room Tip: An ocean front hut is a must for adults, but leave the kids in the back huts if you're nervous a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mominpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We just wrapped up a 10 day safari in Kenya and spent five idyllic days at Manda Bay. What a perfect spot to end our trip. The resort is impossibly picturesque with sweeping views of sand and sea. Interiors are open-air and strike a perfect balance bw natural and stylish - blending simple, organic touches with British colonial accents and an other-worldly Moorish flair. The result is a casual elegance that's uniquely its own. Bimbi's warm and relaxed hostessing makes you feel like honored family visiting a favorite, rich and well-travelled aunt. Her staff is well-chosen, from room attendant to waitstaff - all made us feel generously welcomed. We were there with another family with a total of eight of us, with kids ranging from age 8-15. All of us sank into bliss at Manda Bay! The activities ranged from deep sea fishing to banana boat rides and site seeing. Stretches of deserted beaches and mangroves went on and on. Never seen anything like it. We felt priviledged to see such pristine coast on that scale - in this modern age - enjoying the peace and tranquility of yesteryear with all the modern comforts and fine dining at Manda Bay. Been to many beach resorts...in Bora Bora, southeast Asia, carribean, Hawaii, Costa Rica, and Mexico... We are big Four Seasons fans, but Manda Bay's personalized service and unique setting puts it in a class of its own!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

...and that's no exaggeration.

Manda Bay is the perfect mix of private tranquility and action activities, great food and attentive service.

The hotel itself is so beautifully built, very open and relaxed but at that same time extremely comfortable and stylish. The beach front bandas are private and you can literally dive off your verandah into the sea at high tide. The staff are fantastic; super friendly and helpful when you want it and yet out of the way when you don't. The food was exceptional, all the meals were prepared with such fresh ingredients, cooked to perfection and presented beautifully.

We had an incredible few days there. Thank you thank you Andy and team.

Room Tip: Go for a beach front banda, the sea laps against your varandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timwiththebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Warm friendly personable service... Whether as a couple, solo or family there is space for everyone to relax or enjoy...We chose to join Bimbi and Fuss with their friends for lunch not to mention their gorgeous Malinois. Great choice and fabulous variety of flavours, not to mention the company. So next you might need the swinging loungers they are fabulous should you want to chill or read.. The pool is kept clean and easy to sit or swim with a pretty great ocean view.. Windsurfers, canoes are also available to use and the magnificent Mahogany Dhow for trips.. Ate too much for that!
Big game fishing is possible, however, we hope to return to have a go at sea fly fishing.. Operating a catch and return policy!! Accommodation is spacious and has all the requirements you may need, not to mention the extra island sounds...
About half an hour away there is a site with historical ruins to explore, pick a cool time of day.
Lamu and Shela are not far away by fast boat and quite a unique experience to explore....watch out for "Punda Punda" it means a Donkey is coming!
Great place to retrieve a balance yin and yang of life!

Room Tip: Choose a lodge so you an dangle your feet in the ocean and swing on your own lounger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nichola618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Manda Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Nicola P,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Manda Bay following your recent stay with Fuzz and Bimbi. I am delighted that you had such a great time.

Loving you advise regarding the donkeys - that has made me chuckle this morning!

Many thanks once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back with us.

Kind Regards,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
6.1 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
127 reviews
13.1 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
123 reviews
6.1 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manda Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manda Bay

Address: Manda Island | Lamu, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Lamu Island
Price Range: $292 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Manda Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manda Bay is located on the North-western tip of Manda Island, one of the many unspoiled, idyllic islands of the Lamu archipelago. An exclusive resort, Manda Bay offers relaxation, water sports, dhow safaris and luxurious pampering throughout your stay. Surrounded by miles of soft white sand, Manda Bay is the perfect retreat for families and honeymooners. The cottages are in keeping with the local landscape and were constructed using local materials. All of the cottages have large ceiling fans, en-suite bathrooms, and their own private verandas overlooking the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manda Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manda Bay Hotel Lamu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing